skip navigation
Thrill of a Romance

Thrill of a Romance(1945)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Thrill of a... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The vocalist of Because

    • Paul
    • 3/18/14

    Many are asking about the young man who sang "Because". His name is Jerry Scott. Lauritz Melchior said that he was popular in night spots but his voice was over taxed by bad management that resulted in badly injured vocal chords.

  • Jerry Scott - singer

    • antong
    • 3/18/14

    Jerry Scott, age 16, appears in the film Thrill of A Romance, and plays the young man who works as a bellhop for the hotel but ends up singing with the Tommy Dorsey Orchestra. This may be his only film appearance.Here is a period piece, an article written in 1945 when the movie was released.http://news.google.com/newspapers?nid=2211&dat=19450602&id=Ux0mAAAAIBAJ&sjid=wP0FAAAAIBAJ&pg=3479,5328696

  • Sweet

    • Ann-marie
    • 3/18/14

    Such a calm and sweet romance. Can someone tell me who sang "Because" in the movie? Who was this child?

  • Esther Williams ...wow!

    • Kevin in Maine
    • 6/14/13

    She is stunning. Visual quality of this on TCM is great. There is a great solo by Buddy Rich. Corny but good movie.

  • the black child singe

    • Tess
    • 4/15/12

    I am so happy to see that so many people enjoyed his rendition of Because. He was great. Why have we not found his name?

  • Tommy Dorsey Vocalist?

    • Marilyn
    • 5/6/11

    I came into this movie when the black singer, dressed as a ?busboy, elevator operator?, or dooman? was singing with the Band. There is no mention of who it was on the credits. Can anyone come up with it? Was this the origin of that song?

  • Thrill of Romance-"Because"

    • Ed Griggs
    • 5/5/11

    Does anybody know the name of the boy who sang "because". He was an absolutely spectacular singer with great power, tonal command and clarity. The credits do not identify the singer of this song, but only credits the music director, composers etc., but not all the singers.

  • A sereia dos musicais

    • Sonia
    • 10/30/10

    Eu adoro este filme. Sensacional ver a Esther nadando. Uma grande estrela e a msica do filme linda. Filme de primeira qualidade.

  • LOVE this movie! Just saw it in 2009

    • cmlav@aol.com
    • 10/27/09

    This movie is so sweet - the splendid Esther Williams is joined by a fantastic Danish opera singer (miserable trying to lose weight), a young black bell hop who dreams of being a singer, a little Mexican boy afraid to dive off the high board, PLUS the Tommy Dorsey orchestra, complete with Tommy's daughter (who is quite a pianist), and the actor playing Esther's uncle is the same one who played "Clarence" the angel in "It's A Wonderful Life." I taped it when it aired on TCM and my friends and I have watched it three times so far. Actor Jeff Daniels told me a great story: Ted Turner invited him to be there when Ted got a star on the sidewalk in Hollywood; Esther Williams and Margaret O'Brien were also there. Jeff said they took Ted aside and thanked him profusely for giving people an opportunity to see them at their best -- and without commercial interruption. I thank him, too!

  • thoroughly enjoyed this movie!

    • patti rutledge
    • 10/9/09

    Esther Williams was at her most beautiful in this movie and her clothes were too - especially that green dress!! The music is wonderful, I love Yosemite and Van Johnson is great. It leaves you uplifted.

  • "that dress"

    • martin omelia
    • 12/24/08

    I happened upon this movie after not being able to sleep. I saw Esther Williams in an absolutely beautiful white dress with a rose vine on it. Could anyone help me find out anything about this dress. I know nothing about these things so anything would be helpful. Thank you.

  • A Real Family Movie

    • Robert Owen
    • 5/25/07

    One of the better light romance movies of the era.The color and scenery is spectacular.The music is fantastic and the whole movie makes for a great evening of viewing.

  • One of the Best

    • Mary
    • 3/17/07

    I love this movie and everything about it, the actors, the music and the scenery. Wish it was played more on TCM or at least on DVD so I could watch it more often.

  • A Technicolor Treat

    • Peter L. Tracey
    • 8/24/06

    From the opening shots of this movie you know you're in for a good time. The photography is lavish, the music and singing is terrific, and the story keeps moving. What I find remarkable about musicals from this period is the way in which "high brow" artists, in this case Lauritz Melchior of the Metropolitan Opera, were incorporated into a decidedly "middle brow" motion picture with great results. Can you imagine the audience reaction today if you tried to feature Placido Domingo in a picture starring Usher, for example? In any event, Thrill of a Romance is first-rate entertainment.

  • Wonderful

    • Ron
    • 8/24/06

    I watched this film tonight, and although I've seen it several times, I feel I really got into the mood of it for the first time.There's such a sweetness to musical comedies of the 40's, and this film is such a treasure among the many films of it's kind.The cinemotography of this film was like a living painting..the colors so vibrant..I'm hoping this will come out in a dvd format so i can purchase it!They just don't make um' like that any more!

  • Loved This Movie!

    • Steve Edlefsen
    • 3/9/06

    A great romance from MGM that never gets sentimental but is funny and interesting throughout. Esther Williams is one of Hollywood's most alluring screen sirens and Van Johnson, one of the greatest leading men. Together they put in touching, sensitive and enjoyable performances with an important theme of belonging to someone else when the right one comes along. Add in great music from Tommy Dorsey and his band with the great Buddy Rich on drums, Lauritz Melchior, the grandeur of Yosemite and great supporting rolls from Henry Travers, Spring Byington et al.Thank you TCM and play it again soon!

  • Fantastic!

    • Robyn
    • 3/8/06

    I fell in love with this movie after watching it tonight. I felt like I was actually there and I truly adored it. It was the perfect ending to a long day of midterms. XOXO

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.