skip navigation
Gentleman Jim

Gentleman Jim(1942)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Gentleman Jim Fanciful biography of... MORE > $15.95 Regularly $17.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Most Touching Scene

    • Minky
    • 4/18/17

    I guess the reason I keep looking at this film is because of Ward Bond's touching scene where by he hands over his championship belt to Corbett. I not much for crying during a movie but this scene really got to me. They just don't make them like this anymore!

  • gentleman jim

    • kevin sellers
    • 4/1/17

    Considering that the screenwriters failed to come up with much of a story (brash boxer wins every fight he's in and gets the girl at the end) and that most of the acting is sub par and most of the sets are back lot cheesy, it's a tribute to Raoul Walsh's fast paced direction and handling of the fight scenes and Errol Flynn's charm and likability in the title role that this tired biopic is even moderately entertaining. Give it a C plus. P.S. Yes, I cried at the scene where Ward Bond hands the title belt to Flynn.

  • response to jeff/

    • kevin sellers
    • 4/1/17

    In his post of 9-24-16, which you can read below, Jeff wrote that after WW2 the U.S. "maintained...the status...of being the first good winner of a war." Now I may be a troll but unlike Jeff I am not an idiot. You cannot "maintain" the status of being the first at something because if you are the first to do something then no maintenance is required.It's already done and cannot be undone.Therefore, Jeff's statement makes no sense. It is also incorrect. Before there was a United States Britain had already behaved quite decently toward the French following the Seven Years War as had Sweden toward the Hapsburg Empire following the 30 Years War, and the Dutch toward Spain following the Dutch Rebellion. Yes I may spend a lot of time in the TCM User Review bubble.

  • GENTLEMAN JIM

    • WILL
    • 3/27/17

    When Errol Flynn and his close friend Raoul Walsh got together, you could be sure of a Great movie. Flynn Hated working with Michael Curtis, especially after Charge Of The Light Brigade, a great film, but at a terrible cost in injuries to cast and horses. Its been said Errol Flynn, didn't have any confidence in his films or his opportunities to break of character and wanted to do some what he called, real acting. He shines in this one. You can tell hes having a great time, and it seems everyone else is to. Theres a lot of blarney (fiction) here but who cares. The fight scenes are done in such away, that anyone can watch, without gaging at the realities of what this kind of boxing was really all about. My wife watched with tears in her eyes, when John L. and Gentleman Jim shake hands. One of Ward Bonds best. Now that's real acting Mr. Flynn.

  • Sellers: troll on a roll

    • Jeff Boston
    • 3/27/17

    I checked out "Gentleman Jim" due to TCM playing it on 3-27 at 12:15 pm (EST). How did Kevin Sellers know about my 3-26 post? I reasonably assume it is due to his living on the TCM website and for the User Reviews section. Kevin, you once again misread my post. I said "maintained" because America's unique stance in treating its enemies with forgiveness and looking forward to the future did not start with WW2, which you wrote in your 3-25 post. Such an idea and acting on it started well before that, unlike other prevailing countries at war throughout world history, with a good example being what the victors of WW1 did over our country's objection. Time to get outside and breath in some fresh air, Kevin. Trolls need fresh air, too.

  • The Corbetts are at it again!

    • Jeff Boston
    • 9/24/16

    Hollywood gave the Father of Modern Boxing a nice tribute with a wonderful film. Many great scenes, and some good lines as well, especially that it's tough to be a good loser, but more tough to be a good winner. So true. "Gentleman Jim" was made after our country "entered the ring" in WW2, and our forefathers fought bravely, swift on their feet with keen thinking, jarring jabs, and knockout punches. With firm resolve, we defeated determined foes, then mindfully maintained the sterling status of being the world's first good winner of a war.

  • Riotous, Underrated Classic

    • TomJH
    • 9/24/14

    Although largely fictionalized, this high energy, feel good "biography" of James J. Corbett represents Errol Flynn at the peak of his career as a performer. It is also representative of director Raoul Walsh's ability to make a fun, loving, at times rambunctious production, chockful of engaging characters and broad but endearing comedy. Flynn's aggressive charm was probably never better utilized than as the ambitious 1890s boxer on the rise, determined to become heavyweight champion of the world. And, as heavyweight champ John L. Sullivan, Ward Bond is loud, abrasive and suitably in the viewer's face. The film is riotously funny, at times, and never makes a false move, right up to the sentimental but highly effective final scene between a modest Corbett and a humbled but proud Sullivan.

  • Gentlemen Jim

    • movte buff
    • 4/27/13

    Would love to see this film in the near future.Errol Flynn was superb.Great family film.Feel - good movie.

  • great flynn

    • george snedker
    • 5/16/12

    errol's great as james j corbett in wonderlul fun bio,great period flavour ward bond terrific as the great john l sullivan.

  • Portrait of a Boxing Legend.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 7/13/10

    Errol Flynn was given an opportunity to show off his boxing skills as he starred in the title role in Raoul Walsh's biographical drama on the life of James J. Corbett a.k.a. Gentleman Jim (1866-1933). Flynn gives one of the best performances of his career since Robin Hood, as Corbett, he prepares to become a professional boxer as he challenges the heavyweight champion, John L. Sullivan (1858-1918), magnificently portrayed by Ward Bond. Beautiful Alexis Smith makes her second film appearance with Flynn, a perfect leading lady since Olivia de Havilland. Also starring Jack Carson, Alan Hale, John Loder, William Frawley, Minor Watson, Madeleine LeBeau, Arthur Shields, Rhys Williams, Dorothy Vaughan & Mary Gordon.

  • Errol Flynn's Best Movie

    • Trace
    • 9/24/09

    I watched Gentleman Jim last night on my 52 inch LCD screen. The film really came to life for me. Flynn was truly enjoying himself in this role. It was made for him. And it was in my opinion his best performance. It takes agood actor to bring a character like Corbet to life.The movie was fast paced and entertaining and is one of the best movies ever made.Great supporting cast.A classic!

  • Gentleman Jim (1942)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 9/11/09

    This is a really great and overlooked film. This is Errol Flynn's best performance and Ward Bond is the best among the excellent supporting cast. Very well made, fine direction by Raoul Walsh. It's Flynn's film all the way.

  • Wonderful Entertainment

    • Jack The Hat
    • 12/23/08

    Weather fact or exaggeration about the life of Jim Corbet, Warner Brothers had the ability to make excelent movies and this is one of them. Worth watching over an over again.

  • True Biography

    • Michael Carlson
    • 10/10/06

    A uplifting and all around good sports orfamily movie!

  • american spirit

    • ernest degroff
    • 2/5/06

    when i first saw this movie, it put a stride in my walk, knowing that the smaller and weaker things in life sometimes have a stronger will and determination than the things that others look at as unmovable and impossible to change.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.