skip navigation
Wings

Wings(1927)

  • Sunday, February 1 @ 10:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Wings In this silent film, romantic... MORE > $19.94 Regularly $19.94 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • One Of My Favorite Films

    • Alex Krajci
    • 7/17/13

    1927's Wings Is One Of My Favorite Films, I Like It Because It Came Out In 1927, That Was Also The Year When Another One Of My Favorite Films Sunrise Came Out.

  • Wow!

    • Pat Temple
    • 2/20/13

    This is a great movie. It kept me up past my bedtime because I just could not stop watching, even though I had intended to record some of it. The love story was a little sappy, but war story was absolutely riveting. The flight scenes were so well done and realistic that I could not believe I was watching a movie that is 85 years old. It affected me in a way that no other movie has affected me in a very long time. The restoration is superb. It looks like it was shot last week. Just a great movie experience; winner of the first best picture Oscar, and much better than many that followed.

  • Wings

    • Dashiell B.
    • 2/13/13

    The first film to win the Academy Award for Best Picture. Rogers' protagonist is a dim-wit at times, Arlen & Bow give great performances and Gary Cooper became a major star after this film. The aerial fights won an Oscar for enginering effects and there the reason to see this film. The story, though touching & humanistic, is too long. I give it a 4/5.

  • Deserving of the first Oscar

    • Dan Grissom
    • 8/12/12

    I've only watched this movie one time all the way through but it sticks in my mind for some reason. Clara Bow's films are sadly not really available to watch to see what all the fuss was about but this film gives a pretty good idea of why the public loved her so much. The special effects for 1927 are amazing and hold up well today. This movie earned the best picture award and is definitely worthy of that honor. Four stars!

  • Wings (1927)

    • Rich
    • 3/5/11

    Wings flies as high as anything produced before and since it's time. I first saw this film 10 years ago when I began collecting every Best Picture winner and it's still one of the best choices to have won in that category. One of the reasons why Wings works is because of it's director, William A. Wellman, a WW1 aviator himself. He paints a vivid picture of what it must have been like to be up on the high seas of Heaven, intoxicated by the view below, and constantly wide open to the hands of Death. He creates an intimate portrait of several interesting characters played by Clara Bow, Buddy Rogers, Richard Arlen, and El Brendel that is rarely seen in films since. The aerial battles are fantastic, nuff said. The acting in this film is very well done for a silent film. It can be a little over-the-top at times, but it's a silent film, deal with it!My personal favorite character in this film is Herman Schwimpf (played by El Brendel). If I were in the army, I think I'd end up being a lot like him. I'm a bit of a dunce at times. It's always nice to see some lightheartedness in a war film, because even in the worst of times one must find a way to get by, and laughter is always the best medicine.Seeing Wings today is a real treat. In addition to my VHS of it, I recently purchased a copy on laserdisc, which looked fantastic when played on my Epson projector. If more people were to overlook the fact that this is a silent movie and sit and watch it, I can guarantee they'll be pleased. It's more than just the first Best Picture Oscar winner, it's a great film and great entertainment for anyone who wants to watch a good movie. I was kicking myself for missing the TCM showing of this film, but when I found out that it didn't have Gaylord Carter's organ score (the one used in all video versions), I didn't feel so bad.

  • Wings (1927)

    • Ralph Hornberger
    • 2/10/11

    I have, unfortunately, never been able to see this movie in its entirety, so I would dearly like to purchase a DVD of it so that I could watch it uninterrupted. Despite its age, almost 90 years old, I feel that it holds up very well against its more modern counterparts: If anything, it feels less contrived than any number of films that are released today. There is an honesty about it that newer films are often lacking.I have no idea what is required to have a film of this age released on DVD, but if "The High and The Mighty" could finally be released, then I would think that "Wings(1927)" could be released as well.Thank you.

  • Wings 1927

    • Denny Super-Witwer
    • 2/7/11

    I love this movie! I am a huge Buddy Rogers fan. The air fights are fantastic and amazing to see. It is a must see for those who are into WWI history and silent film history as well. It was the first film to win the Oscar for best film. This movie should be officially released on DVD!!!

  • Wings (1927) on DVD

    • Jeffrey Kenison
    • 2/6/11

    I would enjoy this movie on DVD too. After all, it won the first Academy Award for best picture and other Oscars. Plus, it stars Clara Bow and Gary Cooper (in a small role).

