skip navigation
They Live by Night

They Live by Night(1949)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

They Live by Night After an unjust prison... MORE > $20.98 Regularly $20.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • If on the lam you go to Mexico - never Canada

    • Jeff Boston
    • 5/18/13

    Bad casting with wooden pretty boy Granger playing a man (too) fresh after 7 years in a cage and Natalie Woodish pretty girl O'Donnell playing a girl too refreshing after 17 years "caged" by a hopeless existence with her lowlife, alcoholic pop. Both performances are wholly unconvincing. One thing of which I am convinced: forget "Bonnie and Clyde", this flick inspired "Gun Crazy", released in 1950. Both movies bombed back when Americans weren't as jaded and degraded. Now they're both celebrated, especially by the Hollyweird elite.

  • ANOTHER GREAT ONE I MISSED!

    • TCM Fan
    • 4/29/13

    Really enjoyable Nicholas Ray film - found it authentic & convincing - which is always so appreciated. Farley Granger & Cathy O'Donnell are the driving force in this "dark" plight against pretty impossible odds as two young "rather blind" lovers on the run. Can't wait for Side Street now - also with same two great actors in prime of their career.

  • a must see movie

    • DevlinCarnate
    • 4/28/13

    a precursor to "Bonnie and Clyde" with the doomed lovers theme,but the protagonists are even more sympathetic..later remade by Altman as "Thieves Like Us" which i've never seen,but would like to for comparison..directed by Nicholas Ray, it has a great helicopter tracking shot of fleeing bank robbers often copied,but never duplicated...do yourself a favor and watch this,you won't be disappointed...it's classified as a "Noir" but it stretches a little beyond the genre boundaries

  • Film Noir or Gritty Romance? Take your pick!

    • JuliDC
    • 10/5/11

    I've been a fan of Farley Granger since I first saw him in Hitchcock's "Strangers on a Train", and just as in that film, you'll find yourself rooting for him to get himself out of the horrible circumstances he's fallen into just by hanging out with the wrong guy or guys in this case. You think things might start to go his way once sweet Cathy O'Donnell takes an interest in him. There's something so wholesome about here, just like her very natural performance as Wilma in "The Best Years of Our Lives". She and Farley have great chemistry, and I know crime doesn't pay, but come on, can't these kids just get a break? ;) Had to give it 4 out of 5 stars, only because it doesn't end the way I want it to, but it's by far my favorite film by Director Nicholas Ray. Oh and the singer in the nightclub scene that another reviewer was wondering about is played by Marie Bryant, and she is listed in the end credits of the film, as well as here on TCM, and IMDb.

  • Film Noir or Gritty Romance? Take your pick!

    • JuliDC
    • 10/5/11

    I've been a fan of Farley Granger since I first saw him in Hitchcock's "Strangers on a Train", and just as in that film, you'll find yourself rooting for him to get himself out of the horrible circumstances he's fallen into just by hanging out with the wrong guy or guys in this case. You think things might start to go his way once sweet Cathy O'Donnell takes an interest in him. There's something so wholesome about here, just like her very natural performance as Wilma in "The Best Years of Our Lives". She and Farley have great chemistry, and I know crime doesn't pay, but come on, can't these kids just get a break? ;) Oh and the singer in the nightclub scene that another reviewer was wondering about is played by Marie Bryant, and she is listed in the end credits of the film, as well as here on TCM, and IMDb.

  • Praise for They Live By Night; also omissions from

    • Victor
    • 10/4/11

    They Live By Night is superb, for several reasons. In addition to the acting (by Granger and Da Silva, particularly) the film added a new perspective to the gangster movie genre. In my opinion the film is an icon of the period in question. It is one of the first, if not the first film to include in the screenplay a contemporary African-American singer, singing a contemporary R & B song. However, the female singer was uncredited. Everytime I view the film I wonder who she was and what records she may have recorded. This was a terrible omission by the producer.

  • Haunting and moving

    • rosebette
    • 4/24/10

    The first time this was on, I had never heard of it, and got interrupted by an important phone call. I was so annoyed that I didn't see the whole film that I watched for it again on TCM. What a sad and compelling movie of a young man who is caught in the wheels of a life of crime. Granger and O'Donnell are outstanding as the young lovers.

  • ITS A TWISTED ROAD!

    • CANDACE
    • 7/13/06

    A story where two people would share one life. A life in which love, hope, and fear would haunt their minds. A life they would live by night. Cathy O'donnell and Farley Granger are a star team.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.