skip navigation
Cat Ballou

Cat Ballou(1965)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Cat Ballou A prim schoolteacher turns... MORE > $10.99 Regularly $14.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • I'm drunk as a skunk!

    • T. Taylor
    • 5/30/14

    One of the funniest movies from the sixties. I enjoyed the creative way they used Nat King Cole and Stubby Kaye.I also enjoyed the supporting role of Tom Nardini as Jackson Two-Bears. A great cast of legendary character actors make this movie worth viewing.

  • Classic

    • Classic
    • 2/18/14

    Classic

  • Cat Ballou

    • Goetan
    • 2/2/14

    Ranks alongside "Support your Local Sheriff!" and "Blazing Saddles" as some of the best Western spoof. Marvin won a Oscar in the dual role of a legendary, boozy gunslinger and his silver-nosed antagonist. The Oscar-nominated story is full of gags which are hilarious, but common in the genre. A comedy gem from beginning to end. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Cat Ballou

    • I_Fortuna
    • 2/23/13

    Just o.k.

  • Lee Marvins performance

    • seth e smith
    • 2/23/13

    Worth watching if for nothing else then to watch Lee Marvin. A well deserved Acadamy Award for Best Actor!

  • More Stars Please

    • Len Pearson
    • 1/31/13

    This movie clearly deserves better than a 1 star rating.

    • 1/31/13

  • What the ?

    • Kurt Pearson
    • 1/31/13

    I don't normally respond to blogs, reviews, or surveys. However when I saw the 1.5 star rating I felt compelled to put my two cents in. By golly, Jane Fonda, Nat King Cole singing and Lee Marvin swaying in the saddle, well it does not get much better. I am giving it a 5, in the hopes I can help boost it to a 3.5 star rating, which I think it deserves.

  • great fun

    • mosesmom
    • 1/31/13

    I have seen this film many times and i still laugh at all the right places. Lee Marvin plays the two roles with flair. Nat and Stubby are a unique touch. I will watch it again.

  • The "Cat's Pajamas"!

    • Nancy
    • 12/8/12

    To say "they don't make 'em like this anymore" is such an understatement ...it's everything a fine comedy should be. Clever narration-by-song and the 'unforgettable' Mr. Cole just make it better. Perhaps Lee Marvin didn't deserve the Oscar for that year because of the other nominees but he was terrific. And, sorry to say, I agree with a previous reviewer who brought up the "pay-back" issue re: Jane Fonda. I don't recall any other TCM rating so low for a movie with a Best Actor winner ...

  • One star?

    • RedRain
    • 12/8/12

    How on earth this great film could rate one star is beyond me! There are few films that make you laugh so hard you cry and this is definitely one of them. It is a tour de force comedic satire! A drunken horse leaning against the side of a building waiting for his drunken rider who is supposed to be a famous gunman? The drunken gunman walking into a wake, seeing all the candles burning and he starts singing "Happy Birthday?" The comedy is simply wonder-filled in this film! Cat Ballou is Catherine Ballou traveling west to see her father, only to find when she gets there that her father's ranch is going to be taken over by a corrupt development corporation. She hires what she believes is a famous gunman; however, when he arrives, he is nothing like what she thought he would be. Both Jane Fonda and Lee Marvin give terrific performances here and you know they are in on all the fun from the beginning. Nat King Cole and Stubby Kaye are great as the narrators of the film. Terrific score, great fun flick!

  • Ignore those stars!

    • clay poole
    • 12/6/12

    I don't know who rated this movie, but it seems like this is their way of getting back at Jane Fonda for her Viet Nam war stance. Of all the western spoofs/satires, this is so far ahead of the pack, that the dust has settled and the crowds have gone home before the other contenders came by. So for that and the fact that it was impeccably done, I give it 5 stars for it's enjoyability/rewatchability factor.

  • Not the cat's meow but fun

    • ojc
    • 12/3/12

    Clever western spoof. The young Jane Fonda is lovely to look at and handles the comedy well. Lee Marvin steals the picture in his dual role. And of course Nat King Cole and Stubby Kaye as a musical chorsu are by themselves worth the two hours screening time. Personally they are my favorite part of the picture.I wish the film was a little more inventive and to be frank a little funnier, but it is pretty good mid-60's entertainment.

