skip navigation
Dark Passage

Dark Passage(1947)

  • Tuesday, September 16 @ 10:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Saturday, October 4 @ 06:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Dark Passage A man falsely accused of his... MORE > $39.98 Regularly $39.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A bit too coincidental.

    • denscul
    • 6/14/13

    If you get past the coincidental meeting of Bogey and Bacall on the bride and the feeble attempt to explain the coincidence, the film is great. With several A class actors and well known faces in character roles. (well known to those of us who were alive when this film was made), a great director it could not fail. The film is not quite up to Key Largo, or To Have of Have Not, the other Bogart/Bogart flics.One thing this flic does have is the voice over during the escape. Bogart did not have to show up on the set for most of the early parts of the film. When your a big star, you can get away with those time savers.I always enjoy retribution/revenge films. At least the ones that succeed. Agnes Moorhead plays the villain, and is so good, I felt I could have shoved her out the window on purpose. I'll bet they cut a few scenes where Bogart DID shove her out, but cut them because they didn't want to portray him as the executioner.Buy this. Its a keeper.

  • classic noir

    • kyle rhoads
    • 10/20/11

    the cinematography was just excellent for this film.. after seeing this i think the cineamtography is better than even such films as citizen kane which i thought, cinematography wise, was revolutionary.. then there comes the performances from bogart and bacall were i think the best between them in one movie... they both hold their own.. this is just simply a great movie

  • Dark Passage

    • James
    • 11/2/10

    Interesting tale of wrongly convicted wife-murderer who escapes prison to set the record straight. Bogart and Bacall exhibit their on-screen magic. Agnes Moorehead as wicked seductress is a pleasant surprise. I feel the "through his eyes" camera angle is carried a bit too long, after all the voice leaves no mystery.

  • Amazing!!

    • Brittney
    • 10/11/10

    I was in "aw" with this whole movie!! I loved the whole story line! I was really scared by his performance at 1st b/c you couldn't see his face, but that was a very clever part of the writers & directer to make up!! Humphrey Bogart was incrediable (as always)!!!!!!!!! :) Lauren Bacall was beautiful as ever! (Frank Sinatra let a good one go!)

  • The Fugitive of the 1940s.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 8/23/10

    Delmer Daves, who directed the wartime drama, "Destination Tokyo", now directs Humphrey Bogart and Lauren Bacall in their third movie project together. This one, Daves personally adapted from the novel by David Goodis. Bogie stars as Vincent Parry, an escaped convict, who was unjustly convicted for his wife's murder, and he undergoes plastic surgery to change his face to avoid capture as he sets out to find real killer. Bacall is Irene Jansen, a beautiful artist, who wishes to help him in his desperate search. Both Bogie and Bacall, once again, make movie magic together as they did in "To Have and Have Not" and "The Big Sleep". The movie would in a way inspire the making of David Janssen's '60s TV series "The Fugitive". Franz Waxman's suspenseful musical score is superbly mesmerizing. Co-starring Bruce Bennett, Agnes Moorehead, Tom D'Andrea, Rory Mallinson, Houseley Stevenson, Clifton Young, John Alvin & Douglas Kennedy.

  • Dark Passage A CLASSIC !!!!

    • DOROTHY
    • 5/13/10

    This is one of my top 5 movie favorites.I also find a lot of pleasure in finding continuity Bloopers, like:Bogie is wearing a jacket & wedding band when he exits the car, and turns on the phonograph, but he's supposedly still in a jail suit....Why didn't he search the suit for a wallet & money????How did he live a whole year in South America on just $1,000??IT'S A FABULOUS FILM, THE ACTORS ARE GREAT, AND I WATCH IT OVER EACH TIME IT'S ON !!!!!!

  • A Bogart Classic

    • birdofparadox
    • 12/24/09

    This is an enjoyable film. Bogart's portrayal of the wrongly accused murderer is perfect. I'm not a Bacall fan so her performance I found annoyingly wooden. Agnes Moorehead is superb, as always.

  • GREAT MOVIE, especially with BOGIE/BACALL!

    • innocentsue
    • 3/29/09

    This is one of the best movies with that dynamic couple: Humphrey Bogart and Lauren Bacall. The setting is San Francisco - the bay area, where he escapes from San Quentin for a murder he did not commit; however, he has a guardain angel - BACALL, who is out to help. She lives in Marin County, e.g. the other side of the Golden Gate Bridge; therefore, great pics of the SF Bay Area, as well as of SF itself - when in its prime.Agnes Moorehead does a great job as the nosey friend and D.Daves is great as DIR. This is a MUST-SEE for all, especially BOGIE-BACALL fans!

  • Dark Passage (1947)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 1/18/09

    The cast is superb, particularly the supporting players. Great story, imaginatively done. Excellent cinematography, good costumes and a fast pace. Effective screenplay.

  • Fav Bogey Movie

    • Laura
    • 3/27/08

    This movie was my childhood favorite out of all the Humphrey Bogart movies. I still enjoy it to this day. I was born nine months after Bogart passed. Upon learning (when I was 12)that his death preceded my birth I was devastated, understanding that alas I was not be his next wife. I love this film!

  • Good Bogart-Bacall movie

    • Wendy Winkler
    • 3/27/06

    It is not a classic like The Big Sleep. But it is an entertaining movie.I liked Bogart's character's interaction with the helpful cab driver.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.