skip navigation
42nd Street

42nd Street(1933)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

42nd Street The definitive backstage... MORE > $15.79 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • 42nd st.

    • kevin sellers
    • 5/8/17

    Red Rain's perceptive review below pretty much sums up my feelings for this wonderful piece of bawdiness courtesy of Busby, Ruby, Warner, Ginger et. al I would only add a commendation for a snappy, witty, funny, wisecracking screenplay by Rian James and James Seymour (and why didn't these two have bigger careers?) that lifts you over the few dull stretches involving George Brent and Bebe Daniels. Give it an A minus.

  • Toe tapping

    • ojc
    • 5/4/17

    Lots of fun. Dancing, snappy dialogue, and cliches that were still fresh enough that they weren't cliches yet. Una Merkel and Ginger are great. Film is kind of All that Jazz, without the self-analysis and drugs. Too directors trying for that one more hit show. Definitely more than just a historical curiosity. Still back and enjoy.

  • Oh, Busby!

    • RedRain
    • 4/26/17

    Brilliant dancing and score, with Busby Berkley making you just gasp at his trademark settings and surprises. Keeler's voice is quite thin and can be grating but she's so sweet in this film that you can forgive her that. Great seeing the very young Dick Powell and Ginger Rogers here. I note in the credits at the end of the film that this was released in 1932, not 1933 as TCM lists it. That's an important difference as it puts the film in a better perspective, as 1932 was the apex of the Depression. This film is also pre-Hayes Code and it shows in several scenes in the film. Busby gets quite risque in the dances at times and the camera going between the spread legs of the dancers in one scene was quite provocative for the time. I give this film four stars because it is so innovative for the time and the score just keeps you humming along. It's truly the precursor to "The show must go on!" films that followed and this one is the ideal!

  • 42nd Street

    • Michael Whitty
    • 12/8/16

    One of the first big musicals showing a Broadway show getting made in the early 30s with an array of songs "42nd Street" has all the energy of classic Hollywood. This was before Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers but had the Busby Berkeley production magic that gave musicals appeal. It was impressive at times and had many good songs to go with. Even though it couldn't be technically strong the will to entertain was strong. An early musical classic.

  • 42st Street.

    • Janet Masly
    • 3/20/15

    Fantastic movie!!!! I watch it every time I can. I love the songs, especially 42st Street. It has such a wonderfully nostalgic view of NYC. I love the bantering between characters and the plot. There will never be movies like this again. The dancing is alot better than American Idol. I am so glad that TCM shows this often. This movie is certainly a classic.

  • 42nd Street

    • Susan
    • 8/25/14

    I simply adore this movie! It is perfect in every way. The songs, the dancing, the Busby Berkeley choreography...simply fantastic. Wish I'd been alive then! Pre-Hayes code too, I believe. This is a movie that will lift your spirits and have you singing along and tapping your feet!

  • 42nd street

    • john
    • 3/4/13

    great, timeless, musical drama,warner baxter dead on brilliant,should have got an oscar, exactly the way directors behave during rehersals. a driven work aholic. the musical numbers typical hokey 1920s, 30s , work beautifully not zeigfield - rather , hard knocks sweat and tears grind.ruby keeler is perfect in this part, never a great actress, and no ann miller or elanor powell, and thats what makes it work .dick powell s constant mugging and grinning (never a big fan of boy voice irish tenors) makes me cringe (sorry ireland) glad to see he got smart later in his career turning to serious acting and directing. the rest of the cast are great. not in my opinion the greatest musical of all time or the pioneer first classic milestone etc.( suffers from being over rated )as some have suggested, but a great old movie to watch and enjoy.

  • 42nd Street

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 8/12/12

    Not only the greatest backstage musical, but the film that improved on how musicals are made. Much like her character, Keeler became a sensation in her first major film, fine ensemble overall. Berkeley's famous geometric choreography & great musical numbers are in top-notch form. If "Cavalcade" didn't win Best Picture, this masterpiece would've. I give it a 5/5.

  • songs, costumes

    • Alison Winston
    • 2/11/12

    They don't make them like this anymore. The costumes, gowns are gorgeous. You will find yourself taping your feet as the songs play. I love to watch this movie it always puts me in a good mood and then I realize once again I was born way too late.

  • A-1!

    • Laura B
    • 2/18/09

    What can I say. A top notch film in a style you can no longer see. Great story line and acting, dont miss it!.

  • 42nd Street

    • Mike
    • 1/23/09

    Perfect in every way.

  • This movie is on DVD.

    • Andrea
    • 3/17/06

    This movie is on DVD. I have viewed it on DVD. My friend owns this movie. We watch it all the time. I dunno why you have to vote to have it on DVD, when well, it is.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.