skip navigation
Nosferatu

Nosferatu(1922)

  • Tuesday, October 28 @ 06:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Nosferatu In this silent film, a... MORE > $19.95 Regularly $19.95 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Nosferatu: A Symphony of Terror

    • Goetan
    • 10/15/13

    The first adaptation of "Dracula" not allowed to be called "Dracula." Schreck gives on of cinema's most iconic performances as the ugly Count Orlac, who drinks the blood of his victims in a small German town. Director Murnau uses actual locations and makes them creepier on film thanks to the art direction and photography. The film is also a piece of propaganda, where Orlac and his "plague" symbolize Russian communism invading Germany. This is an unforgettable, eerie and down-right creepy horror film. I give it a 5/5.

  • Great silent movie

    • magarita
    • 10/13/13

    Good silent movie - historyWe very much love silent moviesWe can read english!BestMargarita

  • Menacing, shivering silence

    • marcia
    • 10/13/13

    Murnau creates a terrifying vision, who has ever captured a more repugnant, yet fascinating character than this version's Vampire?, (not to mention the slimy troll-like real estate agent). Fluid shadows in gray, black, and white, one simply can't turn away from this film. For anyone who has not experienced silent cinema, this is an absolute MUST to start your addiction to the genre!

  • This Is One Of My Favorite Film Adaptations

    • Alex Krajci
    • 10/13/12

    This Is One Of My Favorite Film Adaptations Of The Bram Stoker Novel Dracula, However 1931's Dracula With Bela Lugosi Is My Favorite Film Adaptation Of The Bram Stoker Novel Dracula.

  • Originality to satisfy a copyrighted book

    • Eddie Foster
    • 8/16/12

    I watched this gem today and I couldn't believe how original F.W. Murnau with that vampire. I would've thought it would've been a pressure to try to create an idea based off of a book and the author's family rejecting permission, but Murnau did it with ease and what did we get? A very important film with a fasinating premise. I mean its Dracula but reworked. New names, different kind of vampire, but a similar storyline. I was amazed with Max Shreck. He scared the living crap out of me. Whenever he came on the chill factor rating was a perfect 10. I don't want to spoil any of the film. I want people to find out the difference between this film and the Dracula a lot of us know.There are two versions of this film. One is with the regular music and the other is with the Gothic Industrial Mix. I prefer the original because it helped tell the story the images. The other one is nothing, but noise. But don't take my word for it. I mean I'm just critiquing. Do whatever you please and enjoy your cup of tea. Just check out this movie. Regular music or Gothic Industrial.

  • The first Dracula?

    • Dan Grissom
    • 8/12/12

    Due to copyright issues the main character is Count Graf Orlock but anyone who knows anything about Stoker's 'Dracula' knows who this really is supposed to be. Max Schreck (his real name) is so weird looking it's actually disturbing. If you're used to a suave looking vampire (i.e. Bela Lugosi, Chris Lee) then this movie may not be your thing, but if you want a nightmare on film check out this silent classic! Four Stars.

  • Must see

    • Allyson
    • 8/25/11

    All horror films have had their bar set by this film. It is very frightening and creepy. The camera angles are genius and the lighting, props everything is excellent especially when considering the era in which it was filmed. Who needs CG?!

  • Nosferatu (1922)

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/5/11

    ****

  • Nosferatu

    • Joseph Shell
    • 10/26/10

    This movie is one of the best horror movies ever made,sound or not! Max Shrek is down right scary looking!

  • Nosferatu (1922)

    • James Higgins
    • 1/17/10

    A brilliant silent film, genuinely frightening. The acting is remarkable and the direction is ingenious. A unique film experience, visually stunning. Unforgettable in all ways.

  • this movie was okay

    • haha123
    • 12/16/09

    i think this movie was more drama than horor.if someone thinks this movie is scary then psycho would be a nightmare.in patucular the movie was okay.weird story line.

  • Perfect for Halloween!

    • Gale of Sacramento
    • 10/31/09

    This would have been a great film to show on Silent Sunday for Halloween! Why was it overlooked? I had to settle for IFC's showing of Shadow of the Vampire, a movie about the making of 1922's Nosferatu. Sad.

  • GREAT FILM!

    • Brenda
    • 10/26/09

    I LOVE this film! For 1922 it must have been absolutely frightening. A really well written script and very good actors. The directing and camera work were also superb. The movie-going public were truly robbed when Mr. Murnau was killed so early in his career. I could only imagine the quality of films we may have been privy to had he not been killed. Probably would have given Hitchcock a run for his money! How appropriate for TCM to air this classic for Hallowe'en! Play it again soon!

  • Scary movie

    • Becky
    • 9/28/09

    There are really only 2 movies that scare me. 1. Lon Chaney Sr. version of "Phantom of the Opera" and 2. Nosferatu. Every time I see Nosferatu, it just freaks me out. But it is really good. If you want a real scary movie, definitely watch this. You will not be disappointed.

  • Love it to death

    • Dean
    • 3/25/09

    Max Schreck is so amazing in this film . Imean he's so good that many people still believe he really was a vampire. Come on his name mean Terror in German... literally

  • A Nearly Lost Masterpiece

    • Tanya
    • 3/23/09

    If it wasn't for some amazing luck we all might have never seen this masterpiece. So I feel honored everytime I watch it.

  • The Gothic Masterpiece

    • Rick
    • 3/23/09

    It's impressive how this film is still creepy after nearly 90 years.

  • INSPIRING!

    • Max
    • 3/17/09

    Whta a great film! One that will go down in cinematic history! Had to be the BEST and the FIRST great horror movie of all time! With outsyanding acting by Max Schreck!

  • Sweet Movie

    • CJ
    • 1/31/09

    I think this is one of the best silent movies ever made. This version of Dracula Seems to have that extra somthing that can give anyone the creeps. Prahaps TCM can air it more frequently so everyone can enjoy it.PS: That girl that plays Nina looks like a man in a dress.

  • THE GREATEST EARLY HORROR FILM

    • JC
    • 12/2/07

    SCARY!!!SCARY!!!SCARY!!! Please watch, but be warned, the face of Nosferatu will haunt you for months. Hope you don't have any long hallways!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.