skip navigation
Air Force

Air Force(1943)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Air Force A bomber crew sees World War... MORE > $59.98 Regularly $59.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Propaganda Without Comment, but Enorsement

    • Roy Cotten
    • 5/29/13

    My problem is not with this film but with the introduction to this propaganda film released in 1943 which stressed the truthfulness of this film. The film is alleged to be the true story of the B-17 C, Mary Lou. The film has several propaganda lies, including the landing on Maui, where the plane is attacked by Japanese field hands. When the plane lands at Hickham, the pilots are told that several fruit trucks driven by "Japs" entered the field and drove down the lines of P-40s knocking off their tail. Additionally we are told that the bombardier's sister was shot with a shotgun by the Japanese driver of a fruit truck blocking access to the field. I had not watched this film for many years and I knew it was full of lies about Pearl Harbor, but I had forgotten how outrageous they were. I quit watching the movie at the shotgun story. What I object most about this presentation of "Air Force" was the failure to warn the people who were going to watch the movie that it will be full of lies and propaganda. Even worse was the endorsement of the film as the "true" story of a specific B-17 as alleged by the studio in 1943. Since no B-17 was ever attacked by field hands on Maui, this is not the true story of the "Mary Lou".

  • AIR FORCE

    • Forrest D.Cowan
    • 2/27/13

    I was young at the time and living in Tampa ,Fl. I saw Air Force at the VICTORY theater when it first came out.I lived near Drew Field,and later worked there in the post exchanges.Mc.Dill Field was on an island in the Tampa Bay.The film ran at the same theater [VICTORY] for months,so I saw it again.A good film and a timely one.I look forward to watching it again.F.D.C.

  • Exciting Excellent Propaganda Film.

    • muriel
    • 12/10/12

    At the time it was made, did they really believe that hawaiian Japanese 5th columnists were part of the problem on Dec 7 1941? Or did the film makers make that up for propaganda? Also the Japanese enemy were generally characterised as sneaky fighters lacking real courage or manhood. The "ethnic melting pot" theme in these old movies is so cliched. There is *always* an irishman, a jew, a cynic, and a guy from the Bronx or "Joisy" in these movies. The pilot or commanding officer is always a middle America stalwart WASP. The bitter cynic is almost always John Garfield. That was his stock in trade.But those are the cliches that make a classic propaganda film. Hawks always delivers on great action, teamwork and patriotism.And while some people might complain about the unpleasant stereotypes which US film makers used to portray our enemies, have you seen how the enemy portrayed the USA or Britain in their propaganda? Be assured, just as unpleasantly! Everyone played the same game. Most movies made by any country during WW2 have much the same plots.Some people dismiss these old propaganda movies with smug political correctness, but the movies are usually fascinating in their own right and usually cracking good tales.

  • Sea Battles in Air Force

    • Ron Swartz
    • 12/7/12

    This film was made before much in the way of stock battle footage was available (1943). My father was a special effects/ miniature builder at Warner Brothers during production. They built all the naval ships at the Burbank studio then hauled them by rail to Santa Barbara. The miniature ships varied in size up to twenty plus feet and were powered with small gas engines. Each ship had an operator on board hidden under the super-structure. The battle scenes were choreographed and staged in Santa Barbara Harbor. My Dad skippered a cruiser (I have photos of him in his ship). Battle effects were staged with live explosives and compressed air. The effect of torpedoes streaking towards a ship was achieved by dragging air hoses through the water toward the targeted ship. Full size aircraft flew in the distant background to maintain proper scale. Paul Mantz piloted. The battle scenes appeared in other films one being Action in the North Atlantic. Amazing effects before the days of CG.Following filming the armada of ships was returned to the Burbank studios and stored in the prop sheds until they were destroyed by a studio fire in the early 50's.

  • Leonard Maltin

    • Harold Nash
    • 12/7/12

    Maltin's snide review of this Movie is offensive to me calling it archetypical and his referring to the fried Jap remark.How can you be PC 70 years after the fact.This is 1943 when the Japs were murdering people all over the Pacific and had been since 1933.Today is pearl Harbour day as Roosevelt said this day will live in infamy!Thanks for your time.

  • america need unity

    • mary e. edwards
    • 4/20/12

    I first saw this movie as a kid in the 1950's. I thought it was one of the best movies of all time. Now as a 61 year old I still love it. Most of all it just show me the unity of the men in the movie to get through tuff situation. We need that unity now in America real bad! Mary E.

