skip navigation
Gift of Love: A Christmas Story, The

Gift of Love: A Christmas Story, The(1983)

Contribute

FOR Gift of Love: A Christmas Story, The (1983) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Gift of Love: A... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Gift of Love: A Christmas Story

    • Becki
    • 11/3/13

    I have been looking for this movie for years too! I saw it in 1983, the year I graduated from high school. I was born in Elyria, Ohio, the setting for a portion of the movie. I live just a few miles away now. I loved the movie and I'm glad to finally have found it.

  • Amazing Story

    • Joanne McGraw
    • 7/24/13

    I seen this movie when it premiered in 1983 and have never forgotten it. I have been looking for a copy of this movie for years and hopefully soon it will happen. It is a wonderful story.

  • The Gift of Love

    • Trudy
    • 7/18/13

    I have been hunting this movie FOR YEARS!!! I always thought it was called The Christmas Ghost. A remarkable film and I want it for my collection!!!!!

  • The Gift of Love: A Christmas Story now on DVD

    • Dick Atkins
    • 12/23/12

    I produced this movie all those years ago, a great experience especially with those three special ladies.I only discovered all the continuing interest from people who've loved the movie, and it prompted me to want to get a transfer done for all those people who've been anxious to find it again. (For a couple of reasons, it was never officially released on vhs or dvd.)I have the only remaining production tapes of the movie, so I've been able to make the best transfer to DVD - and the only authorized one. I've been making it available to people who contact me directly (afilms@aol.com), and just as of this week have made it available thru Amazon, at http://www.amazon.com/The-Gift-Love-Christmas-Story/dp/B00AQ8IUJ4Feel free to contact me directly, or look for it on Amazon. Enjoy!

  • Lost classic

    • Wayne
    • 12/10/12

    I remember the first telecasting of this film, then repeats, then it disappeared. Through the years I lost my father, my best friend, my mother and I longed to see this film again and be nourished about. Finally, last week I found it on DVD on the internet, purchased it, had it in two days and watched it Sunday. It is as glorious as I remembered, with beautifully fashioned performances from Lee Remick and Angela Lansbury and an absolutely luminous portrayal by Polly Holliday. Beautiful cinematography and settings. If you are lucky enough to find a copy, you will find yourself returning it to it again and again. Poignantly, many of the actors themselves are now gone.

  • the gift of love a Christmas story

    • steph
    • 12/5/12

    It made such an impact on me many years ago when I saw it on television. Sadly, I haven't seen it since. I have asked several family and friends if they have seen this movie before and they haven't heard of it. I have told so many of friends and family about it, now they wish to see it. Please release the movie for tv or dvd, so others can have the opportunity to be touched by such a beautiful story.

  • One of the Better Christmas Movies

    • William Boswell
    • 12/5/12

    I taped this when it first aired and am glad I did because I never saw it repeated again since then. I wish this would come out on DVD because I'm wearing my copy out. This is one of the best Christmas TV movies ever made.

  • A Gift of Love: A Christmas Story

    • Robin
    • 12/3/12

    This movie was a favorite of mine and my mom's. She really loved Christmas and we always watched this movie together. I lost my mom to Cancer in 1993. I have a bad VHS of this movie that I have watched alone since losing my mom. I would be so greatful to have this movie on DVD.

  • the gift of love.

    • diana lynn williams
    • 11/14/12

    this is a very touching movie. i saw it once on tv and have not seen it since ..lee remick was great in it and angela lansbury was very good. I look for it every christmas. I hope they play it again. its a good family movie that everyone can enjoy.

  • A Gift of Love, a Christmas Story

    • Deidre Rogers
    • 3/23/12

    I remember this movie from long ago, and what a wonderful story , and great performances all round.I have only seen it the one time, so long ago, but have never forgotten it. Please make it available to see again , so others may enjoy it too.Deidre Rogers

  • The Gift of Love: A Christmas Story

    • SLV
    • 2/18/12

    This is a favorite film of my mom and I. It is somewhat of a tradition to watch it together from year to year. However, we only have a 1983 VHS copy from television. It's a bit difficult to watch, quality-wise. This is a GREAT family film with a heart-warming message. PLEASE release it ~ put it on television again, and/or put it on DVD for sale for the fans!

