skip navigation
Where the Boys Are

Where the Boys Are(1960)

  • Wednesday, January 14 @ 06:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Sunday, March 15 @ 06:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Where the Boys Are College coeds go looking for... MORE > $12.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • One of my stranded on a desert island movies

    • Suz
    • 3/23/14

    OK, its corny and very dated, but it is one movie I have to watch at least once a year. I love Dolores Hart in this and Paula Prentice with Jim Hutton are a funny, sappy duo. Come on, after the long cold winter, watching this movie every April brings back the 50's innocence at the beach, steamrolling into the 60's love, sex rock and roll era. Also Merritt Andrews breaking into being an independent women, but showing its also OK to find your soul mate along the way.

  • Good picture

    • Monsignor Myers
    • 11/10/13

    Love this movie. I remember the days of yore in Lauderdale before I became a priest- the harmless antics of adolescence like jumping into the pool from the motel balcony and getting loaded.

  • Good film

    • Cher
    • 11/10/13

    Love this film. When I look at the beautiful sunrises over the Atlantic ocean while staying in Lauderdale sipping my Shirley Temple I think of this movie

  • Good film

    • Cher
    • 11/10/13

    I loved the film. It is hilarious. I had a condo on the beach in Fort Lauderdale and I always remember the movie when I come down to Florida and stay in my million dollar place overlooking the beautiful blue waters.....

  • Best movie

    • Joseph
    • 11/10/13

    Where the Boys Are has some good acting and I love the title song. The young man that goes into the tank to rescue the mermaid is very funny/ I laughed outloud.... I live near Fort Lauderdale and I think that this film is very complimentary of the Florida city.... George Hamilton is young and handsome and Connie Francis makes an excellent debut... a fun movie....

  • where the boys are

    • mickey
    • 10/12/13

    love, love, love this movie, it was my time then, the 1984 one is nothing compaired to the 1960 one. will watch it again on nov. 13.

  • Response To olivia 5/28/12

    • Paul L.
    • 10/8/13

    A) No, Richard Benjamin was not in WTBA. Paula Prentiss did meet Richard Benjamin while studying Drama at Northwestern in 1958. Prentiss and actor/director, Richard Benjamin, wed on October 26, 1961.B) No, that is not Timothy Hutton. Jim Hutton, the actor in WTBA, was the father of Timothy Hutton. Timothy Hutton won the Oscar for Best Actor for his work in the 1980 film: Ordinary People. Timothy would marry actress Debra Winger. Jim would succumb to cancer in 1979.In Jim Hutton's early career, he was romantically paired with Paula Prentiss in 4 consecutive films: Where the Boys Are; The Honeymoon Machine; Bachelor in Paradise and The Horizontal Lieutenant.

  • Still A good Movie

    • Dan
    • 12/9/12

    I'm A BIG fan of "Where the Boys Are '84:(1984) Lisa Hartman, Lorna Luft(Judy Garland's Daughter), Wendy Schaal, Lynn-Holly Johnson, Russell Todd, Christopher McDonald, Alana Stewart But it's alot more racy!!! then this verion Of" Where the boys are (1960) BUT It was just the times ( I was a in college in the 84 And believe me, it was LIKE that down there) BUT 1960 verion is STILL A GREAT Movie....... Where the boys are "84" verion was hard to came by " something to do with copy rights" But you can now buy It on DVD @ amazon.com

  • aching hearts and plenty of hormones

    • olivia
    • 5/28/12

    Loved the movie! Paula prentis was great and wasn't her husband, Richard Benjamen in the film?Also, I think that "Jim" Hutton was actually " Timothy Hutton....too good of an actor to miss his name.loved Connie Stevens singing and acting.

  • Memories...

    • Alice
    • 4/17/12

    Boy, does this film bring back my Jr. College spring breaks. Ours were spent at the Gulf beaches of Florida. Lots less people, no fancy bars or clubs. But, lots of beer and more; lots of dancing, and yes, making -out. All of this at small "beach bars" and peoples' houses. Yes, this film is a pretty accurate example of those transitional times that were, "the 60's". A great film. Thank you, TCM, for the treat.

  • The "teen" movie comes into its own.

    • DougieB
    • 1/29/12

    It's anthemic title song aside, this movie has earned instant name recognition on its own. As the decade was turning from the 1950's to the 1960's, so was the emphasis for teen films turning from "bad", troubled kids in the kind of film meant to reassure adults that their standards still held, to a more easy-going celebration of youth culture that fully intended to sidestep, if not subvert those standards. There isn't a high school Caesar or reform school girl in sight and this movie inaugurated the new decade with a new teen prototype and as fresh-faced a cast of newcomers as such a movie could hope for. The college classroom discussion of "contemporary" sexual habits offers little other than a few token buzzwords, but it sets up the context for the real-life relationships which unfold as the movie progresses and allows us to view their behavior in terms which aren't simply moralistic. It's this new willingness..insistence, actually..in viewing these relationships as a path to self-discovery and not the road to hell which allows the film to claim the moral high road at the same time as it checks out the low road. By modern standards, it no longer seems even particularly titillating, let alone ground-breaking, but make no mistake. It was an important minor step in a decade-long look at sexual politics and these three pre-feminist women introduced some of the same discussion points which weightier thinkers would struggle with in the years to come. Plus, the movie is fun and fresh and multi-faceted in ways which later films like the Beach Party movies tried to exploit but never really came close to approximating. These days it certainly has to be looked at as an historical artifact but, personally, I still get the same sense of exhileration I got over fifty years ago when I first saw this. It's a lightweight movie which left a big footprint on its era.

  • SUPERB COLLEGE MOVIE FOR COLLEGE STUDENTS

    • JIM SMITH
    • 2/23/10

    "Where The Boys Are" is one of the finest MGM musicals that was ever made about college students and their fun in the sun. All the actors in the movie are at their best: Dolores Hart, Paula Prentiss, Connie Francis, Jim Hutton, Yvette Mimieux, George Hamilton, and Barbara Nichols. Moviegoers, especially college students, will find this movie quite entertaining and mostly clean fun. I wish more of the movies that are made today would go back to those "good ole day" when movies made all of us feel better about who we are.

  • Kitschy but great!

    • lovethatbob
    • 10/4/09

    This movie is pretty cliched for 2009 but so what??? It's still one of my favorites and I go back to it again and again. It is a fun and happy movie, but graphically (for the '60's, at least)warned of the dangers of sexual immorality and the benefits of being as Tuggle put it, a "good girl." Wish Hollywood would shout that out these days. This movie was a favorite of my 27 year old daughter during her tween years, and if she hasn't bought it already, I think at $16.99 it will be a great Christmas gift. This movie is one of my all time favorites. Connie Francis' singing talents were really showcased here as well.

  • Good Ole College Days

    • Vel
    • 8/21/06

    This is a nice, clean movie about when College spring break was a bunch of beer drinking, girl chasing boys after nice clean cut girls.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.