skip navigation
Donovan's Reef

Donovan's Reef(1963)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Memorable quote

    • Anthony
    • 2/10/19

    Watched it as a child in the late 60s and only recall Donovan's line "Fresh kid, I oughta belt ya.". :)

  • Donavan's Reef, we were in it

    • Jimmy "D"
    • 12/18/17

    Myself and my two brothers were in this film. We were kids always playing; In the Church scene the procession starts for the Three Kings are coming to bear gifts...and we walk in with the priest then the rain starts and we all huddled around the priests to not get wet.Fun times.

  • Donovan's reef

    • Marybeth
    • 7/13/17

    I also love the movie Donovan's reef and would like to know when you are showing it next. Would love to see it. It's been a long time since I've seen it.

  • Donovan's Reef

    • Joseph A. Williams
    • 5/30/17

    I really can't understand why TCM shows the same John Wayne movies over and over. They should intersperse them with others that have not been shown so frequently.....My wish is that they start showing his movies that have not been shown as often.....and they're are plenty to chose from, including this one....SHOW DONOVAN'S REEF in your schedule....geesh, it's not even listed to buy on any forum!!!!! Show the darn movie on TCM!!!! Thank You

  • donovan's reef

    • kevin sellers
    • 6/8/15

    I've always heard that Ford stayed sober until after his pictures then went on a drunk. For this one he seems to have reversed the order.

  • Donovan's Reef

    • Joan
    • 4/23/14

    I love this movie and I never see it come on any more. :(

    • 8/22/13

  • My Favorite Film

    • Jodee DiGiovanni
    • 6/2/13

    I have always loved this charming film for it's historical aspect storyline, the way that several societal ills of the time are treated (bigotry, respect for different religious beliefs, blended families, self sacrifice for others like Doc staying on the island after the war, the May-September romance between Amelia & Guns, and even the wrong perception that the island dwellers had of Amelia before she showed her strength and humanity to them). The casting was wonderful and I love seeing movies where John Wayne has humor like this film and McClintock! Sit back and enjoy the film!

  • Good buddy reunion

    • Chuck Wilson
    • 5/26/06

    This is classic John Wayne. John Wayne and Lee Marvin in a comedy works great. Lee Marvin was a great comedic actor (Cat Ballou) and John Wayne could do both with ease. Add Jack Warden, Cesar Romero and Dorothy Lamour and you have a hilarious romp. Mix in Elizabeth Allen as a stuffy Bostonian love interest for John Wayne and three delightful children to the blend and you have it all. And, we can't forget a classic barroom brawl with Lee Marvin and John Wayne. This is a must see for anyone who likes good decent comedy with a good story line.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.