skip navigation
Johnny Belinda

Johnny Belinda(1948)

  • Sunday, December 21 @ 10:30 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Monday, January 5 @ 04:45 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Johnny Belinda - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Johnny Belinda

    • Goetan
    • 2/24/14

    A charming, entertaining film. Wyman won a Best Actress Oscar as a deaf-mute farm girl; Ayres, Bickford & Moorehead were nominated for their performances. The story is engaging, although it does have some unintentionally funny scenes. A good film to see from time-to-time. I give it a 3.5/5.

  • Over rated sob story

    • denscul
    • 12/13/13

    The most overated star is the academy winner Jane Wyman, who for once plays a part that she is visually well suited, a rather drab, physically unattractive deaf mute farm girl. Her role is soap opera melodrama. There are three men in her life, and Lew Ayres plays the doctor who is so sweet and proper he doesn't seem human. Charles Bickford and Stephen McNally deserve more credit for making this film's awards possible. McNally was perfectly cast in one of his most sinister roles as rapist and legal kidnapper. When the mute kills him we all cheer. He plays an evil person who has no redeeming qualities. Charles Bickford also plays a believable role as the Mute's father. Since his character is that of a uneducated farmer who is not only lacking a son, but a deaf mute daughter. Calling her a "dummy" was the term most uneducated people used to refer to people who were "dumb",, the accepted term used by even nice people before terms like "vocally and hearing handicapped". Ayers plays his usual idealistic character (a pacifist during WWII when nearly everyone was not). In the real world, I have found few, if any, who have taken an interest in their patients like Ayres character. Hence, my view of the unrealistic tone of this film.

  • First Time Seeing this Film

    • GypsyPi3000
    • 4/11/13

    Unfortunately, I was watching this film during dinner. It really made me sick to my stomach. So, I give accolades to the actors. It's a hearty film to watch. Jane Wyman played her role perfectly. While I was watching her I kept thinking of "The Enchanted Cottage" and it made me want to cry even more.

  • Johnny Belinda (1948)

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 4/8/13

    Funny, I used to always think this movie was about a Brando-esque motorcycle punk named Johnny Belinda. Don't know why ... LOL Anyway, I'm glad to have since discovered it is far from it. This is a really good, touching and moving drama. Jane Wyman deserved her Oscar for such a fine and memorable performance. Lew Ayres is also very good. Loved how the film was set in Canada (for a change). To all fans of this movie, check out "The Story of Esther Costello (1957)," which is also a very good film on a similar theme.

  • I love it!!! Johnny Belinda

    • Kelly
    • 1/5/13

    That make me cried.. When Belinda's father was mudered. She sign "Lord Payer" that's me cried...That great . Actor Jane Wyman...

  • Heartwarming

    • Joe
    • 1/4/13

    Refreshing and heartwarming.

  • Johnny Belinda

    • John W Dudley
    • 9/1/11

    In 1948, I sat down with my deaf family and watched this wonderful movie about Johnny Belinda. Each of us cried our hearts out for this enduring person who was thought to be demonic. It is now 2011 and what wonderful changes have been made for all who are deaf or hard of hearing. Please write to me for more details of my life spent with the Deaf.

  • Loved it

    • chris
    • 8/1/11

    Beautiful, heart-wrenching film. All are superb especially, Wyman and Moorehead.

  • Johnny Belinda - a weak title for a strong movie

    • Dan
    • 12/28/10

    Wonderful acting and photography along with and serious issues of prejudice, rape, class, farming, fishing, Jane Wyman plays a deaf and dumb girl who is forced to have sex with the town bully and her father is later killed by same thug. It's a film I never would have seen but for the accident of turning on TCM at the right moment. The movie is set in a late 1940's coastal fishing village in Canada filled with nice and not so nice characters.This movie even has a Greek chorus of town biddies... how great is that.

  • Filme Excelente

    • Sonia
    • 11/8/10

    O Desempenho de Jane Wymam no filme excelente. O roteiro muito bom e a direo super afinada. No fcil interpretar uma mulher muda que estuprada e que por no conseguir se comunicar queriam que ela no criasse o filho. Uma drama chocante,mas muito bom

  • Johnny Belinda (1948)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 9/12/09

    A very emotional drama, very touchingly filmed. Jane Wyman is excellent as the deaf mute girl. The subject matter is surprisingly bold for 1948. Wyman did win the Oscar that year. The supporting cast is exceptional. Great score.

  • A Subtle and Beautiful Performance

    • Ann Brown
    • 2/20/07

    by Jane Wyman. She does a tremendous job acting with her doe eyes, and is so touching as the terribly handicapped, but intelligent Belinda who is abused by virtually everyone except a kindhearted young doctor. Belinda's touching love for her baby, and her dignity in the face of the townsfolks' cruel and ignorant behavior is triumphant. A beautiful film - enjoy it

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.