skip navigation
A Song Is Born

A Song Is Born(1948)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

A Song Is Born - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Great movie!! Fun!!

    • el debbo
    • 3/2/14

    Like another reviewer said, "Why did Maltin give this such a low rating? what does he know?" I agree. (He can't trace me, can he?) Anyhow, I love all the night spots Danny Kaye hits and cuts to all the great music happening at that time. Wonderful stuff! I thought the nightclubs were stunning, the jazzmen superb. Virginia Mayo looks more beautiful than ever and to watch her sing in that slashed-black-sequin number was a peak experience. Costumes by Sharaff; it's a very lovely movie to look at and it's pretty funny at times. My favorite Danny Kaye movie is 'On the Riviera' with Gene Tierney.

  • Great movie!

    • Craig
    • 1/21/13

    5 star rated! I can't beieve Leeonard Maltin gave this just 2 stars. What does he know? A very enjoyable movie with alot of talent in it!

  • Good movie

    • I_Fortuna
    • 12/17/12

    Great historical content and music.

  • Great Fun

    • I_Fortuna
    • 12/17/12

    Although this movie is fun I like the Stanwyck version better. I did not like Coop that much in the film and I think someone more humerous would have been better as Frisbee. I loved Danny Kaye for the role but did not like Virginia Mayo. She did not have the subtleness or delivery of Stanwyck. I grew up watching Danny Kaye and my dad and I loved him. I think I like him even more now than I did then. Anyway, this is a fun and entertaining movie and if you like the music of the period you will love this and seeing Louis Armstrong was the highlight for me.

  • Great music!

    • RedRain
    • 12/17/12

    I never liked Danny Kaye or his humor, as he always played a goofball and the humor was corny. This film is a brief departure from his shtick and it was welcome. He's actually good here. Virginia Mayo - good gravy but she was gorgeous! - is very good in this film and I particularly enjoyed her singing. The real "star" of this film is definitely the music of the 1940s and you find yourself toe-tapping throughout. Not a great film but it sure is a fun one!

  • A Song Is Born (1948)

    • James Higgins
    • 12/27/09

    Lively remake of "Ball of Fire", nicely cast, Danny Kaye is in fine form. Well produced with some great songs. Virginia Mayo is no Barbara Stanwyk however. It is a fun film but can't hold a candle to the film it was based on.

  • One of my favorites

    • Marcia
    • 7/16/08

    In my opinion, this is one of the few remakes that out shines the original. Although I love the actors in both versions - this was the better film by far.

  • A Hawks Regret...

    • Jody Rope
    • 7/9/08

    In interviews with Bogdanovich and others, Hawks expressed regret that he tried to remake Ball of Fire and, without Stanwyck and Cooper, the film never takes off. He had no luck with Mayo or Kaye and admitted the movie disappointed him, except for its musical performers. It's a fine light entertainment and enjoyable, in parts, I think, but far short of an average Hawks.

  • More DVD's PLEASE!!!!!!

    • Kusz
    • 7/9/08

    Why aren't more Danny Kaye movies on DVD, such as this one. There are some fantastic classics out there that need to be on DVD's. Whoever is responsible I hope you are reading this and hope that you will start producing more of his classic movies on DVD such as this one, Merry Andrew and a great classic Knock On Wood.

  • A Hawks Favourite

    • Jack Russell
    • 3/15/07

    This film, while produced in 1947, was the eact same story done by H Hawks on 1941 under the name "Ball of Fire" starring G Cooper and B Stanwyck. If you enjoyed that you'll like this...with the added bonus of the most influential jazzmen ever seen and heard.

  • I love Danny Kaye !!!!!!

    • Rese
    • 8/31/06

    I love this movie and I need to have a collection of Danny Kaye movies in my DVD library. This movie stars all of the greatest jazz musicians of that era.What a wonderful concept that could never be repeated....Where can I purchase this and other Danny Kaye Dvd's?

  • grestest musicians

    • joseph haas
    • 4/25/06

    What a great movie to see the greatest muscians who were the top of their field. This generation should be able to see and hear them all together.

  • Excellent numbers but ...

    • cecile
    • 3/9/06

    acting and pace of the story not very good

  • Great Musical and So Much Fun!

    • Sue
    • 3/8/06

    We loved this movie! It was such fun to watch, and listen to. The music was great!! They don't make them like this anymore!

  • A great movie of this musical genre!

    • susann yemm
    • 3/8/06

    My Husband is enjoying this movie immensely! He played all of this music as part of his swing-big band during high school and college. susann yemm

  • WONDERFUL

    • BJ
    • 3/8/06

    If you like the Big Band Era or New Orleans Jazz this movie is a MUST!!!!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.