skip navigation
Thirty Seconds Over Tokyo

Thirty Seconds Over Tokyo(1944)

Contribute

FOR Thirty Seconds Over Tokyo (1944) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Thirty Seconds Over Tokyo General Jimmy Doolittle trains... MORE > $59.98 Regularly $59.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Thirty Seconds Over Tokyo

    • John
    • 8/2/13

    Overall-2/5Lead Performers-4/5Supporting Cast-2/5Director-4/5Score-2/5Title Sequence-2/5Screenplay-1/5Cinematography-2/5Importance-2/5Recommendation for fans of the genre-2/5

  • Thirty Seconds over Tokyo

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 10/23/12

    A thrilling WWII drama. Johnson & Mitchum became major stars because of this film, and Tracy is superb in his too-brief scenes as Doolittle. At the time, the film brought the realities of WWII to theatregoers & sparked an increase in morale at home, the war scenes are brought to life by the Oscar-winning special effects. Overlong, but still a great film. I give it a 4/5.

  • Seminal

    • Thomas
    • 1/14/12

    I grew up on this film and it shaped my view of America. This is one of the best examples of the power of film there is.

  • Saw it with some Raiders

    • Woody
    • 1/8/12

    In Fall 2008, I was privileged to see this movie at a special showing with two of the actual Raiders: Thomas Griffin, the navigator on number 9, and Richard Cole, Jimmy Doolittle's co-pilot. The Raid happened 70 years ago this April and the last 5 Raiders will be in Dayton, Ohio for their annual Reunion.

  • A Wonderful Film

    • Sue
    • 5/29/11

    I loved this movie and loved all the actors/characters that were portrayed. I wish it was out on DVD. I am saddened, though, that our Nation no longer feels the togetherness, patriotism, love of our country that was so openly shown during that time. Why has this wonderful country become so apathetic over the years? Even our own President doesn't show that he is proud to be an American. God Bless America!

  • Thirty Seconds over Tokyo (1944)

    • James Higgins
    • 3/25/10

    Exceptionally good World War II propaganda film. Although Spencer Tracy gets third billing, he is not in it as much as most of the rest of the cast. Robert Mitchum's early screen appearance is very memorable. Van Johnson is his usual adequate self. Some great war scenes, and it does wave the flag quite a bit too much, but then again, it was 1944. Great cinematography, which was nominated for an Academy Award and it won the Oscar for it's fine special effects.

  • A Top Ten WWII film!

    • Steve S.
    • 9/8/09

    When the "Ruptured Duck" takes off from the USS Hornet, w/ Van Johnson in the pilot's seat, one can almost taste the tension/excitement as the "duck" head's for it's appointed "thirty seconds" (which must have felt like a thousand years)!The film fall's just short of such WWII gem's such as "Battleground", "A Walk In The Sun", "Sahara" & "Bataan" but it holds it's own along side "Twelve O'Clock High", "Command Decision", "Sands Of Iwo Jima", "The Story Of G.I. Joe" and "Sink The Bismark" et al.

  • Best iv'e seen

    • Beth Ann
    • 11/11/08

    I have seen many war movies in my day, but this one had to be the most inthralling one yet. I was at the edge of my seat almost the whole movie. My father was aboard the USS IOWA in Tokyo Bay at the wars end. He never spoke much about what happened, but when he did, we all listened intently. This movie was the most enlightning film i've ever seen. Thank you for all you do by bringing us the great films of yester year.

  • Great ww2 film

    • jerry
    • 6/30/08

    A good film about the training and mission of bomber crews to attack Japan in the early days of WW2. The mission was primarily as a morale boost, it really being of little military value. But it worked and it was a combined army/navy mission. A must see.

  • A Classic

    • judy mallon
    • 2/14/07

    This movie is a classic. Anyone who has seen it finds it to be an excellent portrayal of an important WWII event. This movie should be on DVD.

  • Thirty Seconds captures America's Spirit.

