skip navigation
Jeanne Dielman, 23 quai du Commerce, 1080 Bruxelles

Jeanne Dielman, 23 quai du Commerce, 1080 Bruxelles(1977)

Contribute

FOR Jeanne Dielman, 23 quai du Commerce, 1080 Bruxelles (1977) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Jeanne Dielman, 23 quai du... A lonely widow turns to... MORE > $26.99 Regularly $39.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Must-See!

    • Trish Anon
    • 6/30/14

    Jeanne Dielman is not MTV-speed fare. I expected the 3-hour and 21-minute film to be a tortuous slog, yet, it was anything but...the long pauses and lagubrious lingerings were all necessary to the story: something the brave filmmaker took the risk to implement. What a tribute to homemakers everywhere who daily sally forth into a long, tedious, lonely litany of chores--most of them boring, neverending and thankless. There is an echo of Diary Of A Mad Housewife (1970) in it. The star character, Jeanne Dielman, moves as if in a (bad) dream up to and including the wham-bam-thank-you-ma,am ending. Altogether an opus to the minutiae of housewifery and, in this case, the tragic choices made in the crucible called life. An astounding must-see film!

  • Chantal Akerman

    • PattiR
    • 6/30/14

    I misspelled director, Chantal Akerman's name in my previous post (sorry about that). This is a tremendous film. Thanks to TCM for introducing it to me.

  • Remarkable!

    • PattiR
    • 6/30/14

    Jeanne Dielman,23 Quai Du Commerce,1080 Bruxelles is one of the most remarkable films that I have ever seen. I saw it for the first time several years ago on TCM. I watched it again tonight(on TCM); and tonight's viewing experience was no less powerful. This is a one of a kind film and an extraordinary achievement for director Chantal Ackerman;and Delphine Seyrig's performance is one for the ages.

  • The Camera

    • E J Wills
    • 6/8/11

    This was like a series of still photographs that just happened to have sound and motion associated with them. The camera never moved in any scene. The kitchen, the hallway, the entrance, and all other scenes not only had a static camera position but the same position was used each time a scene took place in that location. It seemed exactly right for the theme of the movie.

  • Escape from hollywood

    • idrissa
    • 5/1/11

    Unlike anything you have ever seen. The minimalist dialogue and focus on the actors movement showcase what film is capable of when freed from the profit motive.

  • Intriguingly weird . . .

    • Karen
    • 4/20/11

    I caught this movie in the middle and was entranced by the weirdness of the film's focusing on the way she did her housework. I find it odd that I found this interesting but then I liked "Eraserhead". I would like to watch this from the start and hope TCM plays it again. Some scenes were too long like when she was sitting near her stove at the kitchen table "zoning out". Not for everyone but only those who like this kind of movie, which I do.

  • JEANNE DIELMAN, 23 QUAI DU COMMERCE

    • Willie
    • 4/18/11

    a gem!

  • This Movie....totally unexpected mind blower!

    • Charlo Crossley -Fortier
    • 4/18/11

    The minute details of this woman's day to day life bordered on the OCD, but I saw her pain immediately. The sparse conversation between her and her son, the love she had for him, taking care of him was her focus. But she was clearly detached from everything except making dinner. Her peeling the potatoes, I thought I was going to scream!! The way she kept eating her soup, steady spoonfuls with no break. The smile on her face as she ate. Her only pleasure. I was captivated to keep watching, hoping for some real happiness to come into her life. Her unraveling as the completion of routine tasks like buttoning her bathrobe, or washing the tub out...the folding of clothes, paper, foil, she was so systematic at first...but even those little things were becoming a struggle. I was shocked at the ending...but not surprised. The acting was excellent...hard to keep the body language, the facial expressions consistent from beginning to end. Would love to see the out takes of this film.

  • Enjoyed

    • Diane Skeene-Riddick
    • 4/18/11

    Despite little dialogue for 3 1/2 hours, I really enjoyed this film. I found myself mesmerized and watch the entire movie. Unfortunately, fell asleep during the last 18 minutes. That's why I am here on this site, to see what happened.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.