skip navigation
On the Waterfront

On the Waterfront(1954)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

On the Waterfront A young stevedore takes on the... MORE > $39.95 Regularly $39.95 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Impressed

    • robb
    • 6/7/14

    Two movie from my youth affected my life for ever after. "On the Waterfront" and "Rebel Without A Cause".

  • Stunning and memorable

    • Jayme
    • 6/6/14

    I've seen On the Waterfront at least four times, and I can hear the musical score so clearly - it's so evocative, and like the score of To Kill a Mockingbird, it is integral to the film. Composed by none other than Leonard Bernstein!

  • On the Waterfront

    • John
    • 8/2/13

    Overall-5/5Lead Performers-5/5Supporting Cast-5/5Director-5/5Score-5/5Titles-3/5Screenplay-5/5Cinematography-5/5Importance-4/5Recommendation for fans of the genre-4/5

  • Brando's best!

    • RedRain
    • 3/19/13

    There are few films that I cannot watch again and again and this is one of them. Twice was more than I should have watched. The subject matter, from a true expose in NYC, and its savage approach to show the truth, is too much for me to witness over and over. There is no doubt, however, that this film marked a change in all actors' approach to their craft. Brando's performance is unmatched and there is a reason this film has never been remade and it is that nobody else could possibly come close to Brando's powerful emotions as Terry Malloy. There are superb supportive performances, the best probably by Karl Malden, but this is Brando's film throughout.

  • Waterfront

    • I_Fortuna
    • 2/23/13

    This is the first time I have seen this film. How I missed it before I don't know. I have to honestly say that I have never seen a more heartfelt performance as I saw in Marlon Brando in On the Waterfront. I have never gotten the feeling before from any performance that I did while watching him in this movie. It is no surprise to me now how his peers look upon him with such admiration. The rest of the cast was certainly terrific but Brando has outshined many a good actor for years to come in this performance in my opinion. I used to like him and now I am blown away by him.

  • marlon brando

    • steven
    • 2/20/13

    Marlon Brando gave 3 landmark performances- as Stanley Kowalski in " Streetcar"; Terry Malloy in " On the Warefront" and Vito Carleone in " The Godfather". Can you argue that wehn at his best, he is the greatest actor who ever lived?

  • A nod to the longshoremen...

    • ggtx785
    • 2/18/13

    Whether or not you agree with Elia Kazan's nod to his decision to "name names," this masterpiece deserves its acclaim in its own right. Brando just doesn't get better than this. Lee J. Cobb and Karl Malden also deliver knockout performances. But it's the real-life longshoremen who render this work whole--these untrained actors were literally committing their life stories to posterity in the making of this film. "On the Waterfront" simply isn't an achievement without them.

  • On the Waterfront

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 7/6/12

    Drama from Kazan that came to justify his testimonies to HUAC. Unquestionably the focus of the film is the powerhouse performance from Brando, who won his first Academy Award. Strong supporting work from Cobb, Malden & Stieger who were nominated & Saint who gives an Oscar-winning performance. Kazan's direction is a perfect combination with Schulberg's screenplay, both of which won, other honours were for art direction, editing & cinematography. An overall perfect film from the 50's. I give it a 5/5.

  • teen years

    • rob
    • 3/14/12

    This movie and "Rebel Without A Cause" are by far the two most memorable movies of my teenage years.

  • On the waterfront

    • Tom
    • 8/2/11

    ***** Marlon Brando's acting in this film is the best piece of acting ever.

  • On the Waterfront (1954)

    • Jeff
    • 6/28/11

    When people think of Marlon Brando, they usually think of his greatest performance as Don Vito Corleone in The Godfather (1972). However, Brando had another Oscar winning performance, as Terry Malloy in this film. The film is about how Terry Malloy (Brando) tries to stand up against the mob. Brando is aided with great performances by Rod Steiger, Karl Malden, Eva Marie Saint, and Lee J. Cobb who were all Oscar nominated. These performances bolstered this film. This was Elia Kazan's best movie and it is definitely helpful that it has a great screenplay. Contrary to its main character, this film is a contender as a classic.

