skip navigation
A Place in the Sun

A Place in the Sun(1951)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

A Place in the... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • An object lesson in following the rules.

    • Mr. Mark
    • 6/19/14

    This movie is a good morality lesson. IF only George Eastman had obeyed the company conduct rules, he would not have become involved with Alice Tripp, who would not have become pregnant. His life would have then flowed, without impedence, into the world of Angela Vickers and the life he wanted. How often have each of us missed good things in life by making impulsive choices?Clift's character, George Eastman, is however, a spiritual weakling, because his moods and morality shift with the wind. He is an extreme example, but I rarely meet people whose ethics are not, to some degree, situational. George might, therefore, be hard to sympathize with, but not necessarily easy to judge.

  • There's No Place in the Sun for Shady Men

    • Delia
    • 8/23/13

    Quintessentially, it's Let's Make a Deal. Door number 1, 2, or 3? George Eastman, a fidgety, wired loner from a poor family, picks Door Number 1. He lands a low-level factory job through his family connections and quickly falls for the first smile (Shelly Winters) on the assembly line. He courts her, cages her, beds her then DREADS her when he realizes, "Gosh, I should have picked door number 2, " which turns out to be Elizabeth Taylor in all her radiant beauty. And lo and behold, rich girl Liz begins to like Georgie back. Suddenly, he realizes, dang...I could really go BIG with a millionaire's daughter. Why am I playing small with the assembly line gal? And just when he decides to put all of his chips on Liz, Shelly announces she's "in a family way." Now what? He's mad for Liz, but he's impregnated poor Shelly in the tenement house. He hatches a plan to take Shelly on a little canoe ride to talk things over when whoops! Shelly goes overboard and accidently drowns. How convenient. Now he can do Door number 2 with Liz and live happily ever after. Not so fast. This little town has a heck of a police force and prosecutor who decide the drowning was not accidental. Long story short, George ends up with Door number 3--the electric chair in the Big House--and is left with the haunting silhouette of Liz in her chiffon gown. Moral of the story: Bad decisions lead to bad outcomes. AND--don't jump on the first train out of town just because it's on the track. Wait awhile and see where some other trains are headed.

  • disturbing for that time 1951

    • PSemple
    • 2/22/13

    It was a well written and acted movie for its time (1951) with famous movie stars. But I found it disturbing about the content of planning a murder of a pregnant woman because George Eastman lusted and loved another woman and agree with the other reviewer. If this was a real case, I agree with the verdict, even though he didn't kill her, he didn't save her life either and that is as equal to killing her.

  • Great artistic film. I hate to watch it.

    • denscul
    • 2/21/13

    While I would admit Monty is a good actor, I can never watch him and forget he is just acting. And E. Taylor, a beauty who made most female stars jealous . Her voice does not match her exterior. Her voice became an iritant. A lot of female voices have the same effect on me as running your fingernails down a black board. Its not so bad in this flic, but by the time she made "Whose Afraid of Virginia Wolf", the voice fit the part perfectly.The subject matter for myself, and for some other critics was just too over the top. A story about an ax murderer is easy to watch compared to Clift's character, who gets a little on the side, to satisfy his sex life. I can't forgive him for his awful puritanical mother. A lot of us had mothers who were jealous of our wives and girl friends. So he gets the girl pregnant (before the pill and abortions were legal). So he kills her to solve his problem? The writer's may have attempted to give him some humanity by confusing whether he would really have killed her. But there is no doubt in my mind. He was a world class jerk. I also could not understand how Taylor's character could have fallen in love. Yes, Cliff was handsome, or so I am told. But he always came across to me as cranky, artsy, and "vunerable". That type may appeal to woman, but Cliff could never play a really masculine role. I thought he was just awful in the "Misfits". Taylor could never played MM's part in that film. Taylor was never a soft. feminine actress. Too much like Katherine Hepburn who always seemed to have a chip on her shoulder.I never paid to see a film with E. Taylor, at least I can't recall seeing her in all those epics that cost the industry a bundle. The best I can say of her career was that she lasted longer than most "actreses" of her day.

  • Scott Peterson!

    • RedRain
    • 2/21/13

    I can't enjoy this film because the subject matter is so heinous. To plan to murder a pregnant woman because you lust for another woman is just more than I can take! Clift and Taylor are at their most beautiful in every scene but it doesn't compensate for the subject matter. The film does not follow the novel either. This film is often called a "social commentary" but the times haven't changed and this type of crime is as heinous today as it would have been in 1951. Guys still get girls pregnant and then drop them for another woman and, in the famous CA Peterson case and others, guys still kill their significant others for the same reasons. No. I won't watch this film again! Beauty can be very, very ugly!

