skip navigation
Hollywood My Hometown

Hollywood My Hometown(1965)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Hollywood My... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A 5-star treat!

    • minnie fleur
    • 11/6/14

    Mr. Ken Murray talks to attractive, glamorous stars, & clowns around w/his actual friends; yet he's also an "average guy." His friendly voice is easy to listen to, it's like viewing these clips in his own home. Watch for footage of 1927 LA, & old airplanes, & Mt. Rushmore in progress! The little girl singing to Mr. Murray's son, is the funniest PG film you'll ever watch! My grandpa was from southside Chicago, so we're Sox fans, but I'm stunned-he never told me about the celebrity ballgame at Wrigley in December 1943-MICKEY ROONEY almost got a home run! I wish we could see that whole game.

  • A very important little memoir

    • r
    • 6/11/13

    I've been a 'film buff' all my life. I consider movies prior to the '70's my meat & potatoes. I love film noir, the old melodramas, slapstick,etc. I must confess, as much "TCM" as I've watched over the years this was new to me, and so glad I found it.This is an important bit of Hollywood for those who really enjoy the glamour days of film. And, there are no longer any "real" emcees like Ken Murray, Phil Harris, Ed Sullivan, etc. so it fills that gap a little also. Most fun watching a documentary in a very long time!

  • loved this fil

    • virginia
    • 10/18/12

    loved this filmwould love to have my husband see itwill it be on again

  • HOLLYWOOD MY HOMETOWN....a true cherished treasure

    • Nasser Pazirandeh
    • 10/16/12

    I moved to the Los Angeles area in 1967 as a young boy and spent the next 25 years in LA and am a huge fan of the Hollywood of the 30's, 40's and the 50's. The Ken Murray film "HOLLYWOOD MY HOMETOWN" is truly a treasure and can best be described as 40 minutes of pure delight and proud American history for the three decades that he and Mrs. Murray painstakingly took home movies and pictures of the film industry and its greatest stars and participants. I particularly enjoyed watching the tender moments when talented and under-rated actor Robert Cummings teaches his one-year old daughter how to swin in their home swimming pool and how touching it is to see him with his family. This is a "must see" film for anyone who enjoys classic American films.

    • 10/16/12

  • Hollywood, My Hometown is Just Like Being There

    • Steve
    • 10/16/12

    Mr. Murray's (and his wife's) behind-the-scenes movies of Hollywood life are just wonderful! I felt like I was "there." Looking into the every day lives of these famous people brought so much of their lives into perspective. As beautiful and unapproachable as these movie stars appear to be on screen, they are normal folks off screen, with families and even modest homes. Yes, I could watch this over and over again. I just wish there was a lot more of it! Thank you Mr. Murray.

  • I second the motion for a DVD!

    • Howard J Hunter
    • 8/3/09

    We old folks just loved this show, andknow of others who missed it. So whenwill TCM televise it again... or have itput on a DVD? Are there any other filmsavailable about early Hollywood? What we would do without TCM?

  • fabulous

    • jim eichner
    • 7/27/09

    I saw it and was mezmerized.Great young pics and history for my age group.Please put on dvd.

  • Saw this today and loved it!

    • Jill Hayman
    • 7/24/09

    For those of us who have been in love with the movies all of our lives this was a real treat. I am 51 and was ten or so when the nostalgia craze hit. Like me I am sure many of you have many picture and reference books about stars and films and such and have a hard time coming across something you haven't already seen. Ken Murry was truly on the front lines of early Hollywood dating back to 1927 when he first arrived. This TV special was made in 1965. His perspective and home movies were facinating and I would love to have a copy of this so see not only the stars again but the actual footage of Los Angeles in it's infancy. Someboy put this thing on DVD!

  • Hollywood My Hometown

    • Janie Bowe
    • 9/11/08

    I continue to be amazed at how wonderful TCM is. This 53 minute film is a must-see for all , and especially if you are a Baby Boomer. I could watch it over and over. The unscripted footage of WC Fields and the underwater shots of Bob Cummings baby daughter( and I do mean baby )are things of joy. Please watch. You won't be disappointed. Thank you TCM for the high standards you continue to uphold. Somebody's got to do it, and I thank you. Janie B. Richmond Virginia

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.