skip navigation
Saratoga

Saratoga(1937)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Saratoga - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Saratoga 1937

    • ajtllc
    • 6/6/14

    Hey look at this film has more of a Hollywood history lesson than entertainment.one thing you always know about Hollywood is that even the stars death will not stop prodI've always admired Jean Harlow,uction of the. film, if enough of the budget has already been spent. I've always admired Jean Harlow and her films,but you must watch this movie as I did with open eyes.When you know the back story about the film, you forgive the factthat it was not her best work.

  • in Hollywood you're alive even after your dead.

    • ajtllc
    • 6/6/14

    Ilook at this movie,as more of a chilling history lesson as to how fleeting life is to all, the great the near great, The Kings and the common man. It's not the movie that kept me entertained, its the fact that in Hollywood even the stars death won't stop the production of A film.

  • final swan song

    • george snedker
    • 7/5/12

    last film of harlow is today really a curio piece trying to spot her uncompleted scenes.very sad but at least her swan song was with her greatest co-star in gable

  • Love that Hattie McDaniel

    • Mark Ingram
    • 1/29/12

    I hadn't seen Saratoga for several years, so it was a welcomed treat on a cold saturday night. It is sad to think of the tragedy of Jean Harlow's death during the production of this film, and the effect it must have had on the cast and crew. For me it's wonderful to see the great Hattie McDaniel (unfortunately listed as Hattie McDaniels) in a featured role and holding her own against a strong cast. Her inclusion in 'The Horse with the Deamy Eyes' musical interlude aboard the train with Harlow, Gable and Una Merkel is noteworthy as black performers at this time were not usually or so easily integrated and/or included in a lighthearted social scene with white characters. Hattie's career was gaining great momentum at this period, especially at MGM. Previously featured with Harlow and Gable in MGM's China Seas (1935) in a brilliant comic turn as Harlow's maid and travelling companion Isabel McCarthy, Saratoga marks the 2nd of 3 times she would appear in a Gable film. It is said that the two developed a friendship and that Gable was instrumental in Hattie securing the Oscar winning role of Mammy in MGM's Gone With the Wind (1939). Catch Hattie in TCM's airings of MGM's The Shining Hour (1938) and The Shopworn Angel (Hattie is 4th billed after Margaret Sullivan, James Stewart & Walter Pidgeon in this 1938 release) and see this great supporting actress hitting her stride.

  • Saratoga

    • Kathy
    • 7/12/11

    I think it is sad that this has not been put on dvd and something should be done about it. Inspite of her failing health I believe Jean gave an outstanding performance in this film and it deserves to be restored for historical film value and well as entertainment. Marvelous supporting cast and Gable is wonderful. Please see that this is placed on DVD as Turner does it the best.

  • Saratoga

    • Bill Paquette
    • 8/22/10

    It is long overdue to make this very nice little movie available on DVD. There are so many lesser movies that have been transferred to this medium and I can see no reason why a movie with Clark Gable and Jean Harlow should not be available. It was Ms Harlow's swan song and she and Clark made magic when they appeared together. Frank Morgan is always a gem, as are all of the rest of this supporting cast. It is a fun story about a romantic time and place in the history of horse racing and Saratoga was the jewel in the crown of the sport of kings. It still retains some of that whimsey. For the sake of those of us who love classic films and all of us who live and love Saratoga every summer, please put out a DVD of this delightful pice of film noir. We have all been waiting a long time. Keep up the great work at TCM. It is the best.

  • Saratoga (1937)

    • James Higgins
    • 2/11/10

    Very sadly, Jean Harlow's last film. She died while in production. It's not among her best films, but it is still very entertaining. Her and Clark Gable always had amazing chemistry, so they are a pleasure to watch. Snappy dialogue and a fine supporting cast.

  • From a film noir fan

    • Bill Mathis
    • 5/28/09

    I couldn't stop the movie until it was over. My curiosity about this production after the tragic loss of Miss Harlow got the best of me. I was most impressed with the direction. And, I'm really a film noir fan!The on-screen magic of Gable and Harlow was most evident in this movie. I couldn't help but think much of his laughter was so very real. It was a delightful romantic 'hold on to your reins' romp as two opposites try to deny their obvious feelings. The supporting cast, Barrymore, Pidgeon, Ms. McDaniels, and Morgan were great choices for their characters. I'm a fan of all of them, even Margaret Hamilton, in spite of the small part she played.In spite of the tragedy surrounding the movie, it was beautifully done and well worth the viewing.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.