skip navigation
It Happened One Christmas

It Happened One Christmas(1977)

Contribute

FOR It Happened One Christmas (1977) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

It Happened One... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • it happened one christmas

    • mike kidd
    • 1/8/14

    i love this classic please sell or show on tv its a must see

  • It Happened One Christmas

    • William Boswell
    • 12/5/12

    I have been waiting years for this to come out on DVD. I used to have a copy of it on VHS, but it was lost many years ago. I vaguely remember this ran on a pay channel (Showtime?) then disappeared. Why is it all the great Christmas movies never make it to DVD? I love Marlo Thomas in this movie and wish they would release it to DVD.

  • I love this movie

    • Lanette
    • 6/15/12

    I will always remember this movie. Marlo Thomas and Cloris Leachman did a marvelous job with this movie. I miss not seeing it. It has been 22 years since I seen it last, but would love to see it again and have a DVD of it.

  • It Happened One Christmas

    • Cathy Vasselin
    • 6/2/12

    This is definitely one of the classics. I don't understand why these classics don't run on TV any more. I remember a time when everyone in the family couldn't wait for the holiday season to see these types of movies. Unfortunately in this era we are stuck with regular programming. Whatever happened to the classics being shown on TV.

  • LISTEN TO EVERYONE!!!

    • Courtney
    • 11/14/11

    WE ALL LOVE THIS SHOW!!! Please put it out on dvd,,,,,, by the looks of it you'll make more money selling them!! This show is one that will be shown for generations!! I recorded it when it was on tv and i still show my kids this and they also love it. Please let us have this timeless classic and let it live on.

  • Please Put this out :)

    • Robin
    • 6/22/11

    Christmas has not been the same since this went off the air! If it can't be sold as a DVD please at least play it at some point, Christmas in July - anytime would be GREAT!! THANKS!!

  • It happened one Christmas.

    • william oliver
    • 12/13/10

    I simply love this film. A real heartfelt and tear jerking time. I just wish they would release this on DVD.

  • It Happened One Christmas

    • Bonnie
    • 12/11/10

    One of the best Christmas movies. Please show this one again and release it on DVD. Don't let a good thing go to waste. Young people of today could greatly benefit.

  • It Happened One Christmas

    • Elizabeth Ann
    • 12/8/10

    What A Great Movie!!! Please Consider showing this movingduring the Christmas Season!!! It's the Best I'm trying tofind a copy either VHS or DVD!!!

  • It Happened One Christmas

    • wombmate
    • 8/4/10

    WOW! I just read 4 years worth of reviews, just begging you to 1) show this film again and 2) release it on DVD. LET ME ADD MY VOTE! This is at least as good as "It's a Wonderful Live", and certainly hasn't been shown anywhere in nearly 30 years. It's not too soon to suggest that you put this on your Christmas season line up in 2010!! Also, it would be great to get it released on DVD as a Christmas special (or possibly in a package release with some of the other great and unsung/rarely shown Christmas films like the 1947 "Miracle on 34th Street" - the best version) and simultaneously promote the DVD and film on your show.There are so many lousy Christmas movies out there on cable/networks in the last decade that we long for the good ones to share with our families. Please grant us all a very special Christmas gift this season in 2010!!!I missed "It Happened" in 1977 (had no VCR then) but caught it in the early 1980's when it was shown again on the networks. Wonderful" was already in the public domain since the copywrite expired in 1974, and by the late 70's it was being shown simultaneously on every network on the dial continually through December, year after year, and it was becoming almost tiresome, despite being a supurb film. These days, "Wonderful" gets maybe one showing on some network, jammed between continuous commercials. If you don't own it on DVD, it's barely enjoyable to watch a TV showing. "It Happened" was a refreshing point of view on the original, and I've looked for it every year to be shown somewhere, to no avail.

  • it happened one christmas

    • susan krejci
    • 3/20/10

    I love this movie as much as I love It's A Wonderful Life. I have a copy on VHS and I never miss a Christmas without this movie. I would love to have it on DVD to put with my collection. It is a must see for everyone.

  • It happened one christmas

    • Charles Mackey
    • 3/1/10

    I taped this on VHS way back when it was on TV in about 1982and was transferring it to DVD but, the quality is so bad now, Ithought I might be able to copy it again from TCM or FOX moviesand I can't find it. Yesterday I watched it again and it's every bitas good as It's a wonderful life. This movie should be shown likeWonderful Life and let people see what a wonderful movie it is.I'm retired Air Force and love James Stewart but Marlo Thomasevery bit as good as him in this remake of the classic movie.If you watch this movie be sure to have a tissue in hand becauseyour going to cry your eyes out. It's just a wonderful movie!

