skip navigation
A Star Is Born

A Star Is Born(1937)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

A Star Is Born A fading matinee idol marries... MORE > $24.95 Regularly $24.95 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Best version

    • Juliana
    • 2/3/14

    I saw this movie once and asked my sister if she knew about it. She told me it had starred Judy Garland, but I was certain that was not the version I had seen. Now that TCM is showing 31 days of Oscars, and the 1954 remake of "A Star is Born" is on TCM, I finally realize that the version I had so loved and had tried so hard to find was the 1937 version. I remember it having had such an impact upon me. Not being a great fan of Judy Garland, I chose not to watch the 1954 version featured this evening, February 3, 2014. I did catch the end and was sorry I had not watched the entire film since James Mason has always been one of my favorite actors. How young and handsome he was in this film. Thankfully, the 1937 version is going to be on TCM on Valentine's Day morning this year. I've sent myself a reminder. After not having seen this film for so long, I'm really looking forward to it.

  • Best of all versions!

    • RedRain
    • 2/14/13

    There is no comparison between this and all the other versions of this film. This is THE one everybody should see! The acting by Gaynor cannot be matched in the others and March gives a heartbreaking realistic performance of living with an alcoholic. The writing by William Wellman and Dorothy Parker just brings this film to life and, of course, Wellman directing cannot be matched either. The very end of the film, the last line by Vicky Lester, is delivered with such passion that your heart soars. It is no wonder that this film was nominated for seven Academy Awards but the travesty is that Gaynor lost her nomination to Grace Kelly that year. This definitely should have been Gaynor's award!

  • the real jolson story

    • will ramage
    • 2/8/13

    after read x number of books about al jolson and ruby keeler ,seeing this film, educated guess? it looks pretty obvious the characters were based on mr. and mrs. jolson. its creepy when norman goes to answer the front door. al jolson had the same experiance when the delivery man asked if he was mr. keeler. ouch! norman jumped into the bottle, where as jolie became withdrawn, kept to himself or talked about the good old days when singers had to really sing.watch janet gaynor do( what i call a brilliant portrayal, look alike of ruby keeler)right down to the familiar smile and even the hat ruby so often wore in the early 30s. jolson got into a sparring match with a famous writer for writing about his and ruby s private life, at of all places, watching a boxing match. this is not a put of jolson and keeler. the film i beleive is excellent. acting, directing, still the best adation of this story.it sends chills up my back watching it. fame is fleeting.

  • THE BEST VERSION

    • Star Let
    • 4/15/12

    Great movie,enjoyed Freddie in this

  • The Best Star By Far

    • Barbar
    • 10/7/11

    This is the standard by which all the remakes fail to live up to.Grat acting!Best scenes are with Flora Robson,so touching.Let Norman's detractors eat crow.Tragic fall from grace,or publicity.How quickly they stab one in the back.

  • March is magnificent!

    • eyeheartvivien
    • 10/6/11

    Frederic March is magic on screen in this film. Even his smallest lines and shortest scenes are still sheer genius. In 1937, the acting style was still often "theatrical", but March is so believable; his hurt, pain, and frustration are quite endearing. I do love this original because the story and acting shine without the added layer of music.

  • A Star is Born (1937)

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/14/11

    ***1/2

  • Great Movie

    • John Demsys
    • 8/24/09

    This version is my favorite of all three of them. Fredric March is excellent. Good early cinematography

  • Truly love this movie

    • Marilyn
    • 8/17/08

    and this version. This is a great movie with a very great ending. You will definitely find it funny with a good bit of sentiment. If you're not coldhearted you will shed a tear or two. It is much better than the remakes that came after, nobody could ever out act Frederick March. I became his fan because of this movie. I hate what happens, but that'a what makes it this movie. If you've never seen this version, you need to see it.

  • You'll laugh and cry

    • Sandra
    • 1/10/07

    Fredric March should have won the Oscar for his fine performance (one of many) in this film. Keep your Kleenexes ready for the ending!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.