  • Air Force (1943)

    • FemNavyVet
    • 12/7/10

    We've seen this movie too many times to count; however it just dawned on us after viewing it this morning that it being made in 1943, where did the Japanese in the film come from? Were they Japanese-Americans from interment camps, were they Japanese-Americans that were in the U.S. Armed Forces that weren't allowed to fight and might be in the "media corps?" Anyone have any insight into any of these, and I'm assuming they are Japanese-Americans, that appeared in any of the war movies put out while there was actual war going on? It is a very good war propaganda film; a few military gaffes (we are both veterans), but what do you expect for the time frame it was made. It is an entertaining film.

  • Air Force

    • J.D. Schultz
    • 8/30/10

    Your prayers are answered! On this page DVD; $14.99. I first saw AF while babysitting at neighbor's house on "late night TV", and watch every TCM screening. I must look through VHS library, if no copy, buy DVD. Maybe "Japanese vegetable trucks knocked the tail off every fighter on the line at Hickam" made Yanks feel better about locking up loyal citizens & taking their homes and businesses. I read copy of book from high school library. In early internet days I find dozen copies in North Carolina book sellers' consortium, some signed by REAL Mary Ann crew. I got copy from Amazon for $15. I enjoyed some details like "The peanut butter is running down the Jap's leg who's boring in on me" I think veggie trucks & little dog were not. This film is OUTSTANDING because like They Were Expendable (another WLWhite great read), Band of Brothers, Longest Day, Tuskegee and Tora were mostly REAL guys. "Pearl Harbor" is really crappy.

  • Air Force (1943)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 9/2/09

    Excellent story with a terrific cast, with John Garfield standing out the most. One of the best World War II films, although the story has the usual propaganda angle to it, but it was typical of the time. The story is excellent, and it's rousing with a great score.

  • classic WWII movie.

    • Don
    • 12/7/07

    Good story and great cast. The scenes have a gritty real feel of the Pacific war. Special effects are good for 1943. The only better war movie made during the war is "They Were Expendable". Reference to sabotage by Japanese-Americans very unfortunate and of course, untrue.

  • Passion to live.

    • Denis Drainville
    • 3/1/07

    What a movie, depicting courage and all the high values one can live for, and when you're down...just hang on....

  • Please put this movie on DVD

    • Iris
    • 2/11/07

    When my husband learned that TCM was showing this movie he calendared two months in advance. Unfortunately our church obligations on Sunday precluded him from seeing the entire movie and he had been bummed out since this morning. He told me it was one of the first war movies he saw as a kid and has never forgotten it. Please put it on DVD so I can buy it for him.Thanks,IrisPS Is there anywhere I can purchase this movie?

  • Please Show this again soon!

    • Arlene Giudice
    • 2/11/07

    My Dad, flew in planes exactly like the ones in this movie. He was a Sargeant, Army Air Corp. he was a Rear Gunner and sometimes a Radio Operator. I was moved to tears when I saw this movie, I loved it. I have so many mementos of his years in Service "380th Bombardier Group" stationed in Australia. Wish I could purchase this movie, it is a tribute to all the men who took part in WW2, esp. the Fly Boys. Thanks for showing it.

  • Sadly a movie that is not shown often enough

    • Joe
    • 2/11/07

    For it's time a great morale builder for a country at one of it's lowest moments in history. Showing the can do spirit of men under the worst of conditions.

  • Baby Boomer must see!

    • Victor
    • 11/29/06

    For us baby boomers, whose fathers took part in or were part of the heroic efforts of those who fought in WWII this movie is classic. Unfortunately as time passes the younger generation will find no time or need to view this classic not to mention they will not even have heard of it!This was one of the first movies I saw as a youngster and it still gives me chills when I see it. As a history major I find it of particular interest in the context of the time it was made.It is a shame it has not come out on DVD.Please push to see it does!Thanks.

  • A "Stagecoach" of the air.

    • Frank Tatom
    • 3/26/06

    This film is, in many respects, like Ford's "Stagecoach", with disparate characters thrown together at the beginning of what appears to be a routine trip but which ultimately turns into a struggle for survival. Despite the historical liberties taken, I think the film shows great craftsmanship by the crew and cast.

  • Get it on DVD

    • T
    • 1/18/06

    This movie is a classic. The crew of the plane are what makes the movie.I hope this gets put on DVD real soon.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.