  • Taylor and Clift are unforgettable...

    • ggtx785
    • 2/16/13

    Even if the premise is dated (let's not forget the context in which this story was told), it's still a great film and a classic that rightly earned its kudos. Taylor and Clift are arguably at their most beautiful and unforgettable here; their palpable passion is matched by the rock-solid performance Shelley Winters delivers. Incidentally, it was this film that got me interested in Clift's body of work...he was and still is the best at the Method (better than Brando, in my opinion).

  • A Place in the Sun

    • Dashiell B.
    • 11/27/12

    An entertaining adaptation of Theodore Dreiser's story about class warfare. Taylor shines in a more mature role as a wealthy young woman whose longed for by Clift, in an Oscar-nominated performance, who already impregnated Winters, another Oscar-nominated performance. Stevens won his first Academy Award for his perfect direction, also won for it's adaptation, photography, costumes, editing & score. Great performances & engaging story overrides the aged story. I give it a 4/5.

  • A Place In The Sun

    • Gary
    • 12/7/11

    Montgomery Clift is in top shape as the love-tortured George Eastman. With dear soul mate, Elizabeth Taylor, the duo creates such a presence that the feeling lingers with you long after watching the movie. It's truly "marvelous" as Monty would say. Also, watching this really shows how much Monty loved his Bessie Mae. There are just some things you can't fake, & it's written all over his face. He meant every single word that was said. I know it because his performance said it all for me. Watch and see for yourself. Also, the director makes wonderful use of angling which evoke very strong emotion in each of the scenes. This craft is something that is gradually becoming extinct as nowadays people can just edit scenes wherever they want. But, Stevens has a way of using these angles and staying on them for a good 10-20 seconds, allowing magic to simply blossom. This film is timeless and forever holds a place in my heart. Watch for yourself and see. I and so many others can only say so much with words.

  • ...and don't forget Frieda Inescort

    • Diane
    • 8/19/11

    Of course, this is a film where Elizabeth Taylor can only be described as gorgeous beyond belief. But don't miss Frieda Inescort as ET's mother. Ms. Inescort may best be remembered as playing the haughty sister, Miss Bingley in "Pride and Prejudice" (1940) and the wife of lawyer Joyce in "The Letter" (1940) (IMHO - Bette Davis' best performance). At any rate, APitS is a stunner - all around.

  • Desire vs. Action

    • Taylor
    • 8/23/10

    This movie makes you quetion is desire as great as action, will true love follow you anywere.After watching this you now the answer.

  • So-So

    • Bill Watkins
    • 4/20/10

    Mr. Osbourne loves this, I know--not my cup of tea, not very happy or uplifting, hard to sympathize with the idiot Clift character--a long way to go to see someone bite the dust!!!!!!!

  • A PLACE IN THE SUN

    • HEIDI ELIZBETH HEGLAR
    • 4/11/10

    I REALLY LOVED THIS MOVIE. Elizabeth Taylor is breathtaking. She was 18 years old. 1951. I can say Violet eyes was so pretty. Her eyes Amazing. To Think She is One month younger than my father. I am 42 and will say they do not make movies like the old ones anymore. Just also thinking today when you compare the older movies those where the good old days in America and I can say growing up I lived in the good times of America, those days are gone. The children of today will never live in the good old days. Never thought I would say I have. Look around now 2010 & you know what I mean. Look at safety, I could play in my yard and be safe. That is just one thing. Back to this movie which not many seem to appreciate the black and white ones. Amazing cinematography, the extreme close-ups are so effective. George Stevens Great job directing this film. This is one of Montgomery Clift's & Shelley Winters best. Favorite 4 me. movies. ltime performances of all time. Elizabeth Taylor is breathtaking. Amazing cinematography, the extreme close-ups are so effective. The whole film just clicks and works so well.

  • VELVET BROWN GREW UP, AND HOW!

    • Derrick Ivory
    • 2/22/10

    Let's get down to the fact's, The actor who made this film is a International Star, the director is excellent Mr. George Stevens know's how to Dircet, The cast is also grand, Montgomery Clift and Shelley Winters are more than proven actor's. I will not leave out MS. Anne Revere who had a small part, that did not show her abilities, If you are blessed, you will see her on TCM. Now let's talk Liz Taylor, her spellbound Close-up's and lith-model's torso was prevalent in the scene when Monte Clift was in the billard room. Monte Clift was the loaner who wanted more. Listen people, the star that is dim, will sometime's take you farther than the one that is Shining the brightest. Alice Tripp vs Angela Vickers. One more thing how can a direct descendent of Paul Revere be UN-AMERICAN.

