skip navigation
These Wilder Years

These Wilder Years(1956)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

These Wilder... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Comment on some previous comments

    • George Ulrich
    • 12/28/12

    "These Wilder Years" was never a wide-screen movie. There is no pan-and-scan.

  • These Wilder Years

    • Robert McGlone
    • 5/12/12

    I always remember seeing this film in my teen's and it's stuck in my memory through the years. I thought it was a great film and i have tried to find it on DVD to no avail. If it ever is put on DVD would anybody let me know. I would be very grateful.Robert.

  • Incest story

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 6/2/10

    I was surprised by the subdued performances of the leads, because let's face it, Babs can really get tough and Jimmy can really ham it up if he wants to! But the script called for a different approach, and I'm glad the director worked with them to play the characters instead of themselves, or instead of giving another version of their trademark styles. In a way, the story is a reverse incest plot...he becomes a grandfather/father on the same day...and instead of the girl giving up the baby, she is actually encouraged to take it home with her father!

  • These Wilder Years

    • Patricia Schmitt
    • 6/1/10

    One of Jimmy Cagney's biggest and faithful fans. Over the years, I thought I have viewed and been entertained by just about every Cagney film made. However, I missed this one somehow. What a delightful view. I managed to see the last 40 minutes of this film and was quite won over by all the other actor's performances as well. It would be beneficial to have this particular film released by TCM on DVD for home purchase. Thanks to TCM for airing it this evening.

  • These Wilder Years (1956)

    • James Higgins
    • 4/20/10

    Underrated drama, any movie starring James Cagney and Barbara Stanwyck has got to be good. It's a good and somewhat unusual story. Cagney is seeking out the son he put up for adoption twenty years earlier. Stanwyck runs the adoption agency the child was left to. Good performances and a good screenplay.

  • A movie worth seeing

    • painteddoll
    • 3/27/10

    I saw this movie when it first came out, over 50 years ago, and I still remember scenes in it. The young girl was very touching. I remember the scene where Cagney finally meets his son and comes up against reality. I would like to see it again.

  • A heart warming movie for Christmas

    • michael coleman
    • 11/30/08

    The acting from Jimmy & Barbara saved this so so script. I loves their acting.The young girl was good too. Walter was also a good match for any movie.

  • Cagney At His Best

    • Michael Cole
    • 9/2/06

    I second the motion that this film be rebroadcast soon in widescreen format (if it was made in widescreen, of course). Although I am more than old enough to remember it, I never saw it. I would like to have it on DVD and also another underrated Cagney performance in "Come Fill The Cup."

  • Good Film Suffers Pan-and-Scan Torture

    • Peter J. May
    • 9/1/06

    The print available to TCM of this film is pan-and-scan. The original aspect ratio of the film is almost certainly a widescreen format. Please encourage TCM to broadcast this film solely in its original aspect ratio.

  • I loved this movie!

    • CCBrady
    • 7/18/06

    I was totally captivated by this movie. James Cagney was absolutely wonderful and, in my opinion, this is one of his best performances. I have already told three of my friends that this movie is a "must see". I am disappointed that it is not available to purchase. If I had known that it was going to be so good I would have taped it. I hope they play it again soon.

  • What a wonderful movie...

    • FrankieCee
    • 7/17/06

    I never realized just how "great" an actor James Cagney was until I saw this movie. I had seen it a long time ago but had forgotten all about it's existence. He was a truly phenomenal actor, dancer and all around complete entertainer. This movie "These Wilder Years" has all the components it takes to make it a classic. It has not been aired enough though. This movie should be shown every year, like, around Easter Time (rebirth) as a long lost Holiday classic. It exudes the key elements which only serve to make it a beloved cinematic event. 20 minutes later, I am still consumed with emotion. Great Film! Bravo!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.