skip navigation
55 Days at Peking

55 Days at Peking(1963)

  • Friday, February 27 @ 02:30 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

55 Days at... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • An Epic To Watch

    • Michael
    • 6/15/14

    Tomorrow I'll be enjoying an epic they don't make anymore. "55 Days At Peking". Star names and non-computer special effects. Thank you, TCM. P.S. Could you please delete Bob Ekert's "review". This is suspose to be a classy website.

  • Oh, not again

    • Bob Eckert
    • 4/4/14

    BURRRP! Starring Charleton Heston. I just threw-up a little bit in my mouth. Happens every time I see the words Charleton Heston. In this case, I can close my eyes unless Ava Gardner is on-screen.

  • 55 days at peking

    • w.ramage
    • 3/22/14

    There you go. Charlton Heston turns down John Waynes The Alamo, flat, then turns around 3 years later. and stars in a Chinese version (no offence to the Chinese intended) of the same type of story. Ive heard from people who worked with Heston on the set of The Mountain Men that he was an egomaniac , full of himself. frankly I think hes one the most wooden actors ive ever seen. He struts around in this big budget, over long yawn, like hes doing everyone a favour (ala Moses) just by showing up. He always plays, Charlton Heston!

  • Great storyline!

    • RedRain
    • 8/5/13

    We have actual historical film of the Boxer Rebellion in China and that film shows it was, if anything, far more chaotic and horrible than this movie depicts. That being said, this is an excellent depiction of the Rebellion and its origins. The storyline, of course, is pure fiction involving Heston and Gardner but, nonetheless, it is a good one. The costuming is beautiful. the action scenes fantastic. Worth a look!

  • A great old syle epic.

    • Kenny
    • 5/17/13

    Consisdering all the trouble during the film's production, 55 DAYS turned out better than expected. Great sets and nice 70mm presentation as usual by producer Samuel Bronston. Excellent cast and one of composer Dimitri Tiomkin's lively and colorful music scores also comtribute value. Some may quibble about the script, but it works, and the film is quite satisfying if taken as nothing more than a big budget adventure film, which is all it really wanted to be.

  • Allied Artists : Ava, Heston, Niven

    • Adventure
    • 2/7/12

    Allied Artists a fondly remembered mini studio what produced Love In The Afternoon, Friendly Persuasion,Soldier In The Rain, El Cid, Papillon, Cabaret, The Man Who Would Be King with stars such as Gary Cooper, Audrey Hepburn, Steve McQueen, Ava Gardner, Sean Connery, and Liza Minnelli produced this film of the Boxer Rebellion in China at Samuel Bronston's studio in Madrid! And it works! Heston is Fine as is the always impeccable David Niven but the true star is the glorious Ava Gardner. Ava Gardner herself never considered herself an actress but the body of work refutes lovely Ava's contention: Barefoot Contessa, Night Of The Iguana, On The Beach. This is an fine movie.

  • Flawed, but still neglected Epic

    • RickVillafana
    • 11/3/11

    Have seen this movie several times, but never knew it had an overture, entre act, and closing music (during which you hear the Andy Williams theme song) like all of the "Road Show" versions of its time (e.g. The Sand Pebbles, Sound of Music, Dr. Zhivago, etc) until I saw the TMC showing of which they are intact. Performances are fair, the best of which is David Niven as the British Embassador. The sets and costumes are lavish as is the entire production. Not sure why this movie has been overlooked for so long. I have a European version of the DVD, which up until I saw the TMC broadcast, was the best I had seen. However, in the TMC broadcast all of the music is included, and the quality of the print is now, the best I've seen. This movie makes me yearn for the days when going to see an epic at the movies was a real treat.

  • costumes & decor-Sets

    • carolyn quinn
    • 10/8/11

    The costumes and lush decor are not in these reviews but I am looking at who designed the costumes. It has a Edith Head look to the styles as they move well and are wonderfully tailored.

  • Good but,

    • rob
    • 10/4/11

    Good movie, but the typical Heston wooden performance hurts it.

