skip navigation
Nevada Smith

Nevada Smith(1966)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • One of McQueen's best

    • Fisher M.T
    • 9/19/18

    NEVADA SMITH is a morality play, for sure, but at the same time, it's a good dose of entertainment put into one of the 1960s best Westerns. We have a top-notch cast under the hand of one of Hollywood's finest directors (Who really has never gotten his due when it comes to film historians.), and Lucien Ballard's outstanding cinematography, plus Alfred Newman's theme, which you find yourself tapping on your desk for days.I agree with an earlier reviewer that Brian Keith walks off with the movie. Despite the fact that everyone is terrific in this, he outshines them all. He makes Jonas Cord a likable cuss, and it makes one want to weep, when you realize what happens to the man later in life. You really don't want to see him have such a sad end. Malden, Kennedy, and Landau (and Keith, come to think of it) were the types who could portray lovable fellas or despicable villains whom you couldn't wait to see die and do wonderful jobs either way.Hathaway takes this cast, plus all the outstanding actresses, and molds them into a tale that reminds us that vengeance only leads to our own destruction. And at the end, Max Sand realizes there are better ways to destroy his enemy than by killing him. Therefore the priest is the actual victor. Poppa Tiya.

  • response to previous review

    • kevin sellers
    • 8/3/18

    To answer previous reviewer Bill Larstead's query the gal who plays the voluptuous blonde widow of sociopath Jesse Coe is none other than Joanna Moore, a fine actress who is unfortunately best known for being the abused first wife of Ryan O'Neill and then suffering consequent crackups and career slides. Other credits include a small role in "Touch Of Evil" as well as guest spots on a slew of great TV series like "Gunsmoke", "Route 66", and "Andy Griffith". As to why she's uncredited in such a prominent role your guess is as good as mine, Bill. Maybe she thought, as I do, that this film is kinda blah and didn't want to have her name attached to it. Or maybe producer Joe Levine or director Henry Hathaway, a notable curmudgeon, had it in for her. If there are any Joanna Moore fans out there who do know why her name's not on the screen I hope they read this and respond.

  • nevada smith

    • kevin sellers
    • 8/3/18

    Typical hit and miss Henry Hathaway film. The big whiff is inordinate length with pacing that is as slow as a beer truck. Another major flub is a screenplay by the eminently mundane John Michael Hayes which, in trying to be more than just an entertaining Western but rather straining to instruct us in Moral Life Lessons such as the Uselessness Of Vengeance, becomes a bore, a status that is officially enshrined when Raf Vallone's folksy but long winded priest comes on the scene. (Priests are in general a dangerous temptation for the ponderous screenwriter.) Hits, on the other hand, include good music by Alfred Newman, painterly cinematography by the great Lucien Ballard, a better than average McQueen performance, and, the big home run, a veritable cornucopia of great 1060s Hollywood character actors. Let's list them, shall we: Karl Malden, Arthur Kennedy, Martin Landau, Brian Keith, Suzanne Pleshette, Howard Da Silva, Pat Hingle , Paul Fix and Joanna Moore. It is these fine thesps that lift this pic to C plus status. P.S. Blink and you miss an uncredited Strother Martin playing a horny cowboy named...are you ready?...Strother.

  • steve mcqueen..the attorney general you can trust.

    • a.morris
    • 7/20/18

    the star of this wanted revenge like a guy who saw European vacation and caddy shack 2 on the same night.

  • Steve McQueen grows from boy to man in movie

    • Lynda Cooper
    • 10/9/16

    I think this is one of Steve McQeen's best movies. He can say more with a look than with a line. I love the story and the supporting actors. I love how the story takes the innocence of a boy to a boy with nothing but revenge as his goal in life. Then as he grows into a man begins to learn the lesson Stark was trying to teach him. Revenge leads to nothing but killing and death, not necessarily a physical death but death of a soul. I love the ending as he realizes this.This is a movie that you can watch over and over and never get tired of. From the director, to the composer to the actors, this movie will be among the best of westerns.

  • Nevada Smith

    • Bill Larstead
    • 7/21/15

    I can't believe the river boat captain is listed in the credits, who had but 2 lines, but the gorgeous blond who plays the widow Coe who had a very memorable scene w/ Max Sand in her bedroom is NOT listed. Does anyone know the name of this actress? What other films or TV shows did she appear in?

  • Very 1960s

    • Alexei
    • 3/9/15

    I couldn't accept McQueen as a "halfbreed." The character is a kind of a simpleton or so it seems. The best parts of this movie are the spectacular scenery and a very believable Brian Keith who really owns this movie.

  • Nevada Smith

    • Bruce C
    • 1/7/12

    A very under rated Steve McQueen vehicle. Brain Keith develops a lot of the film'swarmth and gritty guidance of McQueen's character with his own persona. The twocreated some noticeable on screen chemistry. The video locations are some of the best - very vivid - like a western should encompass. Its a well put together movie.

  • We need this movie in blu ray

    • Sandra
    • 6/19/11

    I think that Steve Mcqueen delivers a good and believeable performance in Nevada Sm, 1966. This western is one of the better put together stories, it works. I would like to see this movie in blu ray, soon.

  • Gorgeous Scenery

    • Christine
    • 3/24/10

    The cinemaphotography in this movie is awesome. Some of the most beautiful country on the planet, and except for the obvious scenes in the Lousiana swamps, it was filmed right here in my own state of California. Owens Valley, Inyo National Forest, Bishop and our beautiful Sierras. The scenery was the true star of this movie. Steve McQueen is always good, but the movie compares nothing to the book. I don't know if you've read The Carpetbaggers, it was a very good book but way, way more violent then anything the movie could have portrayed. The way Nevada Smith killed the three men in the book still gives me chills when I think about it. I've always heard that the book was a loose adaptation of Howard Hughes' life, can't remember why.So regardless of how good or bad the movie is, for me, I couldn't take my eyes off the scenery.

  • Nevada Smith (1966)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 9/17/09

    Very well produced, excellent cinematography and score. It's a good story but way overlong. The period detail is only fair. It wasn't always authentic looking. The performances are fine. Great use of location filming.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.