skip navigation
A Song to Remember

A Song to Remember(1945)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

A Song to Remember The famed composer Chopin... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $20.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Polonaise

    • Condie
    • 2/10/12

    "Song to Remember" is tale loosely based on the life and career of Chopin, musical genius and Polish hero. I very much appreciated the story which included his two year affair with the high-bred lady who went by the masculine name of George Sand. But it was the actor Paul Muni who carries the production, and makes it well worth seeing.

  • A Song To Remember

    • Mary Wilson
    • 3/6/11

    This is a movie to remember. I first saw it in 1945, when I was 10 years old and have never forgotten it, always hoping that I might see it again. To my great delight, I noticed it on TCM channel a few weeks ago and enjoyed it so much. It does seem that a DVD would be well received, and a fine movie to inspire young musicians.

  • A Song to Remember (1945)

    • James Higgins
    • 1/7/10

    Lavishly produced biopic, very Hollywoodized. Paul Muni is awesome, Cornel Wilde is quite good, but I always have a problem with Merle Oberon and feel she hurts the effect of the film, her performance is too melodramatic. Great music of course, the art direction and costumes are excellent.

  • Chopin's Life & Times & Music

    • Emmett Hoolihan
    • 9/2/09

    We seem to have DVD's that chronicle the lives, music and times of Bach, Mozart, Liszt, Schmann and et al--Why not Chopin's??? Let his music speak for itself!! Put "A Song To Remember" on DVD!!

  • Sony TriStar Forgot a Song to Remember

    • Walter Bartner
    • 7/9/09

    The Metropolitan Museum in NYC had standing room only when they presented this wonderful classic,'A Song to Remember.' When the lights came up, the film was greeted with thunderous applause.For what ever reasons, Sony TriStar refuse to release this memorable Columbia release on DVD or Blu-ray. I have requested this movie for years without any success. With almost every title imaginable on store shelves why this classic has never seen the light of day is very puzzling to all those that love to watch and listen to the beautiful Chopin piano music. Jose Iturbi supplies the piano genius for the music sound track. How I wish Ted Turner would request this title. It is a memorable movie representing Hollywood's Golden Years. I know so many young children who were strongly influenced and turned to the piano because of this beautiful film. Sorry, there are no bombs or explosions, just the genius of Chopin's Polonaise. I can only hope that someone with good judgement and taste decides to release this gem for all to enjoy.

  • nominated for academy award tha

    • rob4ert
    • 6/3/09

    this film classic has never been shown it is bye time is shown there are too many repeats om tcm for 20dollardcan be bought and released on tcm

  • I would like this on DVD

    • Jeffrey Kenison
    • 2/4/09

    I, for one, wouldn't mind having this movie on DVD. I like Paul Muni and Merle Oberon.

  • Chopin in my heart. A song to remember indeed

    • Margarita Capestany
    • 10/5/08

    I too saw this movie when I was a little girl and loved the music and sounds of the piano. It stayed with me all these years in my head; especially the the tune of "Fantasie-improntu in C sharp minor (opp66). It inspired me to want to learn to play the piano. But in school I remember the teacher telling me " Your fingers are too short and cannot reach the keys, you can't play piano", and I was so embarrassed I never went back to music class. Till this day that always hurt me. But, my husband and I recently took a Med Cruise and one of the ports was in Palma de Mallorca and I was able to visit the Monastery where Chopin lived while ill and see the piano he actually played on, and that in its self brought me so much joy. I purchased the music played by Xavier Mut and Carles Bonnin (who actually took a picture with me) and took me to the shop where I could find that particular tune and showed me the CD. I will be forever Greatful to Maestro Bonnin for his kindness to me. Fryderyk Chopin I pray you are in Heaven making music for our Lord Jesus Christ. God Bless you and know that you will always be in my heart!!

  • they don't make them like this any more

    • maynard duncan
    • 9/23/08

    movie musicals are something special. period movies are very enlightening,they show the world we have not seen and the music lives on nothing like todays which has no lasting power.

  • Great movie!

    • B Weisser
    • 7/7/08

    I saw this film when I was a very young child in the company of my mother. It left such an impression upon me that I forever was in love with the music of Chopin. What fun it was to again visit this movie on TCM. I wish that all young pianists would watch this and try to understand how much his music has contributed to our world.

  • a song to remember

    • krippner
    • 10/30/07

    a great movie for posterity!!

  • The Song to Remember Unforgetable

    • Barbara Zalenski
    • 5/3/07

    I went to the movies to see this picture when I was 9 or so years old. It was my mother who wanted me to see this movie. I did not want to see it as I did see the coming attractions of it the week before at the movie theater. Anyway, I did go and I remember it as one of the best movies. Remember I was about 9 year old. I would like to see it as a 71 year old and see if I think that it was great. When can I see it? I did study the piano when I was about 14 or so years old and loved playing Chopin and still enjoy listening to his music being played.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.