  • on the waterfront

    • steven king
    • 2/25/11

    Marlon Brando is my favorite actor and I believe that his performance in this movie represents a true landmarkn the American cinema. His charisma and screen presence is so magnetic, unlike any other actor that I have seen. I can understand how other actors could watch him in this movie and just go: "WOW." The ensemble of actors in this movie, from Ros Stiger to Lee J. Cobb to Karl Malden to Eva Marie Saint to Leif Erikson and their performances the others make this an unforgettable movie experience. I beileive this movie represented the personification of the so called "Method" school of acting at its finest. I also believe that 'The Godfather' marked a similar high water mark displaying the very best of the "Method" school some 20 years later. I believe it is no coincidence that Brando headed up that cast also.

  • Wow.

    • GenevieveRose
    • 2/10/10

    The accomplishments of this film cannot be expressed in words. Magnificent, raw, blue-collar, down in the dirt, and utterly REAL. This is a life story that tells the tale of those of us down here who are not in the money and really must live. This is Marlon Brando's GREATEST role, and Eva Marie Saint is flawless and unsurpassed in her role. Talk about a great, intense love story!And don't forget Karl Malden as the courageous, down-to-earth, fighting-Irish priest Father Barry who reminds us of the daily crucifixitions that take place all around us.

  • On the Waterfront

    • Pat Turman
    • 2/10/10

    What makes a great move? Great acting? Great direction? Likeable stars? State-of-the-art special effects? I submit that all great movies have one thing in common: a great story. 'On the Waterfront' has to be one of the greatest movies ever made simply because it is a well told story about characters we learn to care about. Not a single frame is wasted as momentum builds towards a riveting and suspenseful climax. From a storytelling point of view, it is a perfect movie.

  • Proved A Point

    • Minky
    • 12/29/09

    Elia Kazan proved a point and that is, that you can be anti-conservative or anti-Christian or even an anti-American but it is a definite no, no to be an anti- communist in Hollywood.

  • Annoyance

    • Jack The Hat
    • 12/29/09

    It is not hard to figure out the Hollywood elites annoyance with this film. The message states very cleary the union in the film represents the communist influnence in Hollywood and Terry (Marlin Brandow) is the one who is taken a stance against it.

  • Two questions...

    • Roger Rettig
    • 12/29/09

    Probably my favourite film of all time...WHY does Pat Hingle never get a credit for his (admittedly small) role as the bartender who talks 'boxing' with Malloy?Whatever happened to that tract that appeared in the credits - a rolling sequence that talks of 'right-thinking men... (who) stand up against tyranny...', etc, etc.When I saw this film (frequently at the Classic Cinema chain in London on re-runs) this item was a part of the film. However - I've never seen it since on TV showings. Was it removed, I wonder, because it was seen as Kazan's personal addition and an attempt to defuse criticism of his stand against 'anti-American activities'?It was either at the very beginning or at the very end of the movie; I can't now remember. Anyone else?

  • On the Waterfront (1954)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 9/17/09

    The performances in the film are incredible, and from everyone in the cast. They are all remarkable. Intense direction from Elia Kazan, very well edited and an outstanding screenplay. Superb character development, well photographed. A very powerful and moving film.

  • One Of The Best Dramas Of The 50's

    • Bruce Reber
    • 6/16/09

    "On The Waterfront" has to be one of the most powerful films ever made. It features a great cast, headlined by Marlon Brando's Oscar-winning performance as ex-boxer longshoreman Terry Malloy, Rod Steiger as his mobster brother Charley, Lee J. Cobb as docks mob boss Johnny Friendly, Karl Malden as the priest trying to get Terry and the other longshoremen to fight the mob, and Eva Marie Saint as the sister of Terry's friend who got killed. Elia Kazan directs maybe his best film ever, and there has been speculation that "On The Waterfront" reflects his experiences with being forced to give the names of his colleagues who were Communists or suspected of being Communists before HUAC so that he could continue to work in Hollywood. Because of that Kazan was hated by those he had betrayed, the same as Terry Malloy was in the film for testifying before the Waterfront Crime Commission and "doing the right thing".I have the DVD, but it's the fullscreen version and not the letterbox aired on TCM. Four Stars!!!

