skip navigation
Murder By Death

Murder By Death(1976)

  • Friday, January 9 @ 08:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Murder By Death A criminal madman invites the... MORE > $7.49 Regularly $14.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • And then their were None

    • John Orlando
    • 1/15/14

    I guess Neil Simon did not feel he had to give any credit to Agatha Christie. Funny movie but give credit where credit is due.

  • HIL-ARI-OUS!!

    • BamaFilmFan
    • 5/19/13

    This is one of my all-time favorites. The amazing cast deliver hilarious caricatures of the great mystery detectives. I laugh through it every time I watch. I'm a mystery fan, a comedy fan, and a film fan. This pic flips every switch!

  • Just Funny

    • biglsworth
    • 5/18/13

    C'mon! Did you guys have a bad dinner? This is so funny and just fun to watch, can't imagine not enjoying it. I'm critical of most movies, but this is well worth the watch. Observe closely, adopted son!

  • Guilty Pleasure

    • Hoosierboyd
    • 5/18/13

    Some movies may be disappointing and that's so with this one. Although with a cast and screenwriter like this, we have reason to have high expectations. And these same movies can become guilty pleasures if one dials down those expectations. There are moments here that still make me laugh out loud. (Nancy Walker as the deaf maid is truly hilarious, in my humble opinion.) Eileen Brennan always tickles my funny bone. So even while I count this as one of my guilty pleasures, the bottom line is that this cast (especially Sellers) doesn't get to shine as much as we all had hoped.

  • I wish I could say I liked it more

    • ojc
    • 9/26/12

    Great cast, famous writer, clever idea. But the film simply does not work. The Sam Diamond material with Peter Falk is excellent. In fact if they had his character, Eileen Brennan, James Coco, and the Charlestons, and cut down on all the twists on twists they might have had something. It is almost like Neil Simon and the producers were so worried that the audience would be bored they just layered more and more spoofy elements togehter until the whole thing just sags under its own weight. Peter Sellers material is not politically incorrect it simply is not funny enough for an actor of his great talent. The Miss Marple character is not worthy of Elsa Lancaster either. Too much that simply does not hold the viewers interest. Oddly the Alec Guiness material occasionally hits the spot.Mel Brooks understood in Young Frankenstein, that for a spoof to work for two hours, has to retain some of the fun and flavor of the original. This one just doesn't get the job done. Still it is fun for a few moments here and there.

  • Not as funny as it used to be

    • Tilis
    • 9/24/12

    There was a time when I would have considered this film a modern comedy classic. Just saw it again for the first time in years and I can't quite understand what I thought was so great about it in the first place. Only a couple of chuckles in this one. Lots of racist remarks, however. Some movies just don't stand the test of time. **

  • Top Five All Time Comedies!

    • Glennjamin
    • 9/23/12

    A favorite of mine from childhood. One of my top ten films of all time, this is an absolutely brilliant murder mystery parody. One that can only be possible with the cast that's been assembled here. The superb writing and skillful timing of this great ensemble cast is just pure fun.

  • Classic Fun & Funny!

    • R. Burton
    • 8/3/11

    Perfect cast, the kind of movie Hollywood is scared to make today!

  • Murder By Death

    • Bill
    • 1/21/11

    I love this movie. Sadly, I was unable to see it all last night (1-20-11). Another of the"all-star" cast movies we once were lucky enough to see in the 60's and 70's era's. A funny twist on the who-done-it with the right development. From Truman Capote to Alec Guinness it is fluid. Maggie Smith delivers a tremendous influence to the audience. It is a movie that sadly does not get enough air time. Eileen Brennan's chemistry with Peter Falk's character is so realistic. "Sam, why do you keep those....." I highly recommend this movie. Do not be surprised to see Peter Sellers character does not steal the show.

  • Murder By Death (1976)

    • James Higgins
    • 2/7/10

    Fun and very silly comedy with a great cast, some very funny gags. Great pace and tremendously entertaining. Maggie Smith stand out in the cast, but everyone is terrific. Well written and clever spoof.

  • Great Date Movie

    • Paul Robinson
    • 3/25/06

    A first date favorite - no tension, just plenty of laughs, inside jokes, and sight gags.

  • I laughed so hard....

    • FrankieCee
    • 3/24/06

    This movie has made me laugh, out loud, till I cried ever since I first saw it years ago. This "spoof" on this genre of classic "Super sleuth" movies has got to be the funniest EVER made, bar none. You don't have to be "blind" to see that, lol. Thank you, Bensonsir, that's "mum". What? That's Bensonmum! M'am? HAHAHAHAHA!

  • Favorite Comedy

    • Keith
    • 1/23/06

    One of my favorite comedy movie. A great cast, and a funny script. You never know how it would end until the end.

  • Murder by Death - 2 Thumbs up (and no pinkys)

    • Kevin
    • 1/23/06

    Fantastic movie! Great! Fonominal! Perceft. Hillarius!!!!! It features all the great detectives of the time. And the first time you see it, its a stumper. And then you watch it again and it makes perfect sence.

  • Murder by Death review

    • Sandra Thon
    • 1/22/06

    This movie always reminds me of playing the game CLUE as a kid. It is really funny, the character's couldn't get any richer! Peter Falk is great in this film.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.