skip navigation
Days of Heaven

Days of Heaven(1978)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Days of Heaven Young lovers pose as brother... MORE > $27.97 Regularly $39.95 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Nothing else quite like it

    • dave
    • 6/20/17

    I first saw this on my own when it was released in 1978, in Boston, after it was recommended by a co-worker. I'd never seen anything like it before - where the story was told as much by the photography and the score as by the narration, the dialogue and the actors - a cinematic version of Gesamtkunstwerk - a complete, self-contained work where the whole is greater than the sum of its parts. For several weeks, I dragged different friends to see it, and nearly all of them had a similar reaction: this was something different and rare and effective. The plot is a familiar love triangle, in itself nothing new or unique. If you watch this movie solely for "plot," you're going to miss the completeness and the perfection of it as film. There is a bare minimum of dialogue, just enough to transition from scene to scene, and where there is no dialogue, the voice-over narration clues us in, again, just enough to let us know what's happening. Much of the story is conveyed without talking, but through the visuals, the soundtrack, the silences and the sound effects, engaging us without the artificial inclusion of explosions, chases, condescending dialogue. This movie is a banquet for your senses, but the director does not spoon feed you; you're invited to his feast but he expects you to think about what you're taking in. This is not fast food, but it's not gourmet either. It's a delicacy, savor it and enjoy it slowly; it's rare.

  • Beautiful

    • Maria Ramos
    • 2/13/16

    Simply a masterpiece. Loved A young innocent looking Richard Gere, and a wise Sam Sheperd. I hope TCM shows this film more often.

  • Days of Heaven

    • michael whitty
    • 1/11/16

    The potential of cinematography working toward the art of film is exemplified beautifully in "Days of Heaven". The background of the Texas panhandle shows migrant wheat workers living and working the land and dealing with their bosses and one girl who catches the eye of the boss. Richard Gere and Brooke Adams go from the field to the house in a love triangle situation. But later days of Hell occur with locusts and fire and death. Here is a story told more in picture than dialogue and it won the Oscar for its photography.

  • days of heaven

    • kevin sellers
    • 7/19/15

    I'm sure Terence Mallick regards the necessity to have people in his films as an unavoidable inconvenience that he hopes to one day eradicate.

  • Unique and stunning

    • TK
    • 12/8/12

    I've not seen another film quite like this one where the cinematography so strongly stands on its own. I am truly grateful to TCM for showing this and arousing my curiosity enough to watch it. I think it's literally a textbook for both video and still photographers alike. The work that must have gone into crafting each shot simply boggles my mind.

  • Days of Heaven

    • Dashiell B.
    • 12/7/12

    Director Malick's period drama is a visually arresting picture. A love triangle forms between Adams, Gere & Shepard in 1910's Texas. Sweeping, Oscar-winning cinematography captures the gritty battle of class structure on the plains. The visuals intentionally override the dialouge, creating a film reminiscant of both silent films & the work of John Ford. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Visually Stunning

    • Michele
    • 9/29/10

    It's a shame that a film can only get one Oscar for cinematography. This movie deserves at least 10. Every frame in it could be printed and hung in the Louvre. This is a movie that just cries out for the 65" LCD widescreen TV. And the plot, a compact Greek tragedy, does not detract from the visual splendor at all. See this movie or regret it for the rest of your life.

  • A must-see film.

    • jim murphy
    • 6/7/09

    An extraordinary cinematic achievment by writer-director Terrence Malick.A good story, good acting, visually stunning, and a beautiful music score.

  • Beautiful film

    • Kay
    • 10/8/06

    This is visually a fantastic movie. The movie itself is good, with a very young Gere, but it's the "eye appeal" that will get you. I was fortunate to get to see this on the big screen and it was something to behold. Worth renting if you can find it.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.