skip navigation
The Pleasure of His Company

The Pleasure of His Company(1961)

Contribute

FOR The Pleasure of His Company (1961) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Pleasure of... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Pleasure of His Company

    • Bill Eggert
    • 1/29/13

    Sparkling comedy starring the legendary Fred Astaire (greatest dancer in film history), Debbie Reynolds, and a cast of wonderful character actors. George Seaton's guiding directorial hand at the helm bringsviewers a hilarious comedy that showcases Astaire's excellent sense of comic timing (overshadowed in the past by his excellent singing and dancing skills). A must-see film for those cinephiles with discriminating taste.

    • 7/7/12

  • What a Pleasure!

    • Randalyn Roer
    • 7/7/12

    One of the last of an era of sophisticated, sparkling, intelligently-scripted high comedies. This, children, is what a "Romantic Comedy" should look like, sound like, and play like. Exceptional cast, immaculate direction, impeccable timing. Next to "The Awful Truth," one of the finest of its genre. A favorite of mine for 50 years - and she doesn't look a day over 21. OVERALL RATING: 5 dazzling stars 5 well-manicured thumbs up

  • I love this movie

    • Kim
    • 12/18/11

    This is definiately in my top 5. I have only seen once & would love, love, love it on DVD. Why can't they do?

  • SoufflĂ© anyone?

    • Chas Paige
    • 3/2/11

    Yes, The Pleasure of His Company was a tad on the souffl side, but a well-developed souffl can be delightful albeit puffed-up and containing air. When looking at the 1987 edition of "Who's Who in Cinema," I notice that the only one of the main characters in the movie to be credited with it was Charlie Ruggles, which could indicate a degree of criticism by the industry--perhaps both of Charlie and the movie. But we've moved beyond those days now and it's time to give credit where credit is due. It is also time to make this movie available to the general public via DVD and on television. I believe it will catch on as a tasty treat and a welcome escape from car chases, crashes, fires, explosions, and obligatory sex. Even the most jaded of 21st century viewers occasionally needs this kind of step back into a more innocent and circumspect era, when superlative talent was king and less so special effects. It is also valuable for developing filmmakers to be exposed to the acting, dialog and timing in this film, so there may be more award-winning, character-based movies like "The King's Speech" in our future.

  • Transition from classic to modern times

    • Chas Paige
    • 3/2/11

    I only saw this movie once in my 6-decades life, and THAT was probably more than 10 years ago, yet it still comes to mind now and then. Except for not being a musical, as it could have been considering it included both Astaire and Reynolds, it still shone as a movie exposing demarcation between the oft frivolous moviemaking days of yore, represented by Ruggles and Astaire, the contemporary, more conservative post-war days represented by Hunter, Palmer and Merrill, and more modern trends represented by Reynolds abetted by Ruggles--the one who tried to embrace all three parts of the transition. It encapsulates a time when people still related to each other mostly in person, without the distractions introduced by cell phones, personal computers, net/notebooks, iPods, iPads, and all the electronic gadgets that dehumanize our interpersonal relations and, in a way, cost us the pleasure of each other's company.

  • The Pleasure of His Company

    • Joann Novak
    • 11/12/10

    Absolutely the best movie for one liners. Every actor is perfect in his role and every line is a delight. From Astaire and Palmer to Ruggles and Reynolds this is the best use of accomplished actors. Wonderful, wonderful!!

  • a totally witty souffle

    • Curt
    • 4/29/10

    I saw this movie once on TV several years ago and have been looking for it on DVD ever since. I remember it as a glittering and delightful drawing-room farce with affecting emotional conflicts beneath the gloss. Fred Astaire is a revelation as the conflicted bon vivant looking for stability. Debby Reynolds is perfect as a perfectly raised, perfectly pretty bride-to-be. Lilli Palmer all but steals the movie as a classy dame losing patience with her second husband. And Tab Hunter was never more masculine. The crisp dialogue has manners. The post-war mise en scene is classic haute San Francisco. It's a smart and pretty picture of a lost world. I hope someone releases it on DVD soon...

  • the pleasure of his company

    • Patricia
    • 3/16/10

    Lili Palmer is fabulous. She steals the movie.

  • the pleasure of his company

    • Craig
    • 3/5/10

    One of Fred Astaire's best works.

  • the pleasure of his company

    • janice
    • 2/19/10

    This is probably the best non-musical movie fred astaire made. It's great timing and a beautiful background for anybody on the verge of marriage, Why it's not a dvd or shown more often is a mystery. This really is a turner classic

  • This film needs to be released on DVD

    • Dana
    • 10/17/09

    It is one of Fred Astaire's best, without a doubt!

  • Please make this movie on DVD

    • lisafree
    • 7/24/09

    I really love this movie. It's a wonderful romantic, comedy classic with great characters, beautiful scenery, and a creative story. We don't get to see it enough!

  • We continue to wait for this to be on DVD

    • Alameda
    • 11/9/08

    It is one of Fred Astaire's best movies.

  • This Classics should be on DVD!

    • Bonnie
    • 5/21/08

    Please put this on DVD. This film has been long overlooked. Classics like this one need to be made available, and preserved.

  • This Movie is a 4 star movie!!!!

    • Gwen
    • 5/5/08

    I hope that I will soon be able to purchase my favorite movie on dvd. This is one movie that is just so good. It's funny with a twist of saddness. It's a Pleasure to watch!!!

  • Don't let this Movie fade away!

    • Dave, B.
    • 8/24/07

    I would like to request that you please consider issuing this on DVD - this is one of those great movies with Fred Astaire that need to be enjoyed time and time again. I have been searching for it ever since I saw it on AMC a few years ago, but can't find a copy even on VHS.

  • Fabulous movie

    • rebecca viglione
    • 8/13/07

    I would love to purchase this dvd if available. The movie was wonderful!!!!

  • Terrific film

    • sherri
    • 8/9/07

    This is such a great movie. I really wish that it were available on dvd for purchase. Fred Astaire has the best lines and is soooo captivating. I love it!!!

  • excellent movie

    • jim miller
    • 4/22/07

    I would purchase this dvd today if available as would many other people I know. I think this is one of Fred's best.

  • delightful movie!!

    • patti
    • 3/17/06

    Fred is still in great form in this movie - he still exudes style & elegant wit. The rest of the casting is great, too! This movie always puts me in a good mood!!

  • Oh that dialogue!

    • Linda
    • 1/24/06

    The Pleasure of His Company -- what a joy. The dialogue is witty, quick and sharp. Katharine is carefully opening a telegram delivered for her ex-husband, Pogo. Once it is opened we know Pogo's friend has made his yacht available to him and asks "who's the girl?" The ex-husband explains it away as Pogo planning another trip with someone he's meeting in Europe, and ends with, "what could be more simple?" Katherine replies, "you, for instance. Father, who's the girl?" "Why Jessica, of course." It all ends well, but not for everyone, and that's funny too! Fred Astaire and Lilly Palmer are absolutely perfect in their characters.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.