  • brilliant characterisation

    • dr terence knapp
    • 6/23/10

    This film is remarkable for,among many other excellent aspects of film story telling, the characterisation by Dame Flora Robson and Sir Robert Helpmann of the Empress Dowager and her Chancellor.Neither performer is Chinese however the brilliance of their personifications brings a compelling magnificence to this story of the the Boxer Rebellion. Truly star quality.

  • 55 Days at Peking (1963)

    • James Higgins
    • 4/27/10

    Lavishly produced drama about the Boxer Rebellion in China. What it lacks in historical accuracy it makes up for with the cinematography and art direction. The costumes are fine as well. Charlton Heston does what he usually does, overacts, but at least the rest of the cast is good. It's a bit overlong too.

  • 55 Days at Peking

    • Gordon Brown
    • 2/11/10

    An exciting adventure about the historic Boxer Rebellion I studied in school many years ago. It really came to life on the screen and for the first time, I really understood what the Boxer Rebellion was all about. A good study of what can be accomplished when nations work together for a common purpose. Great acting, especially by Charlton Heston and John Ireland.

  • Underrated Epic Deserving More Attention

    • CLIB
    • 2/2/10

    The director had a breakdown during the making of this film--possibly due to Gardner's acting like a diva--and never directed again. She had many of her lines taken away from her as she couldn't remember them, and they were given to Paul Lukas. Gardner, while still an attractive woman, is the sole detraction to this epic film. Niven does a standup job as the stalwart ambassador, while Heston is the heroic Marine who does his duty. John Ireland is the tough sergeant with a heart of gold that ten years earlier, would have been played by Victor McLaglen. Tiomkin's score is as always, outstanding.

  • Great Sound Track Too!

    • Norm
    • 1/4/10

    I have an original album of the movie sound track. The music greatly adds to the overall enjoyment of this movie- like the military marching songs, instrumental orchestrated background and movie theme song "So Little Time" sung by Andy Williams. I highly endorse showing this movie on TMC as it ranks up there with any of the classic action/romance movies that have been shown. Can't wait to watch it again on TV... been way too long.

  • An Epic

    • pamdob
    • 11/6/09

    This film was truly an epic and is a great film filled with great stars. I keep waiting and waiting for it to come out on DVD. I have the VHS version which came out on 2 cassettes because of the length of the film but it has stopped working. It is a great action adventure film that I would love for my children to be able to see.

  • Hollywood history 101

    • Daniel Alderson
    • 1/12/09

    Although not historically accurate a very fine drama that conveys the tense seige of Peking. not available on DVD but was on VHS in the early 90's

  • One of the Best

    • Jack
    • 12/20/08

    One of the Best action films ever... i would love to own a DVD copy

  • where is this movie available

    • Keith Turner
    • 3/8/08

    Have seen this movie perhaps 4 maybe 5 times in 20 years. Would like to own it on dvd. it is a true classic and 1 of my personal all time favorites.

  • Great for new big screen tvs

    • John
    • 11/10/07

    This is a very interesting and entertaining movie with several major stars of the era, and it's story made full use of large theatre screens. I recently saw Casablanca on a friends huge home theatre screen, and was amazed at all the great background action that I had never noticed on my 27 inch tv. 55 DAYS AT PEKING would be fabulous on a large screen.

  • 55 DAYS AT PEKING

    • Gary
    • 8/27/07

    Great movie about the Boxer Rebellion. Loaded with great stars. This needs to be on DVD.

  • Heston ignored?

    • Roger
    • 5/20/07

    I feel awkward posting a review but in this case I recommend a film that I believe has been ignored. 55 Days at Peking takes a slice of American history that centers on a little known phase; our involvement in China during the Boxer Rebellion. In a broader sense it shows how the foreign legations held out for 55 days til help arrived. The music of Dmitri Tiomkin (sp) is outstanding in all ways. It shows the differences in the various countries, how they come together etc.David Niven does his usual standup job. I don't think he ever did a bad one. Of the supporting cast the only person who seems out of place is Ava Gardner. I remember thinking the same thing when I saw the film for the first time in 1963. I once purchased a VHS version of 55 Days at Peking but it was incredible poor quality. I checked out other samples and they were all bad. If a person enjoys action/adventure films they need to add 55 Days at Peking to their list.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.