skip navigation
Bringing Up Baby

Bringing Up Baby(1938)

  • Monday, October 13 @ 12:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Monday, December 22 @ 01:15 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Bringing Up Baby A madcap heiress upsets the... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Epitome of Screwball Comedy

    • Ted Fontenot
    • 6/1/14

    Grant hit superstardom with the prior The Awful Truth. He consolidates it with this movie. A great performance, a characterization that is the polar opposite and equal of his Walter Burns in His Girl Friday. There he was a conniving manipulating SOB, who's hilarious; here he's put-upon milquetoast, who's hilarious. As his abuser and stalker Hepburn is surprisingly wonderful. I didn't expect her to be able to play a ditzy heiress on the prowl. She's going to get her man, one way or the other. The only question is will he survive her big game hunt. The plotting, direction, writing, supporting cast--all top notch.

  • All You Need To Know

    • Linda Nitzschke
    • 11/14/13

    Good movie, great cast!

  • Bringing Up Baby

    • John
    • 8/2/13

    Overall-4/5Lead Performers-5/5Supporting Cast-4/5Director-2/5Score-3/5Screenplay-4/5Cinematography-3/5Importance-3/5Recommendation for fans of the genre-4/5

  • It Hooks You

    • Jezebelle
    • 11/5/12

    Bringing Up Baby was the very first Katharine Hepburn film I have ever seen, (shocking, I know) and I loved it, and her in it. I didn't know much about her at the time other then she was this great actress that has withstood the test of time. I was a cinic and thought that nobody could ever be that renowned, or that if they were it was undeserved. Now I humbly eat my thoughts, she is all that they say and more. She was very fun in this movie, cute, nervous, a total wreck, but still with that quintessential sure-of-herself attitude that we love about her. This is a Katharine Hepburn that I don't see often but one that I enjoy wholly. Some say that she was over-the-top and shrill but that's what was so endearing about the character. She embraced her "annoying" quality and made it work. Cary Grant I had known and had seen in a couple of other films and he didn't disappoint. He was in his element as the uptight scientist who couldn't help but fall in love with the scatterbrained girl who turned his world upside down. I think that this movie is very funny and charming in an off-beat kind of way, but it shouldn't be watched in excess. Seen every once in a while this movie is the treat it is meant to be, but seen too often it can become annoying od irritating. I give this movie four out of five stars for its story and characters.

  • Bringing up Baby

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 8/18/12

    This initial flop is the best screwball comedy of all time. Grant & Hepburn are excellent as a stuffy paleontologist & scatty socialite, respectively. The scene-stealers are unquestionably the leopard's who bring so much humour & chaos to the film. Greatly combines screwball ingredients like double entendres & slapstick with Hawksian elements like the women destroying a man's composure & fast-paced dialogue. The best comedy made by Hawks, Grant & Hepburn. I give it a 5/5.

  • Too Much

    • robb
    • 8/17/12

    Like many of his comedy attemepts, Cary Grant is just too much of a not so good thing. His mugging and overacting become irritating as it often does. I didn't look at the time, but it seemed like a very long movie to me.

  • Too Over The Top

    • Muriel
    • 8/17/12

    I liked this when I was a kid, but now it's too much. Hepburn's character is too shrill and frankly annoying. I felt like slapping her. Cary Grant mugs too much. Great supporting cast. There are a few funny scenes, but mostly they just go a little too far and it becomes annoying. Maybe it wasn't so successful in it's day because people felt the way I do.... I don't get the fuss over this one.IMHO, "Twentieth Century" is the quintessential screwball comedy. When the character are over the top, it's OK because they are theatrical hams who thrive on it. It's screwball yet makes sense.

  • Oddly miscast, woefully overrated

    • Mike444
    • 4/16/12

    Silly fluff about wealthy, misguided young heiress Hepburn who falls in love with an uptight scientist. Grant is out of his element as a stiff, introverted professor. There is never any romantic chemistry between the two. I never understood why Grant fell for Hepburn in the end, because quite frankly her character was a complete train wreck. Neither character was particularly likeable, because they were more caricature than real. Baby was also overlong and overly complicated, especially the leopard chase scenes and the dog chase scenes, which were not particularly funny. There is nothing fresh or exciting here and no memorable punchlines. There's really only one funny scene in the entire movie, and that's when Hepburn tears her dress in the middle of a restaurant and Grant tries to cover her behind as she tries her best to ditch him.

  • Bringing Up Baby

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 8/22/11

    Amusing film with good comedic work by Grant and Hepburn. Grant plays the bookish professor quite well, and the scene with Hepburn raking the phone across the fireplace grill is quite funny. The film lags during the part where they are trekking through the bushes looking for Baby long into the night but other than that it is a pretty enjoyable comedy.

  • Bringing Up Baby!

    • Marie
    • 8/20/11

    This movie is one that first enchanted me and made me love classic films. It never ever gets old. After seeing it, my ribs usually ache from laughing so hard. Carey Grant and Kathrine Hepburn are genius in this film. I could watch it again and again. I'm 20 and It makes me sad that kids my age don't often open themselves up to watching these classic films.

