skip navigation
Dr. Coppelius

Dr. Coppelius(1968)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Dr. Coppelius - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Ruth Petrinovic was Assistant to the Choreographer

    • John Summers
    • 9/2/13

    Dr. Coppelius is a rare ballet movie starring the teenage ballerina phenomenon at the time, Claudia Corday of the now defunct Harkness Ballet. She's a wonder to behold, technically astounding with a mature acting ability. I was surprised to see that this movie aired on TCM. Looking at the credits though I noticed there was no mention of Ruth Petrinovic who assisted Joanna Kneeland, the choreographer, in rehearsing the corps de ballet. When you see the film, you'll notice the Mazurka in a is huge cast. Getting multitudes of people to dance together takes hours and hours of rehearsal with a very skilled person. The dancing by the corps de ballet is uniform and very clean, all of that you can credit to Ruth C. Petrinovic who was, the official credit should have been listed as, Assistant to the Choreographer. Please include her in the list of credits.

  • I Know it's Supposed to be Good.

    • GypsyPi3000
    • 4/9/13

    In my heart I know the dancing is wonderful, so is the story, and obviously the colors. But I cannot know how this is a comedy. I mean I dread when I see this is on.

  • Dr. Coppelius

    • Mike Nikitenko
    • 5/9/12

    I have to concur with Keith that this is the best production of Coppelia I have ever seen. Watching it with my grandson was a total joy for him as much as me. The beautiful music, the colors, scenery, the comedic gestures made a tremendous impression upon him. TCM, anyway possible to make the movie available on DVD or "On-Demand" for endless enjoyment

  • Dr. Coppelius

    • Keith
    • 5/9/12

    Thank you TCM for showing this. What a delightful program! Some of the best ballet dancing I've ever seen, the wonderful music of Delibes and very wonderful staging and costumes. My wife and I were rivited by it and fortunately recorded it on our DVR so I can make a DVD. We plan to watch this from time to time for an uplifting evening.

  • Dr. Coppelius ("Mysterious House of Dr. C")

    • Feckesh
    • 10/26/11

    Excellent, yet mostly unnoticed by mainstream movie and ballet fans, and most DVD/BlueRay distributors. :(

  • Best ballet for children.

    • Stan Goldstein
    • 10/25/11

    What a beautifull performance by the members of this cast. Tha acting, costumes, make-up and production are all outstanding. The dancers were marvellous as well as the whole music score was very well presented. And, what about the scenes in Coppellia's house? This wonderfull ballet production is a must for DVD presentation for children and adults alike. Please preserve it now. Thanx.

  • Dr. Copelius

    • Richard Friedman
    • 10/24/11

    Release this on DVD, pronto! The color and dancing is a delight, and even not being too familiar with the ballet, the story is clear.Just found this movie today on TCM, and so glad I was home waiting for the plumber!!

  • Enchanting! Please Release onto DVD!

    • Karen Brown
    • 10/24/11

    This film is absolutely enchanting, You do not have to be a balletomine or afficienado to be completely absorbed within the first few scenes. One merely has to have experienced the emotions that are common to all of us: love, longing, jealousy, humor, playfulness...the full range of the human heart is displayed in every gesture of these beautiful dancers. The movements are more evocative than speech could ever be in portraying a plot that is completely understandable by any who have lived on this earth. The storyline is drenched with humor and playfulness, so accurately and compellingly portrayed by the acting of the dancers and the attendant music. The film is a joy; one could watch it repeatedly and still not catch all the subtle jokes and hilarious details. The acting ability of the two female leads is particularly astonishing and thoroughly enjoyable. The quality of the dancing and choreography is first-rate. The set design and lighting are pleasing, fun but not overdone. Apparently the film was originally done with dialogue; the director/producer/writing team then reshot the film using music and dance alone. I cannot imagine that any human speech could add one whit to the present production. Watching the acting done by the dancers compells one to consider how many films would be substantially improved, were the plots entrusted to dance and music alone. Enchanting! I beg TCM to release the film onto DVD.

  • Vote for the DVD!

    • Kathy
    • 10/18/11

    This is a very rare film, which deserves to be preserved on DVD. It combines wonderful ballet, music, romance, comedy and magic, all in vivid color. Don't let this film get lost!

  • DVD please!

    • Lisa
    • 9/20/11

    This movie is wonderful - I hope a DVD will soon be available! The film is unique. I have never seen anything like it. The costumes are beautiful, the dancing is great, and the sets are very elaborate. Dr. Coppelius' house is amazing. The vivid colors of the lighting, in red, blue and gold, is very dramatic. I hope a DVD is issued soon, because this rare film deserves more recognition!

  • Great movie

    • Beverly
    • 9/19/11

    For those that gave never seen this picture before, make sure you catch the second showing in october because this wonderful film is currently not available for purchase. A triumph of music and dance.

  • Good choice!

    • John K.
    • 9/19/11

    A nice dose of culture for TCM viewers. Wonderful music and beautiful dance. I hope I can find the DVD somewhere because I missed the first half.

  • Huh?

    • Bill
    • 9/19/11

    Please TCM! I can't believe you subjected your loyal viewers to this!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.