skip navigation
Too Young to Kiss

Too Young to Kiss(1951)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Too Young to... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • MIGHTY APHRODITE, SAVE US . . .

    • Dan Hand
    • 5/22/14

    . . . from all of the self-styled "child-savers" who see "pedophilia" everywhere, these days, in old Hollywood films made under the regularly demonized Production Code (you know, the one that was in force during the entirety of Hollywood's recognized "Golden Age")! For the record, irrespective of the ideological delusions of a goodly number of TCM fans, Miss Allyson was born on Sunday, October 7, 1917, while this film of hers premiered on Thanksgiving Day, Thursday, November 22, 1951. In other words, the female lead had turned 34 years of age, just a month and a half before it opened. Barring perhaps the quickest post-production turnaround for any Hollywood A-list movie of that prestigious era, June Allyson was (at most) thirty-three years old-- not forty-four years old, as claimed, below, by one of our resident "child-savers"-- when this quite-innocent Hollywood production was filmed. The Internet is awash in free pornography, much of it of unspeakable (in polite company) perversity, for any minimally Web-savvy child with the inappropriate interest, or simple curiosity, and access to the Internet, which now is nearly ubiquitous, to watch on demand; yet, hypersensitive "child-savers" have joined with the religious lunatics of old to howl about a thirty-four-year-old Van Johnson supposedly touching a thirty-three-year-old June Allyson-- playing a twenty-two-year-old woman, pretending to be a (post-pubescent) fourteen-year-old girl-- in an inappropriate manner, in a sixty-three year-old movie, approved under the reputedly blue-nosed Production Code of Hollywood's Golden Age. The end of Western Civilization is, indeed, nigh....

  • Too Young to Kiss

    • Randi Neil
    • 5/22/14

    A ripoff of Billy Wilder's 1942 classic "The Major and the Minor", where Ginger Rogers also impersonated a teenager (to qualify for a child's train fare) and gets into all sorts of predicaments when she meets up with Ray Milland. The plot of "Too Young to Kiss" is actually more clever and June Allyson is far more convincing as a teenager (petite and girlish). Of course, half the fun of the Wilder pic was watching the usually sophisticated and sardonic Rogers pretend to be an innocent, emboldened by Wilder's witty screenplay and magic directorial touch. Still, Allyson and Van Johnson were a swell team and make this film an enjoyable watch.

  • TOO YOUNG TO KISS

    • Don Letta
    • 5/1/14

    TOO BAD TO WATCH

  • Meh...

    • RedRain
    • 11/4/13

    Allyson was 44 years old when she made this film requiring her to pass as a 14 year old and even she couldn't pull that off! It's ludicrous in the extreme. The actual star performance is done by Van Johnson who is good in this role as the impresario who has to put up with the obnoxious "14 year old prodigy." I must say, however, that I found his touching of a 14 year old extremely cheesy and it truly bordered on pedophilia. I gave this film zero stars, as it was a complete waste of my time!

  • Too Young To Kiss

    • Leona
    • 7/15/10

    This movie is phenomenal and one of my all time favortes. I have always loved the pairing of June Allyson and Van Johnson and to me this is one of their best. Two others that come to mind are The Bride Goes Wild and High Barbaree. It is a shame that some of the most entertaining movies of the 1940's are rarely shown.

  • Too Young to Kiss (1951)

    • James Higgins
    • 1/23/10

    Cute romantic comedy, not particularly convincing. June Allyson can hardly pass for 14, but it's still very entertaining. Light and fun.The cast is good, I'm not a big June Allyson fan but she was pretty good.

  • Fun Movie

    • Judy
    • 12/2/09

    This is the first movie I've ever seen of June Allyson and Van Johnson together and a comedy nonetheless! What a treat it was to watch and Ms. Allyson's portrayal of a teenage prodigy is pure fun. Her scene at the children's audition had me laughing so much (especially whenever she had on the fake braces in scenes) that I don't know how the cast performed a scene without cracking up. It would be great to see a four-movie night of June Allyson & Van Johnson if their other movies they made together were as delightful as this one was. I wish Ms. Allyson had done more comedies in her career as she is truly great in this film. It is the kind of 'comfort food' film I could watch again and again. Gig Young always gives a wonderful supporting roll in films and this one is also great.Such a fun film :-)

  • Inspirational Movie

    • Patricia Spry
    • 12/1/09

    I remember seeing this movie as a young girl of 8 or 9. It inspired me to learn to play the piano and later in life, I became a piano teacher. We need more movies like this to be seen by this generation. With schools eliminating art and music programs these days, our society needs all the help it can get. The story is a little corny but funny and very entertaining...all this without violence,crude language or special effects. Please release this on DVD so that my grandaughter may enjoy it as much as I did. Put my name at the top of the list.........wonderful buy for collectors.

  • Excellent Movie!

    • Paula
    • 4/28/08

    The most funny comedy I ever seen! June Allyson is very convincent as a prodigy child. She's wonderful actress and "pianist" too. June and Van Johnson have much chemestry on screen.

  • One of my favourits Van Johnson films

    • Muriel Schwenck
    • 1/28/08

    It's funny that in this day of sleazy films and political correctness, this story would not be filmed. Very enjoyable light comedy. Also makes a good point about how talent often has no chance without a good publicity angle. Van Johnson and June Allyson make a good team.

  • A Great Motivational Movie!

    • Patsy
    • 1/13/08

    As a young girl of 9 or 10, I was lucky enough to see this movie in the theater. I had been taking piano lessons since the age of 5. This movie motivated me so, that I have continued musical studies during my lifetime and have been a piano teacher for nearly 40 years. Besides being a funny and enjoyable movie, it could be the catalist for a future concert pianist. I highly recommend this movie.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.