  • Bringing up baby

    • V
    • 6/10/11

    The greatest screwball comedy!!!

  • Masterpiece.

    • Chris
    • 5/17/11

    Just superb, every scene, every star. One of my favorites.

  • Fun but........

    • Robb
    • 5/14/11

    This movie is a lot of fun with a great cast, but as often happened in this type of movie, Cary Grant always seems to over act badly. Still worth watching.

  • Bringing Up Baby

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/14/11

    *****

  • Bringing Up Baby

    • Tammy
    • 11/25/10

    This is my all time favorite Classic Movie.Each time I see this film, I laugh at the zaninessof the characters; they are brilliant! Cary Grant & Katherine Hepburn are quite thepair in this movie! I loved him in her night gown;that whole act was hilarious. Classic ending thatseemed just the perfect fit. Of course I thoughtbaby was a beauty and loved that jail act.Heck I loved it from beginning to end and willwatch it each time it comes on air.I recommend this movie to any one who justenjoys a good classic comic film. This one haseverything a classic needs!!

  • madcap fast paced fun!

    • Gary Holt
    • 6/9/10

    I love this movie too! Hard to believe that the box office failure of this GREAT MOVIE got Howard Hawk (the director) FIRED! He did very well after, thank you...and time has born out that his comedic direction was dead on! (and he really directed one of my fav. Sci-Fi thrillers.."The Thing, From Another World!!!)A suggestion for my fellow viewers...don't give away so much of the key plot points!.....and, if you want to catch a "favorite" movie...review TCM's schedule..check the top right under playing on TCM and note the screening times..click "remind me." and TCM will REMIND YOU! you will have a better chance to see your favorite films! Gary Holt

  • BRINGING UP BABY

    • stephanie fleming
    • 3/1/10

    I LOVE THIS MOVIE!!! I FIRST SAW THIS MOVIE 14 YEARS AGO PREGNANT WITH MY SON I'M GLADE HE WAS KICKING THAT NIGHT. LOVE HEP AND GRANT TOGETHER GREAT SIDEKICK, CAN'T WAIT FOR THE NEXT SHOWING

  • Bringing Up Baby (1938)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 8/28/09

    This is certainly one of the funniest and wackiest comedies of all time. The cast is unforgettable, right down to the smallest roles. Lightening fast pace, incredibly well directed and written. A classic gem I could never tire of watching.

  • My favorite movie!

    • Susie
    • 3/28/09

    Its so refreshing to go back and watch the old movies. They just don't make um like that anymore! No Sex, No Violence, No Bad Language. Just hilariously funny!! Cary and Kate are delightful romping around the rural woods of Connecticut chasing George(the wirefox terrier) and Baby(the leopard). I love to watch George, who was also "Asta" in "The Thin Man" movies. George/Asta's real name was "Skippy." Such a great movie! I never miss it when TCM is playing it. Thanks for the laughs and this super movie!!

  • Watch Over and Over!

    • Alison
    • 10/15/08

    I never miss an airing of "Bringing Up Baby". It is the definitive classic Madcap Comedy. The cast is fantastic, including the multi-talented Asta.Grant and Hepburn are at their comedic best and the supporting cast is icing on this fun and endearing cinematic cake. As usual, I'll be tuning in tonight!

  • great movie

    • shirley hansen
    • 8/30/08

    I just watched bringing up baby, and just loved it, and could'nt beleave that at the time it was'nt a box office hit, it was very very funny.

  • Funniest Movie Ever Made!

    • Susie
    • 8/9/08

    I love this movie! It's my very favorite movie of all time! "George" the wire fox terrier (who also plays Asta in "The Thin Man" movies is truly hilarious!!

  • Where hilarity and comic artistry meet!

    • Andrew
    • 1/14/08

    The first "classic" I ever watched and the best example of a comedic pariring you will ever see! Kate and Cary bring you to places you've never dreamed of going. In less than 2 hours, you will be throughly entertained for life. This one's a keeper.

  • "Bringing Up Baby" is a Classic

    • Loretta
    • 2/16/07

    This is the absolute best movie that was ever made!! Katharine Hepburn and Cary Grant do so good together in this movie! I'm a huge Katharine Hepburn fan and now I have all of my close friends watching her. I LOVE how Ms, Hepburn talks and acts. That is what made this movie so great!

  • bringing up baby is a classic jewel.

    • marisha
    • 5/4/06

    bringing up baby is my all time fav, classic movie ever,i love it . i laughed so much . cary grant and katherine hepburn are halirous together. i watch it over and over again i hope its around for my furture children see..

  • bringing up baby..

    • john o'connor
    • 1/18/06

    it's a halirous movie with katherine hepburn and cary grant. it is the most amazing movies in years that i've watch. good combonation with katherine and cary, together they lighten things up and a marvalous movie on classic movies nowadays. thank you for airing it on jan. 18,06 at this very moment i'm watching it hawaii pacific standard time. thank you tcm.... i just love your program. that's all i'm in tune in lately is tcm.... once again, thank you very much!!!!!!!! john o'connor......

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.