skip navigation
The Carpetbaggers

The Carpetbaggers(1964)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • the carpetbaggers

    • kevin sellers
    • 9/4/18

    As a movie about Howard Hughes I liked it better than "The Aviator". John Michael Hayes' screenplay is, as per usual with this scribe, too on the nose, and I agree with the previous reviewer who panned Peppard and Baker's performances, but, as with "Mommie Dearest", you find yourself asking, "If this is such a crappy film then why am I having so much fun watching it?" That the answer could be, "Because I'm a shallow sucker" I admit never entered my head. Give it a solid B.

  • Great Trashfest from the 60's

    • Garcande
    • 8/26/18

    As a teenager I devoured all of the lurid Harold Robbins novels with guilty pleasure. The Carpetbaggers was my favorite. The novel is quite long and meanders down a few back-roads to tell the story of Jonas Cord. The film focuses on the basic story-line and leaves out most of the sex and perversion. This is one of the great splashy, trashy films of the 60's. Leonard Maltin called it "blowzy claptrap." That it certainly is, and more. George Peppard is the wooden star and Carroll Baker proves, again, that she was one of Hollywood's worst actresses. But, who cares? Just wallow in one of the great "post code" movies. In the 60's, after the Hays Code lost it's bite, Hollywood was testing the boundaries of sex and nudity, just like in the "Pre-code" days. The Carpetbaggers claims to have the first "nude scene" shot by a major studio. Laughable by today's standards, all you see is Baker's naked back. If I recall correctly Elizabeth Taylor did a heavily veiled nude scene in Cleopatra in 1963. TCM should do a festival of these "over the top" 60's pot-boilers like Harlow, Where Love Has Gone, This Property is Condemned, All the Fine Young Cannibals and so on. It would be fun to see them back to back.

  • The Carpetbaggers

    • Douglas Warren
    • 8/26/18

    Fantastic from what I saw. I am quite disappointed right now having anxiously awaited seeing entire movie on my computer this morning only to see it not available.

  • It Was The Best Of Times it Was the Worst of Times

    • Jim
    • 8/24/18

    George Pappard what a great actor only he could do justice to the roll as a million air and mental problems putting the two together was great. Also Alan Ladd may only be 5' but 6 1/2 ft on the screen. For a movie over two hours long never a dull moment.

  • WHY, why, why does TMC ignore this movie !

    • Ann
    • 12/11/17

    You can find some aspects of any film to pan, but this movie, based on a popular novel of the times, was really entertaining; better than so many flimsy "plots" of today. I can not understand why TMC ignores this film (which I firmly believe would be good for RATINGS !) Strange (I may be mistaken) but it seems TMC does not show films of most/any of the actors in this film ?

  • Fetching

    • Martin
    • 3/1/16

    The best film based on a Harold Robbins novel. Should be included in an eventual tribute to Carroll Baker. How about it, TCM?

  • the carpetbaggers

    • a grubbs
    • 7/12/13

    Please, I have been waiting for you to show this movie, it is one of my all time favorites

  • the carpetbaggers

    • a g
    • 3/22/12

    This is a great movie, please, please show this movie again!!!

  • The Carpetbaggers 1964 George Peppard

    • Snub
    • 9/9/11

    Another great movie which played over 2 years ago, but never on TCM to my knowledge. Please please please run this movie in your scheduled line-up.

  • George Peppard Superstar!!

    • David Atkins
    • 3/1/11

    MGM signed George Peppard to an exclusive 7 year contract and cast Peppard in Vincente Minnell's great Home From The Hill. and in the all star Cinerama Western hit How The West Was Won, on loan to Paramount for Breakfast At Tiffany's with the peerless Audrey Hepburn, and to Columbia for Carl Foreman's all star The Victors with Albert Finney, Melina Mecouri, Peppard had a dazzling ascent to stardom. On loan to Paramount again for The Carpetbaggers Peppard climbed to the top of the Hollywood star ladder. This is an outrageously great film co starring Alan Ladd, Carroll Baker (who had played Peppard's Mother a year earlier in How the West Was Won!). Ralph Taeger is also cast. They simply do not make movies like this anymore! Shameless fun seeing Peppard do a Howard Hughes turn as Jonas Cord. After this film George Peppard would return to MGM finish out his contract with Sophia Loren in the great war film Operation Crossbow.

  • Exciting entertainment!

    • Alethea Thomas
    • 11/10/08

    They don't make 'em like this anymore. This movie may have been a bit exaggerated, but the fine acting makes it almost believable. George Peppard was at his best ever. TCM, Please show it ASAP!

  • off the hook

    • la'roy
    • 11/21/07

    gp is the man (howard hughes wannabe)

  • ENDING

    • moviemark
    • 7/8/07

    ENJOYABLE MOVIE......THOUGHT ENDING WAS UNREALISTIC AND TOO NEAT.....ALSO WONDER IF G.P. HAD ENOUGH GRAVITAS FOR ROLE

  • A Powerful Epic Drama

    • Bruce Reber
    • 5/1/07

    "The Carpetbaggers", in my opinion, has to be one of the most underrated and underappreciated films ever. It combines money, power, greed, sex and excellent performances from a first-rate cast.This is one of the best movies based on a Harold Robbins novel.I recommend it to anyone who has not seen it, and after they have I think they will agree wtih me.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.