skip navigation
The Bride Came C.O.D.

The Bride Came C.O.D.(1941)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Bride Came C.O.D. A pilot and a temperamental... MORE > $49.98 Regularly $49.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Thanks For Giving It a Go Guys!

    • Meredith
    • 11/2/13

    I love Cagney, Davis, Carson and several of the others in this film. I was also very excited to see them all together in a comedy(!). But unfortunately I really couldn't like this movie. I wanted it to be funny and awesome - I tried so hard to like it, but there was just something wrong with it. I think everyone did a great job in their roles but it just wasn't funny. Like, Davis kept falling in the cactus - not funny. There was something even unnerving and uncomfortable about it. Maybe there was a pervading sense of awkwardness about the whole film. I can't put my finger on it because I think it was well acted. And the story seemed to be good ground for a comedy. But with all those wonderful actors in it maybe I just expected more than I got.

  • Cagney & Davis - A Great Team

    • Bruce Reber
    • 12/28/09

    In "The Bride Came C.O.D." both James Cagney and Bette Davis play against type (Cagney known mainly for his gangster films and Davis mainly for her fine dramatic roles) in a very funny comedy from Warner Bros.(1941). Some of the scenes are essentially slapstick comedy, and they have very good chemistry together. This was the only time they shared the screen - Warner Bros. should have paired them in another film. William Frawley is funny as the sheriff, a decade before he played Fred Mertz in the classic TV sitcom "I Love Lucy".

  • Davis-Cagney comedy winner

    • jarrod McDonald
    • 12/22/09

    There are a bunch of myths surrounding this production. Comments are perpetuated that the stars did not want to do the project, that they did not get along, that the a rewrite was ordered, etc. I think we need to look at the finished product. It's a great screwball comedy and it holds up better than a lot of other fluff made around the same time. I think Bette Davis and James Cagney were professionals and so was director William Keighley. They may've had to brave sweltering temperatures in Death Valley (like Lillian Gish did in 'The Wind') but they focused on the material and turned out an above-average picture. I think the script is very intelligent, and if you really look at the characters and think about the journey they are on, and some of the more subversive elements of the plot, you will see just how great and underrated it is. Davis, incidentally, made other comedies in the 1940s. Check out 'The Man Who Came to Dinner' and 'June Bride.'

  • I like it!

    • Brenda
    • 12/20/09

    I think this was a good, funny movie. It was not one of Ms. Davis' or Mr. Cagney's "Oscar winners", but I enjoyed it. It was typical of the 30's and early 40's screwball comedies with the supporting cast being "veterans" of that genre.

  • The Bride Came C.O.D. (1941)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 8/5/09

    This is not regarded as one of Bette Davis or James Cagney's better films, but I thoroughly enjoyed it and feel it is very underrated. It's great to see Davis take a stab at comedy, a nice change of pace for her and she handles it great. In spite of the fact the two stars did not get along well at all, it doesn't show in the film.

  • Who'd Have Thought Davis & Cagney Comedy?

    • Prof_Alice
    • 6/23/09

    Granted James Cagney and Bette Davis were in a prior comedy, "Jimmy the Gent" (1934). But that film tended to be more of a drama. "The Bride..." pulls out all the stops to be screwball comedy. Belive it or not, it works. Cagney does his usual tricks and Davis is her usual good sport about it. Like in "Jimmy..." (1934), these two great actors' characters wind up in love and together. Very fun romp.

  • Very Amusing Davis and Cagney Film

    • Amy_Gay
    • 6/15/09

    Since I'm not a fan of Cagney's, I put off watching this film for years until TCM broadcast it. I couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised by how well these two great actors performed a madcap kind of comedy. I'd watch it again.

  • Davis and Cagney Comedy That Works

    • Dr_March
    • 6/12/09

    I'm usually not a big fan of James Cagney, but after watching him in this film, acting with Bette Davis, I've changed my mind. Cagney was too typecast as a rough neck, gangster, or yankee doodler. During this film he shows find acting skill. His antics with Bette Davis, who plays an awfully good sport, are charming much more than alarming. Bette Davis is always good as a comedian,especially when she's playing the"straight man." Both Davis and Cagney are adorable throughout this film. It works surprisingly well. Who knew?

  • It Works Well: Cagney & Davis

    • NJMB
    • 5/16/09

    It's a riot watching Cagney put Davis through a good deal of screwball rough stuff. I wouldn't have thought it before hand, but this film really works. Cagney's a small commericial pilot whose business is about to go under. Davis is a betrothed daughter of a tycoon who winds up with Cagney piloting her supposedly back home. But, his plane ditches in a desert area. That's when their antics really crank up. Plus, they kinda make a cute couple, in the end. I'll watch it whenever I need some comic relief.

  • The Flick Was G.O.O.D

    • Theresa
    • 5/8/08

    A nice screwball comedy with Cagney and Bette Davis. Though not the best use of their talents, the film is still a lot of fun with many good moments. I would love to have seen these two naturals in a serious drama together. Though Davis seemed a little out of her element, Cagney's comedic timing was great. Favorite scene: in the cave, they kiss, and Davis detects that Cagney has been secretly eating..."Mustard!" (You'll have to watch it yourself!)

  • The Bride Came C.O.D.

    • Mike
    • 1/31/08

    Very Pallette-able screwball.

  • hysterical

    • rae
    • 12/13/07

    one of the funniest movies i've seen especially since james cagney isn't known for his comedic abilities

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.