skip navigation
Topper

Topper(1937)

  • Thursday, October 2 @ 08:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Monday, December 8 @ 12:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Topper - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Love this movie!

    • Joy
    • 9/21/13

    I love this movie as well as all the Topper movies. It's one of my all-time favorites. Love Constance Bennett! What a great cast on this one. There's great cinematography and special effects. I've seen this movie at least three times. It never gets old. If you're looking for a really good movie with lots of fun and laughs, you've met your match. This movie does not disappoint. If you haven't seen Topper, you're in for a treat. They simply must bring it to DVD. Everybody vote!

  • topper

    • wendy
    • 7/13/13

    i watched this when i was a young teen when they only had 3,5,8,43.i love this old movie and i look in the video stores and check your listing hoping to see it again.a true classic, black and white movie.anyone who loves classic movies would love this

  • Charming!

    • RedRain
    • 2/26/13

    I really enjoy this film, as I do all the Topper series! Constance Bennett is just fantastic and, well, what can you say about the eye-candy known as Cary Grant! There isn't a thing not to like here. It has great dialogue, beautiful sets and beautiful people. Love it!

  • What a car!

    • Roger Steimbrink
    • 2/26/13

    Of course, the movie is an excellent classic, but then so is the car!I wonder where it is now. At one time I lived & worked for a man who restored old cars. We would always watch TCM, and try to identify the old cars that were used in the movies. He always said that it looked like some kind of Buick, and now I know.Thanks for the info TCM car buffs.

  • One of the Great Screwball Comedies of the 1930s.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 9/15/10

    Cary Grant, Constance Bennett and Roland Young star in director, Norman Z. McLeod's brilliant screen adaptation of Thorne Smith's book, in which Grant and Bennett are George and Marion Kerby, a fun-loving couple, who are killed in a car accident, and return as ghosts, who are earthbound until they can change the life of a hen-pecked banker (Young) for the better before they can "cross-over". Both Grant and Bennett are perfectly cast as the ghostly couple, and Young's performance in the title role is considered pathetic and neurotic. Very clever special effects for it's day. The humor is somewhat unorthodox and can be very unintelligible. It would inspire two inferior sequels and a mid-1950s TV series. This became the first black-and-white film to undergo the then-experimental colorization process. With Billie Burke, Alan Mowbray, Eugene Pallette, Hedda Hopper, Arthur Lake, Hoagy Carmichael, Virginia Sale, Ward Bond, Elaine Shepard, Doodles Weaver, Si Jenks & Three Hits and a Miss.

  • Topper (1937)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 10/28/09

    What a wonderful classic, great performances by all, clever special effects, especially for 1937. Funny, well acted, thoroughly enjoyable throughout. A great film.

  • toppers car

    • pam
    • 7/26/09

    My grandson and I were watching the movie and were wondering what kind of car that was? We were surprised to learn it was a custom made buick! This movie is great for all ages - it is hard to beleive its over 70 yrs old. With all the new stuff to make a movie it seems the simpler the better!! My grandson is 12 yrs old, he sat and watched the entire movie, he thought it was funny!!

  • About the Kerby's fabulous car...

    • Joanne
    • 2/13/09

    The car was custom built by the Bohman & Schwartz Co. using a 1936 Buick Roadmaster chassis. The movie's producers originally planned to use a coffin-nosed Cord, but it wasn't large enough. After filming, the car was bought by the Gilmore Oil Co. and was used for promotional purposes for many years. It was updated in 1954 with a Chrysler Imperial chassis and drive train. This and additional info is from IMDb, under "Trivia for Topper (1937)"

  • the car

    • jo
    • 2/13/09

    I, too, would like to know what the gorgeous car was that is in this movie - was it a custom job? Does ANYONE know?!

  • What is the car?

    • Steve
    • 2/13/09

    I've loved this movie for years and have always wondered about the car... is it custom for the movie or is it an actual production model? I've looked everywhere on the net and can't find any info.

  • Already on dvd

    • jack
    • 9/18/08

    I already have this on dvd as a double feature with "Topper Returns".

  • Screwball Classic

    • John Mullarkey
    • 7/8/07

    The last half-hour is classic - slapstick - screwball comedy! Great chemistry and a terrific cast. Roland Young is perfect. The sets and costume esign really make this a perfect comedy for all-ages. Great fun!

  • Topper: a Screwball Comedy Classic!

    • Valerie
    • 12/13/06

    A terrific gem!A handsome young Cary Grant, doing some of his best snappy dialogue, in a comedy about a wealthy, fun-loving party couple who come back as ghosts after a car accident.Not quite bad souls in life, but not quite good either, the ghosts of George & Marianne Kirby must brighten the life of henpecked and overworked Mr. Topper in order make it through the Pearly Gates.Fast & funny dialogue; Elegant wardrobes; an amazing convertible; and sets from the era (I especially loved the assorted "theme" nightclubs frequented by the Kirbys) make this one such fun to watch!

  • Topper: Between Two Worlds

    • Linda Brazelton
    • 4/20/06

    Delightful comedy offers a glimpse into the elegant past. Snappy dialogue, fabulous costumes and sets.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.