skip navigation
Blossoms in the Dust

Blossoms in the Dust(1941)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Blossoms in the Dust True-life story of Edna... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $14.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • No such line

    • Gary
    • 2/22/14

    The line "I can cry on the inside" as related in a longer TCM article on this movie does NOT appear in the movie.

  • Blossoms in the Dust

    • Sandy
    • 2/22/14

    Just finished watching this movie. What a great film! I loved every minute of it! Was not expecting to cry, boy did I.

  • Just beautiful in every way!

    • RedRain
    • 2/22/14

    As a born and raised Texan, I can honestly say we are very proud of Edna Gladney! This woman alone is responsible for the adoption laws we have in this country today - no child can be listed as "illegitimate" on a birth certificate or any legal document, adopted children can now inherit the same as biological children and adoption papers are secret by law. She placed over 10,000 children with families through adoption and her work continues to this day. Greer Garson gives a signature performance in the role of Edna Gladney and she justly was nominated for the Academy Award for her work here and Walter Pigeon is wonderful as her husband, Sam. The color cinematography is just gorgeous in this film and I love seeing Garson's flaming red hair shine! For me, the pointedly important moment in this film is Edna Gladney telling a prospective adopting couple of all the famous people, including four of our United States Presidents, who were orphaned. Mrs. Gladney instinctively knew that being orphaned did not mean you were doomed to a low station in life. Felix Bressart, the brilliant character actor who usually played a comedic role, is the constant presence in this film as Dr. Breslar who cares for the children and their health until they are adopted. I fully realize that much of this film is fiction; however, the basis for the film, the work of Edna Gladney, the work which has affected millions of adopted children, is a truth and this film deserves more kudos than it is given, as it serves to remind us of how one person can change the world!

  • More than just a movie to me

    • Michele Davis
    • 8/20/11

    My mother was adopted from "The Texas Children's Home and Aid Society" in 1922. When Mrs. Gladney was overseeing the making of "Blossoms in the Dust" she invited my grandmother and mother to visit the set, which they did. It was a very moving experience for them. Mrs. Gladney did so much for so many. This movie is a fitting tribute to her. I was unaware of my connection to Edna Gladney when I saw this movie for the first time. I cried all the way through it. When it ended, still in tears, I called my mother to tell her about this wonderful and tragic movie I had just watched. She told me for the first time about her connection. I think I cried for two days. I can't imagine any other actress in this part, she's wonderful.

  • Blossoms in the Dust

    • Lisa Vaughan
    • 2/8/11

    I loved this movie. My grandparents were parents at children's homes in the 60's and 70's in Texas. I visited the homes as a child. TCM is my favorite channel, but why are the good movies on during the day when I work and swashbuklers, war movies and newer, color ones at night? I love the movies played during the day so much more.

  • Excelente

    • Sonia
    • 12/8/10

    Este filme excelente. O roteiro e Greer Garson est maravilhosa no filme com um timo desempenho. Um filme excelente e emocionante.

  • CAN'T WATCH @ 6:30AM, I WORK!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Mary
    • 12/24/09

    This is one of my FAVORITE movie of all time! Greer Garson performance was exceptional, she made cry, just from an expression, or the way to speak. Unfortunately, I'm here watching the brief trailer. If you're going to put great movies on @ 6:30am, there should be a repeat play later in the evening. I guess I'll have to wait until another year or more before it airs again.

  • LIFE GAVE LEMONS - EDNA MADE "LEMONADE"

    • Jordan
    • 10/6/09

    Seeing Greer Garson in a Technicolor movie, "Blossoms In The Dust" gave us an opportunity to appreciate her beauty and copper colored hair. This true story has its moments of sadness and great joy. Seems that Edna's life compares with Job's from the Bible. Losing family, home and business before becoming a challenger for orphan children's rights. Fondly we see Richard Nichols portraying Sammy, Edna and Sam's short lived son. Walter Pidgeon is enjoyable though he only appears for half of the movie. Kudos, for people who are willing to fight the old school thoughts and progress forward, albeit sometimes at their own happiness expense.

  • One of the Best Tear Jerkers of all Time

    • bananacurlgirl
    • 10/3/09

    I thought I saw this movie so I wasn't going to record it. But a Greer Garson & Walter Pidgeon film is one of my favorites and that is why I thought I saw this before. So today I finally watched it expecting the same MGM stuff.....and boy oh boy was I surprised!! It was another weepy, weepy, weepy, film up there with "RANDOM HARVEST" without the man in the end....and I cried my eyes out. Greer Garson was absoultley phenonmenal in this part. I would recommend this to anyone who loves soaper films. My brother has 3 little girls and he is partly bringing them up on the "old stuff" and he asks me what little gems he could record for them and HOLY COW I can't wait to tell him about this one. Just Wonderful.

  • Blossoms in the Dust (1941)

    • Jay
    • 3/17/09

    I like this film more than most. Greer Garson is wonderful. It's a heartwarming story, beautifully produced, well written and directed. Greer Garson and Walter Pidgeon have such a special chemistry together.

  • What Greatness!

    • April Sanz
    • 10/30/08

    It's the best technicolor film Greer and Walter played on together. I just love their tandem! I am so in love with them!

  • FAY, THANK YOU!!!

    • Danhy
    • 6/18/08

    To Fay,Thank you for the website for hard to find movies. It's wonderful!!!

  • A release for this movie

    • Fay
    • 5/31/08

    I have recently discovered there is a release of this movie on DVD. Anyone who would like to have it should go to http://www.themave.com and buy it. There is a large selection of hard to find classic movies on DVD and on video. I purchased this movie a few days ago myself and I loved it.

  • why not ......

    • penny
    • 5/18/08

    ilove this movie i could watch it over and over again.

  • Beautiful true story

    • Danhy
    • 9/24/07

    This is one movie that definitely deserves to be available on video. I can't believe it isn't yet!

  • We need to remember

    • Laura
    • 7/31/06

    Excellent movie. I really want it to show to younger child welfare social workers. Is there any way to get a copy of the movie?

  • Put on DVD

    • Carlene
    • 6/23/06

    I want a video of this film..it is my mothers favorite movie..she is 86 years old and I can not find it for her..thank you

  • This time "discrimination" against children

    • Deja vu
    • 2/3/06

    This movie is a stark reminder that "foundlings" and orphans were once stigmatized as "illigitimate" and innocent children, the target of discrimination. Again, it took reform legislation championed by a women with nochildren of her own to right the wrong.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.