    • DH Finn
    • 2/14/07

    World War II movies made today lose a great deal in the sixty pluss years that have gone by since the last World War. Thirty Seconds Over Tokyo captures how Americans felt about their duty, their responsibility to each other, and their desire to make a better world. Te depictions of people's concerns for each other, of going the extra mile to help out, to work beyond expectations is not something that Hollywood can put in a film today and expect an audience to find authentic. Our current world is a bit to "jaded" to be as honest as this movie is. To get a true feeling of the American way during WWII, Thirty Seconds Over Tokyo will allow the viewer to place himself/herself in a time when values weren't spun, when we had a vision of what we had to do, and when we, as a nation, were willing to take all the steps necessary to get the job done. This movie needs to be transfered to DVD so that a new generation of Americans can see how their grandparents and great-grandparents saw the country that is now embroiled in yet another "limited" war.

  • Good War Movie

    • Marge Mueller
    • 2/12/07

    I saw this movie in color at one time. I would love to be able to buy this movie on DVD either in black & white or color. It reminds me so much of myself and my husband.

  • Essential viewing for aviation and WWII

    • Russ
    • 2/12/07

    A good adaptation of a WWII book, and considering it was made in the middle of WWII, it is quite honest in dealing with the fear, uncertainty,and bravery of the real men who flew this mission, possibly the most important bomber mission other than the Enola Gay's. There are no Japanese stereotypes. It's all told from the POV of the men who flew the mission. Look for a young RObert Mitchum.The special effects for the bombing raid are quite good for the time, and hold up reasonably well today. I have a friend who saw the models used in the film, and he says they were quite large,(4-5 feet) as were the explosions!Most guys my age (40s-50s) remember seeing this on TV as kids. Let's introduce it and the real life Doolittle raiders to another American generation on DVD!

  • Why hasn't this been released on DVD?

    • AndyDrago
    • 2/11/07

    Thirty Seconds Over Tokyo is one of the first World War II movies that I ever saw, and is by far one of my favorites. I read Ted Lawson's book many years ago, and from what I remember from it and from what I learned in American History, the movie is a fairly accurate portrayal of the Doolittle Raid. I think it's a great film, and it should certainly be released onto DVD.

  • Should be on DVD!!!

    • Keith Evans
    • 12/27/06

    This movie is one of the essential films that represent the efforts and sacrafices that our military have given us in our time of need in this country. There is no question it should be on DVD, so everyone can see it at there leisure.

  • Two GREATS for DVD

    • Chase Kepner
    • 11/2/06

    "Thirty Seconds Over Tokyo" should be available on DVD. The flight sequence from the Hornet to Tokyo outstanding. A truly historical event that should be available to younger generations whoknow little about WWII. "Command Decision"also. This film excellent drama aboutevents and conflicts regarding 8th Air Force bombing runs over Germany. Outstanding perfomances by Clark Gable and Walter Pigeon. Package them bothtogether at $19.95 SRSP.

  • It's time for this movie for a DVD release!

    • Joey
    • 11/1/06

    I'll echo everyone's desire to have this movie immortalized in DVD format. The veterans of the "Doolittle Raiders" are sadly decreasing in numbers. It would be nice to pay homage to these veterans and included in DVD release - should it happen soon, I hope!

  • America Strikes back

    • lou
    • 10/21/06

    This is one of the best WWII era films made. Why is it not available on DVD ? In light of current historic events this film is so important to national pride.

  • Why not a Classic WWII movie not on DVD????

    • Rick
    • 3/1/06

    Probably one of the best movies depicting one of the most historic events of WWII. PUT IT ON DVD, WHO BUYS VHS THESE DAYS??

  • Thirty Seconds Over Tokyo

    • Paul
    • 2/16/06

    Why is this movie not available on DVD? It is such a classic and should be shared with everyone including younger generations...it is such a great tale of a small group of heroic men. They need their story shared!

  • WHY NO DVD VERSION???

    • Dick
    • 2/14/06

    How come you have you still do not have a DVD version of this great movie?

  • Where is the DVD??????

    • Mike
    • 2/4/06

    How is it possible that Turner still not released Thirty Seconds Over Tokyo on DVD?

  • Great movie but.....

    • Liffer
    • 2/4/06

    Years ago I taped a colorized version, which I found to be so much more enjoyable than the black and white version. Why can't we see more colorized movies.....on TV, on VHS, or on DVD?

  • 30 Seconds Over Toyko

    • Todd
    • 1/25/06

    Another goodie that has been left on the VHS pile. WWII movie fans lets vote and get these great pro American Flag Waving movies out dvd so new generations of classic movie fans can enjoy them in the years to come. Spencer Tracy and Van Johnson { A Guy Named Joe } dont forget that one are great again.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.