skip navigation
Humoresque

Humoresque(1947)

  • Monday, December 1 @ 05:15 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Humoresque A classical musician from the... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $27.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Humoresque

    • CmRetrospective
    • 2/3/13

    Humoresque is one of my most fav classic movies. It stars the elagant Joan Crawford and the very hansom John Garfield. This films ending elageance and class is unbelievable and that is why in my opinion this is one of the most best classic movies ever filmed.

  • Excellent

    • Stella
    • 9/4/12

    I have always admired and loved Isaac Stern. John Garfield outdid himself as an actor here...Joan Crawford was ok, but John Garfield really played the part of the virtuoso violinist extremely well... of course, I cannot critique as well as a violinist since I am a pianist, but as a classically trained pianist, I can really appreciate Issac Stern and the artistic rendition done by John Garfield.

  • Excelente

    • Sonia
    • 12/19/10

    Este filme excelente. Uma excelente interpretao de Joan Crawford com uma direo maravilhosa de Jean Negulesco. Um excelente filme com um timo roteiro. Joan era realmente uma diva.

  • Humoresque

    • barbara harper
    • 8/24/10

    I liked this movie very much plus the music but then I am a John Garfield fan.

  • A Music Lovers Feast

    • Lorraine Della Villa
    • 12/10/09

    I have to agree with innocentsue about the music alone in this movies makes it worth the viewing. John Garfield is wonderful in the part and as much as I was never a fan of Joan Crawford I think she did a good job of portraying the spoiled rich lady who amused herself with budding artists and men in general.Especially since so many people think she was playing herself. If so, then she was perfect for the part. BUT, for me the music was the star of this movie. As a music lover and a fan later, of Isaac Stern who is actually the violinist,this was a 4 star movie for me. I own it, I watch it from time to time and I just shared it with someone who fell in love with John. My friend wants to buy it on DVD as a Christmas present for her sister who loves violin music.I am not surprised.

  • Like A Biopic

    • Auntranett
    • 7/11/09

    Many have said and written that the US Government's 'red-baiting' communist hunt of Hollywood's greats destroyed John Garfield. The way I see it he did of a broken heart, as a result of the stress of being hounded. Garfield is the master actor of this film. Unfortunately, Joan Crawford is cast as herself, nearly as if her role is a biography of what has been in her life and what's to come of it too. The rages, domineeering of men, abusiveness, drunkness, self-centeredness are all what her colleagues, family, many biographers, and friends reported on and off film of her to actually be involved in. While Garfield is doing a fine job of acting, Crawford is staged as herself. It's not a pretty sight. Another injustice is done to Garfield as a result of having a co-lead who isn't close to his match as an actor.

  • The Violinist

    • MarieAndrews
    • 7/10/09

    It's great to be able to watch a classic performance by Johnny Garfield. The contrast between his classic acting ability and Joan Crawford's inability is made especially stark throughout the film. Garfield is playing a character not himself. Crawford is playing herself (again). So, if you don't like her this may be a good film to watch. If you do like John Garfield's acting this is probably is film for you.

  • Johnny Garfield's Angry Scene-Stealer

    • Krystal74
    • 6/20/09

    Garfield's a handsome, brilliant younger violinist who an ugly-looking, neurotic (more like psychotic) Crawford is digging her claws and fangs into. It's a quid pro quo relationship of sexual harassment, before the term or concept was a legal one in the US. Garfield's angry performance is so intense and rivetting that he makes Crawford's appearances seem lame in contrast. His character is one who can be empathized with; hers isn't.

  • Garfield Steals the Show

    • 13Donuts
    • 5/11/09

    John Garfield had performed in films with far better actors than Joan Crawford. So when he played the role of Paul to her Helen, the egocentric women who wants him all to herself, Garfield's skilled performance makes Crawford's look oh so provincial. Whomever actuall made the casting decision couldn't have made themself seem more inept if they tried. Garfield had already co-starred with Lana Turner in "The Postman...," so he has experience with skilled actors. I wonder what he really felt about being cast to co-start with Crawford since he easily stold the show from her?

