skip navigation
Born to Be Bad

Born to Be Bad(1950)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Born to Be Bad An ambitious girl steals a... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $21.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Born to be Bad

    • Dashiell B.
    • 4/10/13

    A noir-like melodrama from director Ray. Top-notch acting from Fontaine as a society woman who steals Scott from his wife while toying with Ryan. Irregular blend of film noir makes the melodrama cheesy and weak. For dedicated fans of Ray, this is your film. I give it a 3/5.

  • Born to be Bad

    • mehdi ordubadi
    • 5/23/12

    It gteat Movie and i love to have a Copie of this . Is it possible to purchase it in Video store or shoud i order true TCM . thanks for any information Best Regards mehdi ordubadi

  • A Budding Vamp

    • Commenter77
    • 3/7/12

    This is a strong cast. Maybe it was the character, but I liked Mel Ferrer in this very much, while not liking him anywhere else. Maybe he does laid back better than aggressive, and didn't get a lot of chances to do that. Joan Leslie was very pretty and natural, convincing, especially in the earlier part. Her make-up with Scott seemed a little pat, but maybe that's the fault of the script. Zachary Scott seems also to do mellow well and is convincing early on. His assertive scenes seem a little overdone. Robert Ryan (Nick) is a bit quixotic in that he's just hard to get along with at first, gets himself reeled in, but really does a whiplash in the final scene with Christabel. I guess that was righteous indignation, but it was quite a turnabout. You wonder how little Miss Chris would have fared had they gotten together. Somehow, you can't picture her getting away with the stuff she pulled on Scott (Curtis). Nick was a lot quicker on the intake.Joan Fontaine does well depicting this young girl at the beginning stage of a downward spiral. It's a girl attempting to play the game of what is expected from a milk and water miss and grasping for what she can get at the same time. There's continual tension in that double booking, and Ms. Fontaine shows that throughout. Christabel moves too fast at times, gets off balance, slips up, shows her hand. I can't help picturing her about to drive away at the end. You get the idea that, with the restraints of relatives and reputation gone, she's set to cut her losses and go on from there, playing a new and much tighter game. It will no longer be necessary to play the young girl who arrived on the "wrong night."

  • Born to be Bad

    • Deanna Brittsan
    • 1/17/12

    I love this movie and I have recorded, so I can watch again and again, Everyone in the movie is great. Love Robert Ryan. I sure hope someday I can purchase this movie for my collection. If you have not watched this movie do give it a try. I wish they made movies like this today.

  • Born to be bad - 1950

    • Karen Donnelly
    • 10/5/11

    without a doubt one of my favorite Joan Fontaine movies! I don't know why it's SO VERY HARD to purchase. It was just on the other night. I recorded it yet again! I have it on my TiVo from almost a year ago! I want to hold on to it until I can purchase it. If you get the chance, watch it. It is Joan at one of her best wicked woman roles. And you know there really are women just like this today. Another great movie is Beyond a Reasonable Doubt. Though she doesn't have a hugh role, it is a movie worth watching.

  • Why the incorrect introduction?

    • Marcheline
    • 10/5/11

    I watched the recent airing of this movie on TCM. The guest host gave a small introduction to the film, saying that Christabel "woos a man away from his fiancee while having a love affair with another man, then goes on to try and seduce her doctor and her lawyer away from their wives."After watching the movie, I am puzzled. In this movie, Christabel has neither a doctor nor a lawyer. The only person she stole from someone else was the rich fiancee.Why would TCM allow such an incorrect introduction to air, I wonder?

  • Born To Be Bad

    • Candi
    • 9/30/11

    I just have a question, Why isn't this movie out on DVD yet. I totally love Robert Ryan and Zachary Scott, this is a must have film.

  • Born to Be Bad (1950)

    • Celia Trimboli
    • 11/8/10

    Good film. Joan Fontaine is great as the conniver spinning a web of lies.

  • Joan Fontaine

    • ginny
    • 10/23/07

    I have never watched a movie starring Joan Fontaine I didn't love. Rebecca is probably my favorite of all movies. Born to be bad, a classic. Suspicion, another Alfred Hitchcock great. Not enough of her movies have been released to DVD.

  • Great Cult Movie

    • Rita
    • 10/16/07

    Joan Fontaine is just fabulous as the conniving Cristabel Caine and Robert Ryan is so hot as her lover. Good performances by all of the cast. Joan Leslie, in a supporting role, is quite good also. I love this movie!

  • What Fun!

    • araminty
    • 9/28/06

    They just don't make em like this anymore. I love settling in with a big bowl of popcorn when this one comes on. Snarky dialogue, racy situations, fun, fun, fun

  • Born to Be Bad

    • Wendy Winkler
    • 7/19/06

    I really like this movie. It is a real hoot. Robert Ryan is great. He gets to say a lot of great lines. This movie may be no Casablanca but it is a fun movie. Mel Ferrer is a delight in this and Joan Leslie is lovely. Joan Fontaine is very good as the two faced Christabel.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.