  • Still a good movie

    • Bear
    • 7/15/12

    Cat Ballou turned out to be one of the surprise hits of the year when it came out. I think oriinally was going to be the B movie part of double features then but good advertising brought viewers to see it and turned it into an A movie. One of the funniest movies of its day it still holds up well today.It was a breakout movie for Jane Fonda, who was already seen in a number of films, but Cat Ballou made her a star. She played her role straight while surrounded by good characters. Lee Marvin won an Academy Award for his portrayal of Kid Sheleen, a dtunken, broken down gunfighter as well as his brother. John Wayne would win an Oscar the next year for True Grit in the similar role of Rooster Cogburn. I think Wayne based it on Kid Sheleen.Most memorable would be Nat King Cole "narrating" the film with various versions of the theme song thoughout the movie as well as Cole singing "They'll Never Make Her Cry."Most movies this old have trouble looking good by today's standards and this one mya be a little dated as well, but still good enough to see.

  • hilarious

    • acasey
    • 5/19/12

    Can't understand the lack of "stars" - this is one of my favorite movies of all times - western or otherwise. Before Miss Jane got all political... and it was just plain fun to watch. Lee Marvin used talents I didn't even know he had! A must see.

  • Cat Ballou is a classic!

    • Bill
    • 2/9/12

    A pure tongue in cheeck western that is funny, sad and exciting. Lee Marvin's duel performance is hilarious and may have won him Oscar recognition. Loved the movie!

  • Great Time-Killing Western

    • Jenny
    • 5/13/11

    This movie is a great time-killer. If you are in the mood for a western with some humor, this movie is what you are looking for.

  • Cat Ballou...wicked through and through.

    • mike
    • 9/21/10

    Probably the best western spoof ever made. Jane Fonda stars as a young schoolteacher turned outlaw after her father is murdered over his land. She enlists the aid of drunken gunfighter Lee Marvin and her own motley gang. Don't miss the final scene with Lee Marvin and his horse in a drunken stupor. Worthwhile family veiwing.

  • The Queen of the Outlaws.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 9/3/10

    Jane Fonda packs a pair of six-shooters as she stars in the title role in this rip-roaring, rootin', tootin' Western-Comedy based on the novel by Roy Chanslor. Fonda plays the title role of a beautiful school teacher-turned-outlaw, and Lee Marvin gives an Oscar-winning performance in a dual role of a drunken hired gun and his murderous desperado twin brother with an artificial nose, who murdered Cat's father, thus causing her to turn outlaw, and lead a motley crew of outlaws to rob a train. Nat "King" Cole and Stubby Kaye appear as a singing duet, who sing a variety of songs. If you like Westerns or even half-witted comedy, you're going to enjoy this one. Nat "King" Cole died suddenly on February 15, 1965. The movie was released theatrically later in May of that year. Also starring Michael Callan, Dwayne Hickman, Tom Nardini, John Marley, Bruce Cabot, Arthur Hunnicutt, Jay C. Flippen, Reginald Denny, Gail Bonney, Robert Phillips, Harry Harvey, Sr., Carol Veazie, Burt Mustin & Paul Gilbert.

  • Best Actor?

    • William
    • 3/22/09

    I loved this movie, light and throughly enjoyable. My beef is that Lee Marvin got the Oscar for a performance that he could have phoned in. The other nominees that year: Rod Steiger for the Pawnbroker; Richard Burton for The Spy Who Came In From The Cold; Laurence Olivier for Othello and the haunting performance of Oskar Werner in Ship of Fools. Sometimes one wonders what the Academy is thinking.

  • Delightful!

    • Hillary
    • 3/29/06

    Between the infectious theme song, the hilarious plot and the superb acting, Cat Ballou is a sparkling gem of a movie. Jane Fonda is gorgeous and the supporting cast keeps the film moving, but it's Lee Marvin who really steals the show as a drunken gunslinger. Don't miss this!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.