skip navigation
The Last Picture Show

The Last Picture Show(1971)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Last Picture Show Changing times take their toll... MORE > $66.99 Regularly $99.95 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Monotonous

    • TK
    • 2/28/14

    A great cast but that's all in my opinion. It's about people looking for happiness and the meaning of life in a small isolated Texas town that offers neither. The movie jumps repeatedly between members of this ensemble for two hours and nothing really changes. You know their story after the first time around. The rest is like watching freight cars roll by while you're stuck at a railroad crossing. This may be what the movie intends in order to make a point. Some may find it poignant and artistic. To each their own. I found it monotonous.

  • The Last Great Film of the Golden Era

    • Trish
    • 2/25/14

    Peter Bogdanovich freely admits that most of the crew despised him during the making of this film. Who wouldn't? . He demanded endless retakes, insulted seasoned cinematographers and lighting designers by insisting on complete control, and even forbade crew members to sit with actors during lunch -- or even speak to them. He was willing to alienate everyone around him, in order to capture cinematic brilliance. He succeeded. The film works so well precisely because Bogdanovich fearlessly took on sacred American myths about the old west on their head. Isolating the cast seems to have worked -- the entire ensemble is superb. I'm delighted that the film continues to disturb, all of these decades later. A standout achievement, even for this golden age of filmmaking!

  • The Last Picture Show

    • Matthias
    • 10/29/13

    While this may not be a review in the typical sense, this film is surely one of my favorites. The topics of growing up, isolation, jealousy and relationships, love and work are all touched upon in a recognizable way that allows the viewer to really take the film in. In regard to Joyce and her opinion of this film being "filthy" and full of terrible language and sexuality and TCM abandoning its Hollywood roots for "weird" films, all I can say is - if you don't like it, don't watch it. The nudity is brief and hardly grounds to necessitate a description using the word "filth". The language and hand-gestures are just as much a part of the economic and cultural backdrop of this film as the dirt roads and blue collar jobs and pool-halls frequented by the protagonists. I'm very curious what makes a film "weird" and "filthy", by any standard. This surely isn't pornographic or exploitative by any means. Have you considered the setting? It certainly doesn't take place in upper-class, turn-of-the-century London where everybody is prim and proper. That should be taken into consideration. Also, this movie and TCM may not cater to your every whim and fancy, but that surely isn't grounds to write either off, in my opinion. I'm not a fan of seafood, but I don't abandon a great restaurant because it serves fish as a special on the night I decide to eat there, I simply won't order it. I hope you catch the analogy if you ever read this review.If you think this movie is weird and/or filthy, I would LOVE to hear your thoughts on David Lynch, Vincent Gallo, John Waters or Harmony Korine films or films from someone a little lesser off the beaten path like Ken Russel or Russ Meyer. The films they wrote/directed make "The Last Picture Show" seem like a middle-school dance.

  • The Last Picture Show

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 6/19/12

    A great film that echoed a new era of filmmaking. The great ensemble cast has many good scenes. Johnson & Leachman won Oscars for their supporting work, while Bridges & Burstyn were also nominated. Robert Surtees' beautiful B/W cinematography is a perfect union for Bogdanovich's adaptation of McMurtry's best novel. A powerful, gritty look at small town life that must be viewed. I give it a 5/5.

  • The Last Picture

    • Bruce Reber
    • 8/12/11

    I'd like to add that the "last picture" Duane (Jeff Bridges) and Sonny (Tim Bottoms) were watching in the Royal theater was "Red River", directed by Howard Hawks and co-starring Ben Johnson, who played Sam The Lion. Also, I forgot to mention Ellen Burstyn, another of the great cast, who played Jacy's (Sybill Sheperd) drunk mom Lois.

  • Excellent 70's Cinema

    • Bruce Reber
    • 8/12/11

    "The Last Picture Show" (1971) is one of the first great films of the 70's. It's an intentionally dark and downbeat story of life in Anarene, a bleak small Texas town during the early 1950's, focusing on the interraction between and the personal relationships of its denizens. Larry McMurtry's story is played out by an exceptional cast (Sybill Shepherd in her film debut, Jeff Bridges, brothers Timothy and Sam bottoms, Eileen Brennan, Randy Quaid, Ben Johnson and Cloris Leachman both in Oscar-winning performances, and many others), under the supervision of director Peter Bogdanovich. Robert Surtees' fantastic black & white cinematography perfectly conveys the film's dismal and dark atmosphere, and Country & Western legend Hank Williams' music playing on the soundtrack also adds to the overall mood. One of the all-time classics - four stars!

