skip navigation
Topper Takes a Trip

Topper Takes a Trip(1939)

  • Wednesday, October 22 @ 04:30 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Topper Takes a... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • I LOVE THIS MOVIE!

    • Rachael
    • 5/17/13

    This is one of my FAVORITE movies and for over 2 years I've been looking to buy this on dvd or ANYTHING but alas, it's not out for purchase!! All I can do it keep coming back to this page to vote to put it on dvd and wait for it to play on TCM and record it with my AT&T u-verse and NEVER let it delete! PLEASE play this movie soon TCM! and even more, PLEASE make this available for dvd!!!

  • Neglected Sequel

    • Bob McG
    • 6/4/12

    Great sequel! Only one missing is Cary Grant. I haven't seen it on TCM in a long, long time. Please show again

  • Love this movie

    • Suzy
    • 1/5/12

    Of all the Topper movies this is my favorite. Too bad it is not out on DVD. I hope TCM will play it soon so I can record it. Roland Young is "so funny." The whole cast is great.

  • Please play this for us Canadians

    • Alex
    • 12/28/11

    I have never, ever seen this movie, but I love the other two Topper movies so could you please play this one for us Canadians. Thanks

  • Topper takes a trip

    • Ophelia Thomas
    • 11/15/11

    this is my favorite of all the topper movies! That's hard to say that the third can be funnier then the first, but in all seriousness this is a great, must see movie for the oldie but goodie movie buff! :)

  • Topper Takes a Trip (1939)

    • Ashley
    • 12/13/10

    Hilarious! (Can the world ever really get enough of Constance Bennet irritating Roland Young as poor Cosmo Topper!?!?) And not to mention of course, the ever-hilarious Billie Burke!

  • An Idiotic Ectoplasmic Farce.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 9/23/10

    Constance Bennett and Roland Young reprise their roles in this idiotic, mindless sequel to the original 1937 comedy based on Thorne Smith's follow-up sequel to his book. The ghostly Marion Kerby (Bennett) returns to Earth to accompany the asinine Cosmo Topper (Young) to the French Riviera, where his equally idiotic scrambled-brained wife (Billie Burke) is filing for a divorce, and is in the company of an aristocratic French Baron. A complete waste of the talents of it's cast with an asinine story, which should thrown into a furnace. Billie Burke is totally annoying in her idiotic performance as a wife, who could pass the exam entrances to Harvard. Good thing, Cary Grant wasn't in the movie. His only appearance was in the flashback scenes from the original movie, and the need of a ghostly dog was totally unnecessary. Don't waste your time with this one. With Alan Mowbray, Verree Teasdale, Franklin Pangborn, Alexander D'Arcy, Irving Pichel, Leon Belasco & Skippy.

  • topper takes a trip

    • j escue
    • 11/2/09

    billie burke is annoying to no end. the rest of the movie, especially constance bennett is quite enjoyable. constance was the highest paid actress in hollywood in the early 1930's at the dawn of the talkies. quite a joy to watch her.regards

  • An Absolute Delight - Light Fun Fare

    • Janie
    • 11/1/09

    Roland Young, Constance Bennett, Billie Burke, and Alan Mowbray all star in this joyously light movie reprising their respective roles in this Topper adventure.Suspending disbelief is essential with most movie watching; some more than others. Having accomplished this, I believe you will enjoy this movie. It is an absolute delight!I laughed out loud seeing Topper dancing with Marion (in her invisible state). I love the subtlety of the humour and dialogue.

  • A Study in Idiocy.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 10/25/09

    Constance Bennett and Roland Young reprise their roles in this completely annoying, idiotic sequel to the original 1937 comedy based on Thorne Smith's book. The ghostly beautiful Marion Kirby (Bennett) returns to help the demented Cosmo Topper (Young), when his scatterbrained wife (Billie Burke) intends to divorce him on the French Riviera. This has the I.Q. of a Kindergarten dropout and the brain of civ. A complete waste of talent and writing skills of it's cast crew. Cary Grant only appears in a flashback. With Alan Mowbray, Verree Teasdale, Franklin Pangborn & Irving Pichel.

  • Absolutely wonderful entertainment

    • Lisa
    • 6/21/09

    I really enjoyed watching these when I was younger but even more now that I am older. I have young children who also enjoy the movies. Would be great to have the 3 movies released in a set on DVD!

  • Takes a trip

    • Nick Martin
    • 1/15/08

    This movie is really entertainment. I thought this was the funniest of the three movies. even though the DVD that is out the movies were #1 #3 in the three this movies is the 2nd of the three. The funniest and most enjoyable one cant be seen on DVD. But thank you TCM you sh wit and i watch it any time you put it on' Great Movie a must watch me if your are to the topper movies

  • A wounderful show to go with the topper collection

    • tim gadwa
    • 1/6/08

    I find it delightfully entertaining to watch and bring humor into the home during the tuff time of our econome.

  • When can i buy Topper Returns

    • Eileen
    • 11/1/07

    Love those Topper moviesThey are just great.........

  • Fancy Automobile

    • Daniel
    • 11/23/06

    What was the make of the car that Topper was driving in this movie?

  • the 3 Topper movies

    • Blanche
    • 9/6/06

    I enjoy watching the three Topper movies, especially Topper Returns.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.