  • A place in the sun

    • tom
    • 2/17/10

    this movie stinks

  • Disappointing

    • Jack
    • 2/12/10

    It's a good thing they titled it the way they did, it is so far removed from the far better novel.

  • An amazing movie

    • Linda
    • 1/11/10

    I have seen this movie many, many times and I will continue to watch it every time it is run. Liz and Monty - what a couple! The close up scenes of these two are breathtaking, sometimes I can hardly stand it, the feeling is so intense when they are on the screen together. Shelly Winters certainly played against type and wonderfully. The casting of the roles was perfect. Monty should have won the Oscar, but then again, he always made acting look so easy.

  • A Place in the Sun (1951)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 8/17/09

    George Stevens does an amazing job directing this incredible film. This is one of Montgomery Clift's finest performances, if not his best. Shelley Winters is absolutely amazing - one of my favorite performances of all time. Elizabeth Taylor is breathtaking. Amazing cinematography, the extreme close-ups are so effective. The whole film just clicks and works so well.

  • It doesn't get much better than this!

    • Catwoman915
    • 3/22/09

    This is one of my all time favorite movies. Elizabeth Taylor and Montgomery Clift are so beautiful in this movie. Although the plot is dark somehow the movie doesn't seem that way. Clift's character is reaching for the stars and is just on the brink. The acting is so superb by everyone in the movie. It is always worth the watch.

  • Sorry

    • Linda Atkinson
    • 2/14/09

    In my review I mentioned Angela Lansbury instead of the of course great Shelley Winters...ooopppsss. Must have Lansbury in the brain from watching National Velvet and Gas Light.

  • One Of The Greats

    • catwoman915
    • 2/14/09

    Great plot, great acting, great cast. What can get much better than Montgomery Clift, Elizabeth Taylor, Angela Lansbury and Raymond Burr?

  • Edited?

    • Elli Harvey
    • 9/4/08

    Is the version circulated today edited??? I noticed there were no underwater scenes and a winter scene in the one I saw recently. Anyone know?

  • A Place in the Sun

    • Polly
    • 8/2/07

    I saw this movie just last. And though I didn't see all of it, I loved it! I think this is one of my favorite Elizabeth Taylor movies.

  • Makes you want to fall in love

    • Michael Robinson
    • 7/11/07

    The greatest romantic movie by far. Honestly who wouldn't want to fall in love with Elizabeth Taylor. I know i did by watching the film. Forget psycho girlfriend Shelly Winters. I loved it.

  • Loved it!

    • Elizabeth
    • 12/19/06

    I saw this movie on TCM one night, and I fell in love with it. This is, so far, the 3rd Liz Taylor movie I've seen. The storyline reminds me of Woody Allen's film "Match Point", in a way, where the poor guy is dating the wealthy girl, but also has a fling with a poor girl (who becomes pregnant). I loved watching the scenes with the rich people dancing, because they don't have those nowadays. It was also strange to see Shelley Winters, because I've only seen her on "roseanne", which was about 40 years after this film came out! Also, Montgomery Cliff is amazing too.

  • Early teen years revisited

    • Tess
    • 10/15/06

    I first saw A Pace in the Sun on TV when I was about 14 years old. I remember being deeply affected by the relationship between Taylor and Clift. The film was probably the first really adult film I ever saw and the only reason I got to see it was I was baby sitting at a neighbor's house. And since I wasn't being "babysat" by my parents (who, I feel sure, would not have approved of my watching it) I could take that significant step toward adulthood!

  • One of the best old school classics.

    • gina
    • 4/24/06

    This movie is great. Liz is beautiful and Shelly played a great role also,(she even looked good). Bravo...Watch it, you won't be disappointed.

  • elizabeth & montgomery Beautiful, but shelly !

    • pamela
    • 2/19/06

    liz and monty were never more beautiful than in this film,the close up kiss between these two beauties is worth the price of admission, but for shelly winters to step ouside her glamour girl image, she was fantastic! The perfect image of the desperate girl "in trouble", so pathetic and annoying and tragic. this was a career changing film for her, and she fought for it and nailed it. even i wanted to drown her, especially if i got elizabeth taylor.

  • Awesome

    • sheila
    • 1/22/06

    This is such a tragic movie, I love watching the beautiful Elizabeth Taylor so carefree and in love, This is Montgomery Clift at his most handsome, Shelley Winters plays the poor girl not to be outdone by the rich beauty - she's gonna have her man-no matter what!-- It's one of my favorite movies! Of course Elizabeth Taylor is one of our last greatest screen stars- long live the greatest 'broads' ever.. 'Dame Elizabeth!'fyi:(if you enjoy dishing on the Brad/Angelina/Jen triangle -Elizabeth had a similar triangle back in the day with Eddie Fisher and Debbie Reynolds)

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.