  • please bring back this movie

    • elizabeth
    • 2/7/09

    I would like to have this movie in my home we need more family films that show family support in these times. Holliwood has forgotten how to write without profanity and vulgarity.

  • it happened one christmas

    • lreverma
    • 12/17/08

    i would love to see this again i haven't seen it for 20 years. marlo thomas is good in it, not as good as jimmy stewart, but still worth watching.

  • It Happened One Christmas - Bring It Back!

    • Steven S
    • 12/16/08

    It Happened One Christmas with Marlo Thomas is one of my favorite movies of all time. I love this version with Marlo Thomas and it's just not Christmas without this movie! Please consider bringing it back and running it again year after year. With the world and the economy the way it is today, we need a little spirit of Christmas and something to believe in and this movie does just that!

  • Please put this Cristmas Treasure on DVD

    • John Christian
    • 11/29/08

    A delightful, warm. cozy Christmas movie with a great message. I enjoy comparing this film to the original: "It's a Wonderful Life" I believe this made for TV film was nominated for or received several Emmy's. Our family looked forward to viewing it each Christmas and then it disappeared??? We actually enjoy it more than "It's a Wonderful Life." It would be a dream come true to one day see it made into a DVD.

  • It will forever be written in my heart

    • Sparky
    • 7/21/08

    Marlow Thomas was excellent in her lead roll in this film. IT's a wonderful life just didn't have the same zing. How about bringing it back. I would buy it and sell it in my store.

  • It Happened One Christmas

    • Beth
    • 4/6/08

    This is a great movie that has left an impression on me so strong that I have searched almost everywhere for it. Thanks to TCM, I now know why I couldn,t find it. I hope that, thanks to TCM, I will eventually be able to buy it.

  • Memorable Movie

    • Griselda Acosta
    • 12/25/07

    This movie aired only once back in 1977 before It's a Wonderful Life ever aired on television. It's an incredible movie and even though its thirty years later I still remember scenes from it. Like the original it has a powerful and positive impact on the viewer.

  • Better than it's A Wonderful Life

    • Sue E
    • 12/7/07

    Please makethis remake available on DVD. It is an excellent remake and not tiresome like the original has become.

  • This would be a Christmas Classic too!

    • Laura M. Walker
    • 11/23/07

    I remember seeing this in 1977 on TV andabsolutely loved it! I recorded it to video but the quality is awful and the sound is so low you can hardly hear it. Why has it never been shown again on TV?I want a copy badly so I can enjoy it myself, but also share with my children and grandchildren. I love "It's a Wonderful Life" too; but this new version is just as good! Please try to have it released for sale or at least viewing on your station. Thank You!

  • THIS MOVIE IS A MUST HAVE !!!

    • Mary Peterson
    • 7/23/07

    I, too, have searched everywhere for "It Happened One Christmas", with Marlo Thomas. Hopefully, someone will listen and bring this wonderful movie out on DVD.

  • PLEASE TRY RUNNING IT AGAIN ON TCM!

    • John Christian
    • 12/29/06

    This is a wonderful Christmas film. Our family ejoyed "It's a Wonderful Life", but we like "It Happenned One Christmas" even more. Marlo Thomas and Cloris Leachman, Orson Wells, and Richard Dysart were outstanding in this Christmas CLassic. The screenplay and music were also very special. Please run it again---would also like to see it come out on DVD.

  • Must Have This Movie!

    • Thelma
    • 12/26/06

    I searched everywhere for this movie, even Marlo's web page. Today I find the movie is not on video or DVD. Now what? It was a remake, female version. I am that woman in the movie. Same job and everything! Women today can relate to Marlo in this movie. Maybe back in 1977 the top execs were all men. Baby, not today! We need more movies like this today. Cloris was fantastic! Thank you for listening.

  • Very good remake.

    • Ruby O'Quinn
    • 11/27/06

    This is a great remake of the original classic "It's a Wonderful Life" Marlo Thomas does a great job. Very nicely done.

  • Where can I find it?

    • Peggy Storti
    • 7/10/06

    Please tell me where I can get a copy of"It Happened One Christmas." It's thenicest Christmas show that I know. Allthe actresses and actors did a tremendousjob...It was a good deal better than theoriginal movie.Thanks for your help.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.