skip navigation
Hollywood Canteen

Hollywood Canteen(1944)

  • Saturday, January 3 @ 06:30 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Hollywood Canteen A serviceman and a starlet... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • One of Americ's finest hours reflected in film

    • Thomas
    • 1/17/14

    Joan Leslie went from the ingrate Velma in High Sierra to every GI's dream girl here in Hollywood Canteen. She has always been a pleasure to watch. Her birthday is coming up so Happy Birthday Darling and go for many more. A fun and entertaining film made during a very difficult time.

  • hollywood canteen

    • william a terwilliger
    • 1/17/14

    I WAS 9 YEARS OLD WHEN I FIRST SEEN THIS MOVIE! I STILL REMEMBER DON'T FENCE ME IN. THE FIRST SONG I EVER LEARN....THE WAR' AND BEING YOUNG WOW....THANKS FOR CHANCE TO REMEMBER WHEN THE USA WAS THE GREATEST PLACE TO BE IN......TO SEE REAL ACTORS AGAIN IS GREAT. THANKS THANKS

  • A great generation of actors

    • Gil
    • 6/10/13

    Hollywood Canteen is a great review of the great generation of actors. They provided I think the best in entertainment and support for the greatest generation of fighting men and supporting female volunteers. There was then a great sense of patriotism and respect for what our country stood for. It was well worth watching.

    • 6/4/13

  • What I saw was great

    • Wayney
    • 6/4/13

    Sadly, I didn't catch the beginning of this movie, so I can't give the best of reviews. I started watching it when Slim was in the canteen with Nolan and meets Joan Leslie. From that point on, I really enjoyed the movie. I will have to watch the beginning at some point. But I believe I came in at a point where it was easy to understand what was going on. I will refrain from posting my thoughts on the real Hollywood Canteen and their support of the troops during WWII in contrast to support of troops since then on here which is not really the proper place for it. I admit that it is not typical for someone my age, mid-thirties, to really enjoy musicals. I know there are a number of people my age who do but they are not encountered often except in places which are about the genre. Classic movies in general are so much better than most of what is made now, in my opinion. But, then again, I've liked history for as long as I can remember. Movies about the Revolutionary War, the War of 1812, Civil War, as well as WWI and WWII are some of my favorites. But I don't limit myself to war movies only. I love historical movies about the Arthurian Legend, the Regency era in England, the US Colonial period, the period between the Rev. War and the Civil War encompassing the various eras of that time, especially antebellum times, Reconstruction, the Gilded Age, the Wild West, Indian Wars, the turn of the century, the Roaring Twenties, the Great Depression, and up into the Fifties. I find the 60s through now interesting but not nearly as much as I like previous eras. TCM is a station I need to watch a bit more often than I currently find myself watching.

  • Yes and No

    • GypsyPi3000
    • 6/4/13

    First off, I had a hard time believing this movie was only 2 hours long. I could have sworn it was at least 3. Secondly, I am a huge Bette Davis fan. I think she was awesome, except here, where she's playing herself which I find a bit disturbing. She seemed uncomfortable and forced, like she was trying too hard. And maybe she was since she was a co-founder of the Hollywood Canteen. It was a wonderful idea of hers, and I know it was very important to her. So, yes, this is an awesome movie in its historical context, but it certainly was flawed. The storyline really didn't even matter - it was just great to see the stars. And thirdly, this was the first time I'd ever seen Roy Rogers! Of course, I've heard of him, but I don't ever remember actually seeing him before and with Trigger to boot. I really enjoyed the cowboy music around the campfire. I thought they decorated those scenes expertly with real warmth, making this my favorite part of the film.

  • Lovely and Beautiful

    • Condie
    • 2/16/12

    It is delightful to see Bette Davis playing herself as the lovely and beautiful person that she is.

  • hollywood canteen

    • reb3
    • 1/25/11

    Would love to see this WWII classic about our men in uniform and the overwhelming support they received from America and around the world for putting their lives on the line.on DVD. Fantastic movie.

