skip navigation
Once Upon a Time in the West

Once Upon a Time in the West(1969)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Once Upon a Time in the West A mail-order bride enlists an... MORE > $5.98 Regularly $5.98 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • once upon a time in the west

    • patrick lewis
    • 6/20/14

    outstanding film an absolute classic just thinking of this film gives me chills top western movie of all time

  • No review yet of this masterpiece...JUST...

    • Dennis Locantore
    • 10/26/13

    have to tell you I never tire of it depsite the length and certainly one of the finest films ever made.The great Ennio Morricone's score should have WON the OSCAR on its own...

  • Once Upon a TIme in the West

    • John
    • 8/5/13

    Overall-4 1/2 out of 5Lead Performers-5/5Supporting Cast-3/5Director-5/5Score-5/5Titles-3/5Screenplay-4/5Cinematography-5/5Importance-4/5Recommendation for fans of the genre-5/5

  • A must see

    • William West
    • 4/22/11

    This is one of the best westerns ever made. I'm a Charles Bronson fan and this is his best movie by far. Henry Fonda is brilliant as a psycho gunman for hire. Jason Robards adds a very enjoyable element as Cheyenne. The musical score is hauntingly beautiful. In short, one of my favorite movies of all time.

  • one of the best westerns ever made

    • camara dent
    • 4/17/11

    This is one of the best westerns ever made. The casting, directing and soundtrack are all excellent.

  • Fine Fim

    • Larry Bradford
    • 1/20/11

    This is a very entertaining film. One can see this film through the eyes of any one of the actors and get a different viewpoint. I believe the key to this film is when Henry Fonda rides into town and there are 5 killers waiting to gun him down but Bronson will not let him be gunned in this manner. At this point we realize Harmonica was going to balance the scales his way...without interference. I loved Jason Robarts comment that where ever he goes death follows.

  • Outstanding

    • tom allen
    • 11/19/09

    For a fan of Westerns this is the definitive classic. Rates with The Wild Bunch and The Long Riders.

  • Superb Spaghetti Western

    • ALEX
    • 11/18/09

    This is the definitive Italian western. Sergio Leone, Ennio Morricone, Henry Fonda, etc. etc. etc. Enough said.

  • it stank

    • h
    • 11/18/09

    this was an AWFUL movie. I watched the last thirty minutes of it-I'm glad I didn't watch any more, and it took TWENTY minutes for anyone to even move! NO comparison to Gone with the Wind AT ALL. Don't watch it-it's a waste of time.

  • Arguably the best movie ever made. PERIOD!

    • f1hp
    • 11/17/09

    Superlative demonstration of the art and craft of great cinema. Unlike 'Gone With the Wind', (for one instance) which despite some great acting has not aged well at all, this is a true masterpiece in every sense.

  • ONCE UPON A TIME IN THE WEST......

    • JON
    • 11/17/09

    I listened to Bob's commentary, and I think it is all wrong..... He says Sergio Leone revolves this movie around a woman, Claudia Cardinelli... He does not, nor would he revolve any movie around any woman, delightful as Claudia may be. Nor is it centered on Henry Fonda's character,as much as I loved his performance, strange as it was to Fonda's career. The movie is about Charles Bronson. It is about sheer vengence. Bronson is on a course that cannot be changed. His one & only thought is Frank. The confrontation of these two men would have occurred no matter where Bronson finally met up with Fonda. The rest of the story, the other characters, the train story, are all incidental to the main theme: revenge at all costs, even to the point of dying! And, as in all Leone's films, the music is one of the main ingredients, and Harmonica and the music themes that accompany the Bronson character are dominant and appropriate. Jason Robards adds exceptional appeal to the film. To simply refer to Bronson (& Robards)as a mere after thought, as Robert did, is ridiculously stupid & fails the film badly. Robert: Watch the film again, and ignore the sequence in which the actors are listed in the movie credits! Clue: Who's living at the beginning and is still alive at the end (of a western) is usually a safe bet.

  • Once Is Enough

    • Minky
    • 10/11/09

    The first time I saw this film, I liked it, it was a little long but entertaining. The second time I saw it, I began to dislike it and the third time, I found it to be boring. It seem so phoney, to much killing and all of the characters in the film seemed to see this as a normal way of living, kind of weird and unreal. It is not the kind of film that I would be looking foward to seeing again. If I had a copy of it on DVD, I probably would never watch it.

  • A Superbly Made Film

    • Dawn W.
    • 5/8/08

    This is one of the best motion pictures ever made. Although it is considered a "spaghetti western"; in reality it is not. The music is hauntingly beautiful and never leaves your mind! The film is stylishly made. The characters of the story have depth. I have never seen a more evil character portrayed (with the exception of Richard Widmark) than by Henry Fonda (Frank). This Western sets itself apart because the West, as it was in reality, was more like Once Upon a Time in the West than any Western made before it or after! This does not use scenery to cover up any deficiencies in characterizations or story line but utilizes every trick in film making... and it comes out as a piece of art in movie making. This is one film that will not only be considered a remarkable Western but a "classic" for all time!

  • A Western Classic

    • Joe
    • 2/2/08

    This is Sergio Leone's crowning achievement as a director of westerns. Add one of Ennio Morricone's best musical scores and the perfect casting of Fonda as a cold blooded killer and you have the making of a classic. Bronson, Robards, and Cardinale each give performances that truly bring the drama, violence and romance of the old West to life. This one sends your western imagination soaring.

  • my favorite movie

    • joe
    • 10/3/07

    i love this movie. the opening scenes, the beautiful cinematography, fonda as a cold killer, the ennio morricone soundrack. a western fantasy. brilliant. years ago i thought the scenes were so terribly slow. now i think they may be a tad too fast. i could watch for days on end and drift away in a tumbleweed sandstorm...

  • My favorite Bronson movie!

    • Karen
    • 9/22/07

    I love everything about this movie - Except the kids getting killed. Henry Fonda sure was a bad man in this movie, and that is rare in his long career. Well made and I love the music score. Bronson's face and close ups and him playing the harmonica - wonderful. Charlie sure was built and tough! Jason Robards, well he is just about the best there was and I love how he played this character! How about the beautiful scenery - and the opening train scene. Well directed! On my favorite top 20 list of movies!

  • The Best!

    • Annmarie
    • 5/29/07

    The best western of all time. When men were men! There is so much eye candy for us ladies with Charles Bronson exuding pure sex, Jason Robards providing an attractive humor and Henry Fonda in his only sexy role as the very bad hombre. Yummmm! What a lucky lady was Claudia Cardinale!

  • My Favorite Western

    • Elleen
    • 10/10/06

    This is by far my favorite western. It has an awesome cast with Charles Bronson, Henry Fonda and Jason Robards. I love the harmonica man (Charles Bronson) which keeps Frank (Henry Fonda) mystified what his real intentions are. The story line in this movie is great and the music score is excellent. The scenery in this movie is awesome. This movie has every thing in it. Romance, mystery and action-packed galore! I love the way the producer (leone)shoots the scenes with the eyes on the actors...(mind blowing).This film is a classic western. I highly recommend this film for every one to see. It's timeless!!!

  • MUST SEE FLIM GREAT GREAT ALL TIME WESTERN

    • RAY FROM CONNECTICUT
    • 3/10/06

    FLIM WORK EXCELLENT, MUSIC SCORE MAKES THE MOVIE OUTSTANDING MUSIC SCORE

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.