skip navigation
Arsenic and Old Lace

Arsenic and Old Lace(1944)

  • Saturday, November 8 @ 08:15 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Arsenic and Old Lace A young man about to be... MORE > $6.99 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Arsenic and Old Lace!

    • PJB
    • 8/13/14

    Classic Dark comedy at it's best! Have been watching this movie for over 50 years and still laugh every time! Cary Grant at his best. The Brewster sisters are awesome! Teddy charging up the stairs. Raymund Massey looking like Boris Karloff and Peter Lorre playing the "good doctor". All will keep you rolling on the floor laughing!

  • Absolutely hilarious!

    • kristi
    • 1/11/14

    I was hysterical when Mortimer screamed as the old man started to drink the wine. Cary Grant's facial expressions are priceless. This is one of the funniest movies I have ever seen!

  • Not Great

    • Alexei
    • 1/11/14

    It's not a bad movie but not a great one. It tries way too hard.

  • Too much of a good thing

    • Don Letta
    • 1/11/14

    I watch this film as much as I can in a vain effort to see something I missed all the times before, But, alas, it's always the same conclusion. Sometime a great cast, story and director do not a great film make. Grant's pratfalls and overblown double-takes grow tiresome somewhere around mid-film, and from then on the bug-eyed overacting from nearly everyone becomes annoyingly boring. Must say, the ladies in the film fare the best. Priscilla Lane was wonderful and Adair and Hull add the right twist to the concept of nievite. The men all needed a hit of decaf.

  • Arsenic & Old Lace

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 10/13/12

    Dark comedy at it's absolute best under Capra's direction. A newlywed drama critic discovers that his aunts have been poisoning lonely men. The entire cast, headed by Grant, is excellent particularly Adair, Hull, Massey & Lorre as the killers. This dark "screwball comedy" demonstrates anti-conformism while the entertainment is macabre, making fun towards love & marriage. An masterfully hilarious film that must be seen. I give it a 5/5.

  • Black comedy

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 8/15/11

    While this movie has a few laughs, chiefly provided by the acrobatic and rubber-faced Grant, it doesn't hold up to repeated viewings. Also, while it is based on a stage play, the movie should have been filmed to look more like a movie than a play. Even the tree outside his house looked like a cheap prop. Watch for Jack Carson in a good bit as a not-too-bright cop.

  • Good Movie

    • Guy
    • 6/5/11

    The acting in this movie is some of the best and Cary Grant shows us again why he was one of the most flexable actors.

  • Funny but...........

    • rob
    • 6/5/11

    Great old movie, very funny, except for Cary Grant who over acts to the max. This was his biggest problem when he attempted comedy. Always fun to watch anyway.

  • Great Movie

    • nshkolnikov
    • 10/20/10

    I love this movie. Its a best all-time comedy. Cary Grant is amazing. Everyone must watch this movie, it will not disappoint.

  • Arsenic and Old Lace

    • Santi44
    • 4/17/10

    If this movie was supposed to be funny, then lol it was great. There was moments where I could not stop laughing.

  • best all-time comedy

    • steve sokol
    • 2/3/10

    this is without a doubt grant's funniest film performance,and that's saying tons about this movie. been watching this movie since the 60's and I never tire of any aspect of this truly great film. people rave about capra's other movies, but none can touch this one.

  • Arsenic and Old Lace (1944)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 10/17/09

    Outstanding comedy that moves at a lightening pace, Cary Grant is brilliant and everyone in the cast is fantastic. Unique, incredibly well written and wonderful. One of the best classic comedies.

  • my all time favorite

    • Melanie
    • 6/4/09

    I watch this movie at least once a week and laugh everytime. Cary Grant's facial expression when he realizes his Aunts KNOW there is a body in the window seat just kills me! I love the emotion he puts into everything he does in this great classic. Prisilla Lane is lovely in this film.

  • For the love of Carey

    • arlene
    • 6/4/09

    When my 10th grade teacher made us read the story of Arsenic and Old Lace back in 1984 I enjoyed it immensely, but when I was told we would see a movie, I thought how can it top the story. Well my love for old movies and Carey Grant stemmed from this movie. I was surprised to how true to the book it was and believable the actors were. I laughed out loud and my associates could not understand my enjoyment. I wanted to see more of Carey and more nostalgic movies. Cary Grants range of characters leaves me breathless and makes me wish he was my Angel. Thanks for making great memories for me by recapturing my youth with this my essential movie.

  • Poisoning Can Be Fun

    • Bob Hendrick
    • 1/16/09

    I must have seen this movie 30 times, and each time I see it I breakup with laughter at the scene when Peter Lorre falls into the window seat. Raymond Massey's performance should be put in a time capsule; and that gorgeous Pricilla Lane! Thank heavens for Frank Capra. They used to call his films "Capra-corn", and he laughed all the way to the bank. Mr. Capra, "where are you now that we need you?"

  • My favorite

    • Beth Ann
    • 11/11/08

    This truly is my fave movie since I was a kid. I have watched it so many times, I thought I would get sick of it. But no way could you get sick of the whole cast. Brilliant. I even named my daughter after Cary Grant, my favorite actor. A must see at anytime, especially at holloween time.

  • This is one zany and hilarious film

    • Cindy
    • 10/31/08

    This is certainly one of my all time favorite films. Every actor in the movie does an expert job. From Cary Grant down to Peter Lorre. They are all great!It grabs you from the very beginning and takes you on one wild ride. This is a good flick to watch on Halloween since it's set on Halloween.

  • Fun to Watch

    • Kim
    • 10/11/08

    Their are not very many film you can say are "Fun" but this ones is the best..I love to watch it around Halloween. Pricilla Lane was an underrated actress I just loved her with Cary Grant. This movie is funny and a little scary at the same time.

  • The Best of Cary Grant!

    • Rebecca Boedeker
    • 3/12/08

    This is Cary Grant's funniest movie of all time! I spent most of it rolling on the ground with laughter. This is a movie for all ages!

  • The best of the best!!!

    • Nicole
    • 11/6/07

    Cary Grant is at his best in Arsenic and Old Lace!! What a terrific performance!! I could watch this movie a hundred times over!!! Not to mention, he's easy on the eyes!!!

  • Excellent

    • Jamie Brown
    • 8/10/07

    This movie is excellent. I even had my teenage daughter fall in love with Mr. Grants acting. He's classic and this movie just shows his talent ten fold! Awesome movie with excellent performances by all the characters! Love IT!!

  • Cary Grant is perfect

    • Pamela
    • 9/15/06

    I LOVE Cary Grant and this is a great movie. Very, very funny and only slightly creepy. Cary's performance is flawless - 5 stars. The performances of the supporting cast were superb as well. The movie gets 4.5 stars becuase to me it seemed to drag a bit in spots. Also, according to TCM's Home Video Vote this title is not available on Home Video. But it is. I've seen it on DVD several places but only in Full Frame. I wish they would release it in Wide Screen.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.