  • Hollywood Canteen (1944)

    • James Higgins
    • 6/3/10

    This has truly a once in a lifetime cast, and it is well worth seeing just for the absolutely incredible star appearances. It is very entertaining, light and breezy with countless memorable scenes. Great musical numbers, fun skits and amusing scenes throughout. Among the stars appearing: Bette Davis, John Garfield, Barbara Stanwyck, Jack Benny, Joan Crawford, Sydney Greenstreet, Peter Lorre, Ida Lupino, Paul Henreid, Dennis Morgan, Eleanor Parker, Roy Rogers and Jane Wyman.

  • America's WWII Homefront

    • John Sforza
    • 10/5/09

    A great, too often forgotten film of the WWII years, HOLLYWOOD CANTEEN boasted the best roster of Tinseltown stars to ever be assembled in one film. Crawford, Davis, Stanwyck, etc., though appearing mostly in brief cameos, are a sight to behold, & the famous Andrews Sisters, on rare loan-out to Warner Bros. from Universal, singing the title track & two more numbers, are definitely a highlight from a somewhat down-trodden romantic plot that somewhat slows the entertainment. Perhaps slightly more entertaining as a whole, surprisingly (including the plot), was Universal's FOLLOW THE BOYS from the same year, also featuring The Andrews Sisters & that studio's best-known personalities. Keep both films rolling, TCM!

  • Enjoyable WWII Entertainment

    • Sharon.Preeves
    • 7/16/09

    The Hollywood Canteen was Bette Davis' brain child. It seved as a reprieve for war weary WWII soldiers who were home for a break. They got to hang out with the stars. Doing so was a morale booster. The film is about a night at the canteen and it's fictional. But, there's a real good glimpse of what the canteen did and looked like. Bette Davis is clearly the star who gets the full star treatment during her routine. This is filled with all sorts of golden era stars who are having a blast doing the show.

  • Same as "Thank Your Lucky Stars"

    • Vic_Kennedy
    • 5/27/09

    Thanks TCM for finally showing this Bette Davis film. I didn't realize it's the same as "Thank Your Lucky Stars." It is a wonderful tribute to both all of the legends who participated in the Hollywood Canteen and the WWII troops. I am particularly fond of Bette Davis' role in the whole production as well as her performance in the show.

  • All Star Review for WWII Benefit

    • f2008ilmzzz
    • 5/20/09

    John Garfield and Bette Davis started the Hollywood Canteen. It was a place where servicemen during WWII could gather and mingle with Hollywood celebrities. It's intent was to be a morale booster as well as a way for people on the homefront to show support for the troops. This film is historical and reveals home much Warner Brothers did at home and in combat to assist the US & Allies WWII affort. It really is amazing.

  • One of the greatest!!!

    • Donald K.
    • 10/17/08

    I first saw this movie about 10 years ago and fell in love with it. Great story with a knockout cast. If I could only get a date with Joan Leslie.

  • Great, great movie

    • Linda
    • 8/25/08

    There are so many great performers in this movie. I love the Andrews Sisters and was glad that they sang more than one song. The story line may seem ridiculous to some, but it's romantic. The ending scene is something that sticks with you. I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys music from that era, romantic movies, or is interested in learning about WWII and how Americans dealt with it.

  • A Musical Treat of an Era Long Gone, Sadly

    • malcolm James
    • 7/25/08

    This picture in my opinion is a gem. It not only captures the mood of Hollywood in its hey day but of a difficult time for service people and their families.It is a piece of History that made a fortune at the time for Warner Bros.Great musical numbers, great stars, and a silly mushy story line that had people going for their hankies at the end when Joan Leslie waves goodbye to Robert Hutton and Betty Davies is talking over the end titles.If only real life was like this.The stars did their bit for free as did a lot of them at the time.

  • Available DVD is not this Movie

    • calintexas
    • 7/20/07

    The Bob Hope and Bing Crosby Collector's Edition only has a short not the full Hollywood Canteen movie.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.