  • A MUST SEE

    • ASHLEY
    • 4/12/09

    IT'S BRANDO AND IT'S GREAT LOVE IT A MUST SEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • masterpiece

    • Brando4ever
    • 8/11/07

    Beautiful, wonderful film. A true classic masterpiece. Great story with a beautiful, tender love story.

  • one of the greatest cienamatic masterpieces.

    • michael
    • 7/19/07

    A brilliant study of human redemption.With marlon brando in top form his performance is more than likely the greatest performances of all time young actors need to take notes. Great supporting work to especially that of Karl marlden which tries to stop marlon from commiting a crime. This is a keeper.

  • My (other) favorite movie

    • broadwayphantom
    • 5/18/07

    I believe that 99 % of all the components of this film were brilliantly presented:the score (Bernstein: what an enthralling [musical]introductory to the film), the direction (Kazan: with a personal poignance), the leading actors (...Brando...need I say more?), the supporting actors (Well, I should: Malden, Cobb, Saint, Steiger {all gave a profound/stirring performances}), the screenplay (several immortal lines ["I coulda been a contender..."]), etc. All and all, this film is a masterpeice (and it rightly deserved every Oscar it garnered)!

  • The dawn of a new era in acting

    • Dan
    • 5/2/07

    The aspect ratio of 1.85:1 works for me in this powerful film. What was the big deal of it not shot in Cinemascope, since they could've done it in that way. The film wasn't in color either, but does it really matter. Critics everywere hail it as one of the top 100 films of all time. Brando gives a riveting and all too real performance that set new standards with great actors of today. Watching this film makes you really care for his character... .

  • Not Widescreen

    • Max Brinck
    • 3/31/07

    This film was supposedly shot at a ratio of 1.33:1, or so says the DVD case. So, the next question is why TCM imposed a masked picture @ approximately 1.85:1. Some of the original image might have been sacrificed.This is not uncommon practice and might be done for the sake of today's widescreen displays. It would be interesting if TCM would tell its viewers what the original aspect ratio was and what, if any modifications have been made. (For any of its films, where the aspect ratio might be in question). As for the film itself, enough superlatives have been showered on this masterpiece. Suffice to say, it simply must remain in the top ten all-time greatest American films.

  • In regards to widescreen comment

    • Tracy
    • 11/20/06

    Somebody commented on the movie being shown in widescreen format on TCM...Yes, it's a 1954 movie, and it was shot in a "flat" format (as opposed to Cinemascope) but that still means it can have an 1.85:1 aspect ratio, like most movies today that are not shot in anamorphic 'scope.It's a milder form of letterboxing (with 1.85:1 movies) than with Cinemascope ones, but it still works.

  • Best Movie...with a Dramatic Punch

    • Sam Wilson
    • 3/13/06

    I saw On The Waterfront for the first time last year and I loved it! Marlon Brando is my hero in that movie! I've watched the whole movie and the ending was so dramatic. The Contender scene is definitely my fave. This dramatic classic tells a story about an ex-boxer, Terry Malloy, who struggles to stand up against the corruptive union bosses, with a help of his dead man's girlfriend, Edie Doyle, and a tough priest, Father Barry. This movie won 8 Oscars for Best Director, Best Supporting Actress, Best Actor, and Best Picture. I give it 10 out of 10!

  • WHAT'S GOING ON HERE

    • JIM NEILAND
    • 2/12/06

    PLEASE EXPLAIN THE FOLLOWING CONTRADICTIONS...ON THE WATERFRONT SHOT IN 1954 AND THEREFORE CAPABLE OF BEING SHOT IT WIDESCREEN...WASN'T. YET ON MORE THAN OCCASION, TCM HAS SHOWN THE MOVIE LETTERBOXED (LOOKS LIKE 1.85) I HAVE NEVER HEARD THEM COMMENT ON THIS. THE FILM LOOKS GREAT IN WIDESCREEN, AS I BELIEVE ALL FILMS DO. IF THEY CAN AND DO, DO THIS WITH ON THE WATERFRONT, WHY NOT WITH OTHER GREAT FILMS, SUCH AS GONE WITH THE WIND, ETC. ALL OPINIONS AND COMMENTS WILL BE MUCH APPRECIATED, INCLUDEING THOSE FROM THE STATION. REGARDS, FELLOW FILM LOVERS

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.