skip navigation
Close Encounters of the Third Kind

Close Encounters of the Third Kind(1977)

  • Sunday, February 22 @ 05:30 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
Contribute

FOR Close Encounters of the Third Kind (1977) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Close Encounters of the Third Kind A blue-collar worker's... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Amazing even after all these years!

    • RedRain
    • 2/25/13

    I love this film and it never ceases to thrill me! There is a madness and a joy to the story that makes your fantasy come true. Would I go with the aliens to their home? You bet I would! The only thing that rankles me in the film is Teri Garr's character. A wife this far over the edge needs therapy! Richard Dreyfuss is superb as the spaceship-burned husband who wants to find out what's going on with all the magical lights seen in the night. The musical score by the enormously talented John Williams is stunning and very much adds to the film. Lest we forget, CGI was in its infancy in 1977 and Spielberg decided it was far too expensive to use here. Instead, he went with visual imagery that is just first-rate for a sci-fi film. My favorite story about this film is that it was entirely written by Spielberg and his inspiration was a meteor shower he had witnessed as a child with his father. Spielberg, subsequently, has a lifelong love of "what's out there?" How cool is that!

  • Confused categorization

    • John Jackman
    • 1/22/13

    This is a favourite movie of mine but I always find it is incorrectly tagged as Sci-fi or as it is listed on TCM at Feb 2013 in Horror or other categories. I believe it to be a suspense story as it is a mystery and also a story of redemption. The character Roy is beset with troubles not of his own making that drives him to try to find where and what has been implanted in his mind. The characters fumble and stumble toward what is their destiny and I find this to be the compelling part of the story. The space/alienns setting is merely a vehicle for the telling of the story..The special effects are outstanding for the time and still are in absolute awe striking impact when the mothership arrives on top of the mountain. I always enjoy the story and the effects and watch it almost everytime it is on television.

  • Good not great.

    • ojc
    • 10/3/12

    Let's get the good parts out of the way. For its era, this film has wonderful special effects. Acting is solid. Nice music, and the aliens are okay. Sort of try-outs for ET. So to me this a good but not great SF film.I just don't find the Richard Dreyfuss character compelling and the script seems like some mishmash of 1970's pseudo-mysticism and UFO speculation combined with a little of the Day the Earth Stood still. Okay after an hour I got it, aliens are visiting Earth. But we have had a hundred movies on this theme. I prefer SF that either is either good adventure (The Thing) or speculation (2001) or good fun (Forbidden Planet) this movie is just a lot of special effects and actors standing around trying to look "awe struck". Still I must admit it is pretty good and entertaining for first time viewers. Minor classic of its era, must viewing for SF fans.

  • Close Encounters of the Third Kind

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 4/22/12

    Spielberg's epic sci- fi follow- up from "Jaws." Dreyfuss gives a great performance as a man obssesed with alien messages, as is Dillion who earned an Oscar nomination as a mother whose son is kidnapped by aliens. The special effects add to the film, but they do not get in the way of the overall story. A masterfully created film from a genius named Spielberg. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • "Close Encounters" Poor Film Quality

    • Mike Cloud
    • 2/12/12

    Last night's broadcast of "Close Encounters" appeared to be an unrestored print. The picture was not sharp at all. I checked to be sure I was watching TCM in HD. Still my favorite sci-fi movie.

  • Why is this movie so muddy?

    • PJ
    • 2/10/12

    I've seen films from the 1940's that look absolutely gorgeous on my wide screen HDTV. Why is this piece of film history not up to par? It needs to be digitally cleaned up so that it is crisp and clear and distinctive. Until that time, this movie is a disgrace because no one has put in the time to move it into the 21st century.

  • Benign aliens

    • weindeb
    • 2/10/12

    What a pleasant relief when this film came out and for a change the aliens were not only not malicious, bloodthirsty murderers, they were sweet and decent folk, probably far more intelligent and ethical than we. I don't know why exactly, but the recent movie HUGO left me with similar feelings of well-being and satisfaction.

  • comment by Ben Mankewics

    • Roger
    • 1/1/12

    He just commented that Close Encounters was Spielberg's first movie (1977). Duel has always been understood to be his first (1971). Produced by Dean Martin, starred Dennis Weaver and an old Peterbilt truck.

  • Close Encounters of a 3rd Kind

    • Tom Sills
    • 1/1/12

    Why is this sci-fi classic being rated by TCM as a horror film?

  • Simply One of the Best

    • Stephen F
    • 4/5/11

    Close Encounters of the Third Kind is simply one of the best films ever made. Spielberg manages to walk the line of storytelling and special effects without a single misstep. Don't let the lack of phasers and space battles turn you off to this one. Never has a film produced a story so human that the line between science fiction and fact become so blurred.

  • My Last Review got lost--

    • Bill Watkins
    • 3/17/10

    --maybe a spaceship captured it and took it to bad dialogue-land! "Oh my God" is a phrase that must go away with all the bad "spaceships" in film that arrived in the 1970's--namely, bad language and looser morals. Kubrick would have had silence as the ship passed overhead of that man and the mountain "base," but modernized Spielberg goes with "Oh My God--" cliched, bad and offensive to someone who actually believes in a power called "God," and his ten commandments, one of them being: Please don't use my name in Vain-- WWW:)!!!!

  • The classic feel-good scifi film

    • Tim
    • 2/20/10

    Hard to believe that it is now over 30 years ago that this film was made and released. It STILL holds the same sense of fascination for me now that it did then. Richard Dreyfuss, in my opinion, delivers a tour-de-force. His child-like wonder is only matched by Cary Guffey's! Between Dreyfuss' determination and Spielberg's optimism, this movie remains my favorite. And Barry opening the door to see what's outside is as good as it gets...

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.