skip navigation
High Sierra

High Sierra(1941)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

High Sierra An aging ex-con sets out to... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $27.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Great film noir classic, with minor flaws

    • denscul
    • 9/9/13

    I think the writers went a little overboard trying to portray Bogart's character as a good-guy bad guy. Considering the characters of the crippled girl who needs an operation, and Ida Lupino's flawed past, it seems a no brainer, that Bogart would have stuck with "his kind of woman". Parts of the film seemed plain goofy, where the cured by Bogart's money is dancing with that creepy boy friend. If Bogart's character was taken seriously, as it should have been. His good guy side would have realized he was beyond the love of a younger, innocent girl.The heart of this story is Lupino's love for the trapped man on the High Sierra. Those last scenes saved what could have been a mediocre film, but has become a Bogart classic.

  • How have I managed to miss this one?

    • Tom
    • 4/16/13

    WOW! This movie has almost a perfect rating by viewers, but I've never seen it? I thought I'd seen all the great ones! Well, it's now number one on my list of must-see films. Can't wait to see it!

  • High Sierra

    • Dashiell B.
    • 3/12/13

    A milestone in the gangster genre and Bogart's career. Bogart gives a subtle performance as an old-timer gangster, whose plot to rob a hotel are interrupted by Leslie's crippled girl whom he foolishly tries to woo, Lupino is the main female who's Bogart's better equal. Director Walsh makes "High Sierra" a scathing look at straight-and-narrow society and uses Mt. Whitney as Bogart's isolated and lonely last stand. Kinetically energetic, but also with a far-fetched plot. I give it a 4/5.

  • High on High Sierra

    • Dalton Trogdon Jr.
    • 12/24/11

    Do you love Bogie? Do you love Film Noir? This film must be included in any list of the great Warner crime dramas. Roy Earle is the archetype for every heel with a heart who has come after him. The cast alone should be enough to lure any lover of this genre. There are two worlds in this movie. People like Pa and Velma live in one world and Roy would like to inhabit it but he has lived too long in his own. Roy is aging and tired of prison but one last big job is needed to repay favors and finance his retirement. He describes to Ida Lupino's character the feeling of crashing out of prison. In the end he does crash out in a spectacular ending on top of a mountain. This film is in my top 5 all-time in the Film Noir genre. I understand that every movie can't be put on dvd or blue-ray but this one is a treasure.

  • Truly Bogie's Star Turn,Thanks George Raft

    • Bart
    • 12/7/11

    Bogie makes this his,better star-maker than The Petrified Forest

  • One of the Great Gangster Movies of the 1940s.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 9/9/10

    Humphrey Bogart finally achieves actual stardom as he stars in Raoul Walsh's rousing (if not exactly credible) gangster caper adapted for the big screen by John Huston from the novel by W.R. Burnett. Although Bogie is the main character in the movie, top billing went to Ida Lupino, who plays a gangster's moll. Bogie is Roy "Mad Dog" Earle, a newly-released ex-convict, who intends to make one last score with a small mob hiding out in a mountain cabin. A caper that would lead to a police chase in the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Also starring Arthur Kennedy, Joan Leslie, Alan Curtis, Henry Travers, Jerome Cowan, Barton MacLane, Henry Hull, Elizabeth Risdon, Cornel Wilde, Donald MacBride, Paul Harvey, Isabel Jewell, George Meeker, Willie Best & John Eldredge.

  • High Sierra

    • Mike
    • 10/19/09

    For me, this was always about true love.

  • High Sierra is a must see

    • Joseph
    • 4/23/08

    When I first saw High Sierra I already wanted my own copy. You instantly get into the story and the characters. Also, this is Humphrey Bogarts breakout role. The last scene has a great stunt you'll watch over and over. It's a 10 out of 10.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.