  • Poor John

    • dddoughboy
    • 5/10/09

    I wouldn't have wanted to play a role co-starring with Joan Crawford, starring as Joan Crawford (could she do anyone but herself?). Helen & Joan were so alike. Joan had to be central in reality, like Helen had to be. Poor Johnny Garfield had to put up with the ultimate narcissism. He was a grounded guy who probably found it easy to detest Helen as much as he did Joan. Helen is the type of character who grows against sensitive people's grain. Rather like Joan Crawford did.

  • GREAT MOVIE, ACTING and EXCEPTIONALLY GREAT MUSIC!

    • innocentsue
    • 3/23/09

    Aside from the storyline, which is good, the music is FANTASTIC! If one likes great (and I mean FANTASTIC) symphonic music - this is the movie for you. There is everything from "The Flight of the Bumblebee" done in, (I think 52 seconds rather then what virtuoso's shoot for - 60 seconds), to "MALAGUANA". As named (not in the titles, but on this site)the 'best of the best' symphonic composers and compositions - but also some Cole Porter aka "movie music" or 20th C. compositions thrown in, e.g. MUSIC FOR EVERYBODY - especially serious music lovers. John Garfield makes it look very real, and the talent of Oscar Levant is never to be underestimated. (If I am not wrong -it is ISAAC STERN who plays the violin in the movie, given credit on the title cards as "music director".)Music lovers - who love all kinds of music - will love this, not to mention the Joan Crawford fans, as she does (not unexpectedly) great justice to her part in the movie.The entire cast is excellent, but the music REALLY makes this movie - and Garfield's talent for making it look so real via the feelings he shows when playing it - on his face and body language is wonderful.GREAT MOVIE!

  • Intense Crawford and Garfield

    • Brucr Reber
    • 3/23/09

    "Humoresque" is one of my favorite Joan Crawford films. I think it's the one she made right after she won the Best Actress Oscar for Mildred Pierce. Although it's the only film in which she co-starred with John Garfield, they work very well together. I'm surprised Warner Bros. didn't ever team them again. My favorite scene is when Crawford slaps Garfield in the face (it seems she did that to her leading men in almost all of her films). It could be considered a younger man-older woman love affair (I think Crawford was about 10 years older than Garfield), but it is really a story about fame (the determination to achieve it, hold on to it and the tragic price that is ultimately paid for it). I also think it's the first film Garfield made after he co-starred with Lana Turner in "The Postman Always Rings Twice", another one of my favorites. Although "Humoresque" was their only film together, I would consider Crawford and Garfield one of the great screen couples ever.

  • What a "spine-tingler"!!

    • FrankieCee
    • 1/22/07

    Every time I watch this movie, I get goose pimples and tingles up and down my spine. The sheer emotion, dedication and brilliantly "magnificent" quality of the violin performances, makes this truly, one heart-wrenching film. Every aspect of this film, from direction, to musical FXs, to the "perfect" acting performances given by "ALL" makes this one of my favorite films. WOW! Unbelievable!! Magnificent!! Spectacular!! Need I say more??? Watch it! Feel it!! You'll never forget it!! *****-5 Star Film

  • Humoresque

    • Mike
    • 10/8/06

    Bobby Blake is a driven prodigy, Garfield, Levant and Stern lead the musical variety, with Crawford close-ups.

  • Great Classic for classical music lovers!

    • Michael R. Ligon
    • 10/8/06

    Outstanding acting by Joan Crawford -a classically beautiful woman. Wish they made them like that again. I'm in love with her. Black & white with great close-ups of Joan as well as of John Garfield while he is "playing" the violin. I was amazed to hear he was filmed playing while his arms were actually by his side. The actual violin music was played by Isaac Stern. Great nuances using the ocean waves. If you like great classic movies and great classical music this is a must see.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.