  • 'Joyce'...

    • Jhaemes
    • 8/8/11

    ...and her 'many friends that have cancelled you' (it may be just me, but I detect a desperate fib attributed to outrage to bolster her argument; ie: outrage = inability to grasp..well, anything....about this absolute gem of a film) should maybe stick to watching sanitized family fare/musicals, and nothing pre-code, post-code, noir, art-house, independent....etc.....is her last name Hayes? I love ignorant commentary, when folks so completely miss the point. Makes me giggle. :-)It's amazing that there are still some people think that life is not actually like that (and far worse!) for many, many people; must be nice to be enclosed in a perfect little bubble where there is no profanity, nudity, bias, lyrics, opinions, arguments, violence, torment, personal demons, etc. etc. etc.....

  • The Last Picture Show (1971)

    • James Higgins
    • 1/10/10

    Peter Bogdonovich's brilliant film is easily one of the finest films made in the 1970's. The acting ensemble is incredible. Cloris Leachman very much deserved her Oscar, as did Ben Johnson. Ellen Burstyn, Jeff Bridges and Timothy Bottoms are all incredible. Even Cybill Shepherd is good! Extremely well written, gloriously filmed in black and white which adds so much to the movie. It's a superb film in every respect.

  • Oh yes, it's accurate...

    • david lincoln brooks
    • 7/12/07

    THE LAST PICTURE SHOW is moving and discomfiting for me to watch... I grew up in just such a monochrome, bleak Texas rural town. Bogdanovich and McMurtry have created a real American classic, told in the proper Texas vernacular. I think Bogdanovich basically wanted this film to be fairly excruciating... [Now factor in the fact that I was gay, growing up in just such an unforgiving milieu!]. The music emanating from radios and jukeboxes in this film is meant to indicate entertainment, but paradoxically, it just makes the mood bleaker... the lyrics of the songs have seemingly very little to do with the action onscreen... But this is a great American film...

  • An Magnificent Film

    • David
    • 7/12/07

    Peter Bogdanovich's "The Last Picture Show" is one of the most deeply emotional, beautifully poignant films ever made. I am always incredibly moved every time I see it. "Joyce" should really stick to watching "The Old Time Gospel Hour" and reruns of "Green Acres", and not overtax either her intellect or her "morals" (not to mention her spelling ability) with things that are obviously beyond her...like this and all them durn furreign movies. I wonder if she's familiar with the passage from the Bible that goes "....Cast ye not pearls before swine...". "The Last Picture Show" is one hell of a pearl.

  • An American Classic

    • Allen
    • 2/7/07

    Truly, one of the twenty-five finest American films. The pathos to be found in a simple small town is breathtaking. Why anyone would object to some of its content is obscure, because it depicts life in all its aspects. A deeply moving piece of cinema.

  • You'be got to be kidding

    • Dave
    • 11/21/06

    Joyce needs to get her head out of the sand. This movie is regarded as a classic by every movie critic! The title of the network is TURNER "CLASSIC" MOVIES not movies approved by Joyce. What a joke.

  • Excellent Movie

    • Carrie
    • 9/27/06

    I find it sad that sometimes people can't get past the rough edges to see the real soul of a film. I found this film to be moving, complex, and amazingly acted and directed. I probably would have never seen it had it not been on your network this week. Thanks for showing it.

  • Filthy

    • Joyce
    • 9/27/06

    Your Guest commentater on September 25th showed as his favorite films Dinner at 8 and Now Voyager and even the Fountainhead which was less of a classic but still a good clean movie. Then came this filthy movie of The Last Picture Show which made no sense and was just plain nasty. Cursing and sex is not TCM quality. Please keep this trash off the screen. I watch Turner Classic movies to avoid this trash. As Louis B. Mayer said :" I don't want any movie that I can't take my children to. Your evening viewing is getting to be raunchy and strange and many of my friends have canceled you because you have disregaurded Old Hollywood for strange and unpopular viewing like these foreign films and films like the Last Picture Show. I hope that it is the last.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.