skip navigation
Confessions of a Nazi Spy

Confessions of a Nazi Spy(1939)

Contribute

FOR Confessions of a Nazi Spy (1939) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Confessions of a Nazi Spy An FBI agent risks his life to... MORE > $12.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • In those days, the F.B.I. did their job -

    • Martha Trowbridge
    • 2/1/13

    Outstanding drama, depicting how America's F.B.I. is structured to function. Essential viewing for those who wonder why our great country suffers.

  • This film, while good propaganda, is an oddity

    • Victor Brown
    • 1/30/13

    The film is an oddity because of its release date, 4/27/39. One would think that such a film would have been rushed into production just after the debacle at Pearl Harbor (12/7/41). But it premiered about two and one-half years before that. The film was obviously in production in 1938, long before the U. S. recognized what was happening in Europe, and that we might be drawn into the hostilities. This should cause any student of history to wonder what Warner's motive was to produce the film at that time. Anyway, I love the film, even though it is propaganda. But it is good propaganda, and quite entertaining.

  • Kudos to Heroes of this film

    • Nanette
    • 1/30/13

    Great movie,bravo to Eddie Robinson,Paul Lukas and other American heroes.George Sanders great,too

  • Wow, some of the commentary could be applied today

    • Jesse
    • 1/30/13

    Just watched this movie. I wish I could pull certain segments of the film and post. It is scary between the Nazi ambitions and what is being done to America today.

  • 45 minutes into the film...

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 2/18/11

    Edward G. Robinson finally appears. And he's top-billed. I don't think I've seen another film where the lead actor missed the entire first half of the movie. Of course, it's story-dictated. And once he does arrive on the scene, it quickly becomes EGR's show.

  • In Re Steve's Comment:

    • Matthew
    • 4/23/10

    Steve, of a previous review, had, IMHO, a thoughtful insight. To wit:, (having watched this film for the first time tonight: 4/22/10).Any Hollywood writer could have easily rewritten this script portraying the Communists as the "bad guys"--with the same exact dialogue and the same exact end to their purpose (to identify and eliminate the "enemy"). For there seems to be little difference between the Nazis' stated purpose (or their methods) and those of their Communist/Socialists' counterparts of the 20's, 30's, 40's, 50's, etc, up to the present, as "Steve" has perceptively noticed--an obervation that, of course, will be, and has been, generally riducled by the media: "How dare you disagree with the "Der Fuhrer".

  • Is history repeating itself today?

    • Steve
    • 3/14/10

    To begin, I must thank my good wife for recording this film for me; it absolutely oozes excellence!Next, while there are a couple of scenes I would shield young children from, I have no other reservations.Last and most importantly, I see some very disturbing parallels with recent events in our beloved country. This in and of itself is frightening enough. Sadly, however, I am of the belief that - as happened when the Nazis appeared and insidiously poisoned the minds of so many - masses of people will taken in. I hope this film will serve as a warning to others.

  • Confessions of a Nazi Spy (1939)

    • James Higgins
    • 1/22/10

    I realize that in 1939 the threat of Nazi's was a serious and imminent one, but this film does go a bit too much to the extreme. Edward G. Robinson is an asset and does a fine job. It is more of interest for it's historical significance than it is as a film, but the story isn't a bad one and it's quite fascinating.

  • A great Film

    • Arthur
    • 7/24/08

    Of all the FBI stories I think this is a classic, Since TCM does not show this on a regular basis, I really would like to add this film to my video collection. Edward G. Robinson's portrayal of an FBI is just as good as Lloyd Nolan as Inspector Briggs.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.