skip navigation
The French Line

The French Line(1954)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The French Line - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Silly!

    • RedRain
    • 6/21/13

    The premise here has been used so much in film that watching even a 1954 film with the same subject is a bit boring. Russell does a LOT of burlesque type of dancing in this film and it becomes obvious very quickly that this was a film designed to show her assets. Gilbert Roland actually makes this film interesting and he is a far better actor than he was given credit for many times.

  • Highly Enjoyable

    • muriel
    • 10/24/12

    A rich girl, afraid someone will marry her for her money, so she poses as a fashion model and wears scanty clothes so someone will marry her for her body instead? OK, very silly plot, but what fun!I could never understand the fuss over Marilyn Monroe when Jane Russell was around: better legs, better figure, better bust, classier looks, better singer and dancer.

  • Jane Russell My Pinup Gal!!

    • Richard Denson
    • 5/18/10

    Jane Russell was my favorite movie star when I was growing up!! I wish this movie was on DVD!!

  • CUTE FILM

    • Lisa Baker
    • 5/18/10

    Fun movie..not great..but fun and Jane is such an appealing star. I've heard about how racy this film was, but based on the other reviews posted here, I guess I'm looking at a censored version. I'll have to check out youtube for the Looking For Trouble number!! And I agree with the other reviews about how bad the quality of the print is. I'm really surprised TCM wouldn't or couldn't air a better version! I'd buy it on DVD if it were restored!

  • The French Line (1953)

    • James Higgins
    • 5/18/10

    Bland musical comedy. None of the musical numbers are very memorable. It seems it was primarily made to show off Jane Russell's full figure, and that it does. I am sure this was a racy film in 1953. It lacks a strong supporting cast, something I feel is important for movies of this genre.

  • LOVING JANE!!

    • Debra
    • 3/11/10

    Watched this movie today and I loved it! Jane Russell was so beautiful and talented. The movie is just cotton candy but Jane somehow makes it believable. A real star and a real woman! I want to own this on DVD but I agree with the other reviews, the picture quality that was shown today was truly terrible -- not up to TCM's usual fine standards - and I'm dying to see the uncensored version of Jane's big number, "Lookin' For Trouble!" SUCH FUN!

  • WOW!

    • Christine
    • 3/10/10

    I only saw about the last 10 minutes of this movie -- so it was just the last two musical numbers. I love love love the costumes. This is what I remember 'grown' women looking like when I was a little girl. I thought we would all grow up to wear those clothes, heels, gloves, etc. Great costumes in the modeling scene. And Jane's number - hubba-hubba. I'd never seen it before.I would buy this movie, just to check out all the costumes and set decorations!

  • DVD PLEASE

    • Lawrence
    • 3/10/10

    YES PLEASE!!! Get this move RESTORED and on DVD!!!! But make sure it contains the COMPLETE UNCUT version of Jane's song, "Lookin' For Trouble." There are THREE versions of this notorious musical number: 1) is a censored version where the entire number is shown in an extreme wide shot, which removes all the bosomy close-ups and cuts Jane's mid-song monologue - this is the version TCM airs. 2) a semi-censored European version that trims down Jane's mid-song monologue and 3) the FULL UNCENSORED version that has close-ups AND the ENTIRE mid-song monologue. PLEASE RELEASE #3-- THE COMPLETE UNCENSORED VERSION!! Just make sure it's the actual complete uncensored version with Jane's full monologue!!TCM..contact me for more details at the email I provided!!!!

  • WHERE CAN I BUY A DVD OF THIS MOVIE?

    • Maria
    • 3/10/10

    I have always loved this movie and watch it every single time it is showing anywhere. It is such a fun, campy and upbeat movie that is very much needed in this rather dreary time. It also showcasses Jane Russell's varied talent. Why does TCM not have the DVD version of this movie? I just added my vote to have a restored and uncensored version available at TCM for purchase. I want to purchase a copy!!

  • WE LOVE JANE RUSSELL!!!

    • Dom
    • 3/10/10

    Dear TCM, We classic film lovers, LOVE Jane Russell -- and this flick is a prime JR/Howard Hughes epic. Originally released in 3D with a steamy, salacious & scandalous (read: HOT) bump and grind dance by Russell, THE FRENCH LINE is a part of film history for challenging the confining grip of the censorship board. So PLEASE, TCM, get on the ball with this film!!! Why, oh why are you still showing a washed out 16mm CENSORED print of this film??? A 35mm UNCENSORED version does exist and was screened a few years back at a 3D festival in Los Angeles. Also a slightly better quality uncensored DVD appears on Ebay every so often. Please start showing the restored, uncensored version on TCM and release it on DVD!!! This is a fun, campy film with the GREAT Jane Russell! Perhaps include "The French Line" in a 3D DVD box set!!!! Come on!! How long do we have to wait??? NOTE: This was posted shortly after TCM aired this film on March 10, 2010.

  • Jane does it again!

    • Patti De Leon
    • 3/10/10

    What a great watch! I love to see anything with Jane in it!

  • Jane Russell We love You !

    • Joe Porrovecchio
    • 9/23/08

    "The French Line" starring Jane Russellis the most memorable showcase for her I have seen.Those of us who saw it in theaters when it was originally released will never forget that infamous Lobby Card in that hottest of hot outfits she wore in the "Lookin' for Trouble" strip number.Condemned by the "Legion of Decency" only made it more enjoyable for me. I was 14.I understand that there was a 3-D version, which I did not see.I would like to have the movie on DVD in a re-mastered version with all the extras that ususally come with classics, including an interview with Jane as she is today. The VHS tape I have has a version of the strip number which was re-shot as a long shot. Please give us the original ! And if poosible, a "suitable for framing" Lobby Card !

  • french line the movie

    • KEVIN ODONNELL
    • 6/8/06

    guys/gals lets get up on the wheel and put this classic out to the public it rivals men prefer blondes alllll day long make it happen do the right thing!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Ah, c'mon.....

    • GeeBee
    • 4/23/06

    With all the mediocity available on DVD today, a campy frolick like this should be on the store shelves. The musical numbrs, and better the lyrics, are clever and deserve to be re-heard. "Out in the moonlight, I pick a man who's nearwe bring along our 6 gun,Just for atmosphere.They ususally do what we say,love me, honor, and obey.....we..only shoot the ones that ain't sincere.."Now that's entertainment.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.