  • The gift of love with Lee Remick

    • Jodie
    • 12/23/11

    This was one of my favorite movies and I think of it often. It was one of the best Christmas movies. So Please, Please show it on TCM.....It is a classic that I know many would love to see and see again. Let me know if it is available on DVD.

  • A GIFT OF LOVE: A chirstmas Story

    • SANDI
    • 12/26/10

    I watched this movie years ago and had the good sense to record it from TV (my only copy). My mom was alive back then and I realize how much we take for granted! I would love to own this movie on DVD as my VHS tape isn't very good anymore. It is well worth watching and I would love to see it released on DVD. If you ever get the rare opportunity to see this movie I strongly suggest you watch it. As for TCM please play it soon!

  • Love this movie

    • Peggy
    • 1/23/10

    I love the story and it really makes you think about your own life. It is a very heart warming and touching movie.

  • This truly rates as a Christmas "classic"

    • Barbara
    • 1/3/10

    I would love to buy this on DVD for myself, family, and friends. It is truly a Christmas classic. Lee Remick and Angela Lansbury give very strong performances, and the story has much to teach and inspire us. It is so much better than the dime a dozen Christmas movies that have been releaed in the last few years. It is interesting to me that it has a devoted following (as I have seen out on the internet every Christmas season when I try to track it down) but TCM has not released or shown it. Classics do belong on TCM so please both show this wonderful movie and release it for us to enjoy year after year. Thank you.

  • Please

    • Linda
    • 11/10/09

    Please have this aired or put on DVD. I have been waiting for years to have this back on tv. Please have it closed-captioned. Christmas is coming and I would love to see this again. My mom never saw this and she would like to see it!

  • INSPIRATIONAL MOVIE

    • TERRY VIOLA
    • 11/8/09

    I ALSO LOVE THIS MOVIE AND CAN'T BELIEVE THAT IT HAS NOT BEEN MADE AVAILABLE ON DVD OR HAS NOT BEEN SHOWN ON TV SINCE IT'S AIRING IN 1983. I HAD A COPY ON VHS BUT UNFORTUNATELY COPIED OVER IT. PLEASE SHOW THIS MOVIE AND MAKE IT AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE. THERE ARE A LOT OF US OUT HERE THAT WANT A COPY. PLEASE CONSIDER THIS MOVIE. THANKS.

  • Such a Special Movie

    • Christina
    • 4/28/08

    This movie always reminds me of all the Christmas' I would watch this with my mom as we prepared food for Christmas dinner.My mom is gone now taken by cancer like Lee Remick. Today would have been my mom's birthday and I am watching this movie because it reminds me of happier days. I recorded this movie in 1983 on VHS when it was released on TV. My copy is not great since it has been watched so many times, but it still brings me closer to my mom just being able to watch a lovely movie that we both cherished so much.It is more than just a Christmas movie it is a movie about remembering the importance of the special things we so often take for granted like loved ones.Please TCM put this on your list this year for holiday movies or even for Christmas in July!!!!!!!So many people are begging for copies of this on IMDB. I know you would make so many people happy to see this movie on air without commercials.

  • GREAT FAMILY CLASSIC

    • JANIE
    • 12/29/07

    LOVE THIS MOVIE. MAKES YOU REALIZE HOW IMPORTANT YOUR FAMILY IS OVER EVERYTHING ELSE. THE KIND OF CHRISTMAS WE DREAM OF.

  • Heartwarming, touching

    • Mary Morris
    • 12/1/07

    A wonderful heartwarming story of love. We can all learn from this movie. Too bad we don't have movies like this one now. We did more. Lee Remick and Angela Lansbury were excellent in this movie. My husband and I love this movie.

  • Should be a Holiday Classic

    • Candee Forbes
    • 11/29/07

    This is a wonderful movie and I have been wanting to see it every year since TBS quit running it.I keep looking for it year after year hoping Mr. Turner will FINALLY release the rights to it.Why would you want to hold onto something that in this day and time sorely needs to be seen. And, would bring so much pleasure and joy not only to those of us who DID get to see it those 2 years it ranbut also, to the many others who may enjoy it just as much if they had a chance to see it. How about it Mr. Turner?? It could very well become a classic.....Please release it!!!!!!!

  • The Gift of Love: A Christmas Story

    • Frances
    • 4/8/07

    I saw this movie for two years running at Christmas time. Lee Remick and Angela Lansbury were excellent in their roles. I thought the background music was extremely good. I would love to have a copy of this movie on DVD.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.