  • Wings (1927) Airing/DVD

    • John Dallair
    • 6/22/09

    TCM has already aired this magnificent movie more than once. Please show it again!If you can cablecast it why can't you sell the DVD? How many more votes do you need to have it available for home Video?

  • Wings (1927)

    • Jay
    • 1/26/09

    What an amazing film, some truly spectacular action sequences. The special effects for 1927 are excellent and still enthralling. Great story, always interesting.

  • Why isin't this on DVD?

    • CJ
    • 7/29/08

    This was a great movie. Ive seen a fiew silent films before but none were as entertaning as Wings. I would love to buy the DVD when it comes out.

  • Family history includes Wings

    • C. J. D.
    • 5/30/08

    On the second last night of a month-long free preview of TCM, I happened to notice around 2 a.m. a listing for Wings to be shown at 5 a.m., a movie I'd heard of but never seen. In my father-in-law's home in San Antonio there always hung a picture of him in leather flight jacket, helmet and goggles. This picture was apparently taken at the time Wings was being shot. My father-in-law, a member of the Army Air Corps stationed in San Antonio, flew the plane for Richard Arlen when he was depicted in flight scenes. Apparently he and Arlen became friends and kept in touch for years afterward. It was a thrill to at last see what all the talk was about. I thought it was a very good movie, and I had no idea many others felt the same until coming to this website. If it is ever made available on home video I'll be first in line to buy it.

  • Where can I buy this Wonderful Film?

    • James Bath
    • 5/27/08

    This brilliant film clearly shows that great movie-making is not dependent upon sophisticated modern technology. I defy anyone to find anything today that can match its richness and creative use of scenery.Is it possible to purchase this film on DVD somewhere?

  • great ww1 movie

    • sam canedo
    • 2/6/08

    i love the action scenes they are very realistic. William welmans attention to detail in the flying scenes was fantastic. The movie is equal to Hells Angels and Dawn Patrol. I enjoyed seeing it again. Thanks TCM.,

  • Very enjoyable movie!

    • Linda May
    • 2/5/08

    My husband and I love silent movies,and after hearing about "Wings" for years, we finally got to see it. Thanks, TCM! I guess we both blinked, but we missed seeing Gary Cooper. Robert Osborne said it was a bit part for Cooper. Please play this movie again, so we can look for Coop again!

  • One of the Best Silent Films by far!

    • Polly
    • 2/4/08

    Sure I have seen great silent films like: That Phantom of the Oprea, Broken Blossems, and Orphans of the Strom. But this would have to be the greatest!!! Clara Bow, Buddy Rodgers, and Richard Arlen are great in this film. I hope this comes out on DVD soon becasue in my onpinon it is one of the best silent films of all time. (Though I haven't seen very many.

  • Why Not WINGS on DVD??

    • CJ
    • 1/8/08

    It beats me why the 1929 winner of Best Picture and one of the very few 'authentic' WW1 flying pix has not yet made it to DVD.I have a well-watched copy on VHS with original Wurlitzer organ soundtrack - but I can't watch it anymore as I no longer have a VCR.

  • I want my Wings

    • John Durstewitz
    • 12/10/07

    I was born in 1925 and was two years old when I saw Wings. I don't remember much of it but it must have impressed me because I have wanted to see it again for many years. Considering that it won the first Academy Award it's hard to believe that it hasn't been on TCM before this. I'm looking forward to buying a DVD of it when it becomes available. I wonder if seeing Wings had anything to do with me becoming a Naval Aviator during WWII.

  • WINGS

    • Ralf
    • 8/27/07

    Is it possible to see this movie in the Long Beach, CA area

  • Wings

    • Ralph
    • 8/27/07

    Is it possible for me to see this movie in the Long Beach area.

  • A Thrilling Adventure!

    • Jennifer Rogers
    • 8/27/06

    Wings is a great epic film experience, winner of the first Academy Awards for "Best Picture". It combines the ingredients of a classic "buddy picture" story line, romance, unrequited love and some of the most thrilling aerial combat scenes ever filmed. The technical quality of the dogfight scenes far surpassed the standard movie of the day.Charles "Buddy" Rogers and Richard Arlen turn in appealing performances. Clara Bow is simply luminescent as the girl next door confronted with the realities of war. It is good for younger viewers to see that even then there were spunky and courgeous women being portrayed in the movies. I first saw it in a crowded Riviera Theater, a classic movie palace in the 1980's--and the audience,ranging in age from teens to senior citizens loved every minute!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.