skip navigation
Two Sisters from Boston

Two Sisters from Boston(1946)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Two Sisters from Boston Two girls with Broadway... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Not very good.

    • Godzilla97
    • 9/8/11

    These rave reviews have left me mystified. I thought that it was pretty bad. All the cliches are there: the snooty opera people, the kind and friendly burlesque people, the uncouth out-of towner hick people (from Boston? Really?), and the devoted sister sacrificing her chance at happiness for her selfish sister. The only thing missing was a cute dog. Oh wait. There was a dog. He belonged to the fat and vain opera singer, badly played by Lauritz Melchior, who should have stuck to the Metropolitan Opera, where he was a highly respected tenor for many years. This brings me to the next cliche: the fat and vain opera singer. Is there any other kind? Also the fake operas were just terrible. The only saving grace in this movie is the presense of Jimmy Durante. No matter how awful the picure, and this one is awful indeed, Jimmy can always bring a smile.

  • Excelente

    • Sonia
    • 12/18/10

    Este filme excelente. Eu adoro a June Allyson. O filme adorvel e muito doce. Uns dos meus filmes preferidos. June era fantstica em todos os filmes que fazia. Um filme excelente.

  • Two Sisters from Boston

    • Dr. Joseph Cicero
    • 3/10/10

    One of the most charming, entertaining and delightful musicals. Too valuable to keep in the closet. Many of today's movie makers could learn a valuable lesson on entertaining from this bright production. All of the featured stars were allowed to play to their individual strengths and like a symphony it all came together into a superb movie. I want my grandchildren to see this gem of a movie and enjoy it as much as I did. Do all moviegoers a great favor and release this wonderful musical comedy on DVD, for their enjoyment.

  • A greatly overlooked classic musical comedy!!!

    • bob s.
    • 10/1/09

    This is an extremely funny and well done original musical comedy with fine performances by the entire cast: Grayson, Allyson, Durante,Lawford, and Melchior. It deserves to be seen on TCM and on DVD!! Allyson and Durante are hilarious, and Grayson and Melchior sing everything from barroom ditties to heavy opera in truly enjoyable fashion. A really good time is had by all!!!

  • A Long Over-looked Classic

    • Dr. Brad E Hainsworth
    • 5/6/09

    This bright musical is a film of great depth, not only because of its stars, but because of the remarkable extras seen in the bowery scenes. These kinds of faces and talents are simply no longer found in film or on television. Yet, they lend an air of reality and credibility never seen in today's films. This movie should be made available for the way in which it fairly sparkles with the reality of its historical setting.Do movies buffs a great favaor, and make this film available on DVD. Show it occasionaly on TCM to show such quality is not forgotten.

  • Most Favorite Golden Oldie!!!

    • Jen
    • 2/18/09

    Can't remember where I found it but I bought the VHS on-line and have watched it so many times. I love June Allyson she is so funny in this movie!!! I need it on DVD because I don't have a VHS player anymore.

  • I agree!

    • Jason
    • 2/3/09

    I want to see this so bad too and so I will suggest it. I really hope that they will play it. I too am a June Allyson fan and Jimmy Durante and Kathryn Grayson are good too.

  • Oh my gosh!

    • June Allyson Rules!
    • 1/29/09

    This movie is one that is on my "HAVE TO SEE LIST" so if you read this please suggest it so that they will pley it! I need all the help that I can get. I am in love with June Alyson would love to see her with Kathryn Grayson and Jimmy Durante. This looks so good!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.