skip navigation
Never Say Goodbye

Never Say Goodbye(1946)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Never Say Goodbye A husband tries to win back... MORE > $12.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • ABSOTIVELY DELIGHTFUL!!

    • el debbo
    • 1/18/14

    Who knew Eleanor or Errol would be so good at comedy? This is a terrific, happy movie, full of laughs, beautiful clothes and fabulous set design. The supporting actors are good, too, even little 'Flip'. It's a wonderfully convoluted love story that keeps moving right along, no boredom here, with lots of laughs along the way. When you want the world to go away, curl up with your blankie and watch this one! 5 stars!

  • Never say goodbye

    • Maxiecoper01
    • 7/18/13

    This movie is timeless. Great for the whole family. Errol Flynn is superb. Wow, he really was sooo talented. He really had such a great sense of humor therefore he makes it all look so easy. Gorgeous, funny and a great actor. He had the whole package. I agree with the other reviews, the chemistry between Errol and Eleanor Parker is just perfect. Patti Brady is adorable and really looks like she could be their real daughter. I've seen just about all of ERROL FLYNN'S MOVIES AND THIS IS TRULY ONE OF HIS BEST PERFORMANCES. Don't miss it, a real gem!!!

  • Kapo

    • Cate Shaw-Kilpatrick
    • 6/11/13

    I've seen a lot of WWII movies in my time, some of them military, some of them covering a personal side. But I've NEVER seen a movie like Kapo. It covers a part of the War a lot of people don't know about: the Work Camps the Nazis used to imprison and abuse non-Jewish people they didn't like.That would include Scientists, Musicians,, Intellectuals, Homosexuals, any Gentile other than a German...these folks went to the Work Camps rather than the outright Concentration Camps like Dauchau and Auswich. That's what makes this movie so rich and compelling. In short, it's about a young (14) Jewish girl who is swept up in a Nazi snare with her parents and taken to a "camp". She escapes, thanks to a woman in the barrack, her parents do not. She witnesses her parents being marched to the gas chamber. One of the most chilling cinematic scenes ever. Thanks to another prisioner, a Doctor, she is given a new indentity and told to forget she was ever Jewish. She begins her new life of survival of the fittest with vigor. She eventually becomes "Kapo", which is the title for the entitled prisoners who rule the other prisoners, and literally hold sway of their life or death. Over the course of a couple of years the girl climbs (over the bodies of several of her only true friends) to the top job of Kapo of the camp. She is barely 16. She still sees things as survival only...no moral objections, at all, thank you. She is alive, that is all that counts for her. Watch this movie. I can't believe the movie god only gave this film 2 stars and called it a melodrama. It portrays WWII as few movies do...personal, up-close and ugly, with true redemption at the end. One of the BEST.

  • Cute movie

    • Cantie
    • 12/21/12

    Don't miss the part when Errol Flynn tries to play tough guy, and the voice you hear is Humphrey Bogart's!

  • Never Say Goodbye-Wow

    • Dan Phillips
    • 12/7/12

    Let's just be blunt...if you want to see an abundance of good looking (and I mean good looking AND classy) babes-then this is THE movie to watch. And, of course, it would have to be an Errol Flynn movie.Errol is at his charming best, and it is so easy to see why oh why he was regarded as charming; just read one of his books to persuade yourself of his easy, interesting and witty command of the language.Plus, all the buttons of the not over the top precocious girl, the Marine, and Errol doing slapstick.The movie is a GEM. And a Christmas movie to boot-for the whole family-although I daresay each member will be watching for different reasons.

  • Lovely light-hearted gem throughout!

    • Tracey
    • 1/8/12

    Errol Flynn and Eleanor Parker are the ideal couple in this romantic comedy that sees two made-for people find their way back to each other, courtesy of their adorable yet wiser-than-seven-years-of-age daughter, played by new-comer Patti Brady. Seems the old story of love refusing to be denied (the back bone of most romantic comedies) comes to the fore again, yet with a gentle touch and sweetness that makes this Warner Bros. effort very easy to enjoy. Never too heavy on the romance, yet without going too overboard on the comedic side, this film has a wonderful balance of all the elements that combine for success. That it's set mainly around Christmastime (though not focused on Christmas) is another plus, as there is never too great an amount of enjoyable films set at that holiday. The effort that both the leads offer shows them to be quite in tune with another, underplaying their roles in a way that adds to the believability of the story. Flynn is especially successful, his subtlety serving him and the film very well. That he was born with comedic timing is never more evident than in his portrayl of Phil Gayley, and makes one wish Flynn was given more opportunity to play this genre rather than his typical rapier-wielding epics. He could well have earned a reputation for such films equal to the other handsome devil of the day, Cary Grant. Regardless, this film has a wonderful look and is beautifully presented, with all the usually overlooked components (score, direction, sets/props, and most signifacantly the supporting players) coming together to create a wonderful and too overlooked gem of a movie. If you want to enjoy a film and come away from it with a very happy mood, this is the one for you.

  • one of Errol's best

    • Kathie
    • 12/11/11

    I think this is one of Errol Flynn's best movies. It is a fast-paced and funny romp. It has a great cast, including Cuddles Sakall, Lucille Watson, Eleanor Parker and Forrest Tucker. It is a great Christmas movie but doesn't seem to make it into the Christmas line-up too often. I wish TCM would show this more often (and not in the middle of the night or early morning either). I try to catch it on the rare occasions it is shown. I'm glad to see it has made it to DVD.

  • funny movie

    • april
    • 6/21/11

    a MUST SEE movie-very funny:)

  • Never Say Goodbye

    • charlene
    • 9/5/10

    Love this movie but cannot find it on DVD. Can anyone help me?

  • Flynn and Parker

    • r. geiser
    • 6/26/10

    This is one of Errol Flynn's best performances. The chemistry of all the cast member's is great. The movie is relevant for every generation. It shows the problems that arrise from a divorce or separation, especially for the children. And if gives hope to those who want to reconcile even if it is just a movie. This is a heartwarming and very funny movie and should be on dvd. Hope to see it on dvd very soon.

  • What a Treat!

    • padubo
    • 12/31/09

    Where has this film been hiding? I happened across this delightful family "Christmas" comedy this year. It's an Errol Flynn I'd never seen and taped it because I really enjoy him in romantic comedy. But this more than that; everyone in the cast puts in an excellent performance. The chemistry between Eleanor Parker and Flynn is surprisingly strong. And they all have wonderful scenes with the child actress Patti Brady who carries her part of the precocious child without being simperingly sweet. I'd love to give this as a gift; it needs to be on home video.

  • Errol & Cuddles

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 12/18/09

    First, I love S.Z. ('Cuddles') Sakall. He lights up in any scene he's in. I think this is the second film he and Errol made together. They appeared a year earlier in the western 'San Antonio,' which had some comic elements. But this film is an all-out comedy, and there are some goofy and hilarious moments. The chemistry is good between Errol and Eleanor Parker, and the child actress who plays the daughter is convincing. (Errol had two daughters born around this time in the 40s, and a third to be born in the following decade). So it's nice to see Errol interact with a kid and the childlike and loveable Cuddles Sakall. The story is a screwball romantic comedy, and the script by director James Kern (of 'I Love Lucy' fame) covers a lot of Freudian angles.

  • the best family movie.

    • angela williams
    • 6/20/08

    i really enjoyed the movie it was great i could;nt get going this morning because i got struck watching this movies, i love black and white movies, this is classic and class they don;t make movies, like this anymore everymore, i love this movie i hope yuo all put it on dvd soon.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.