skip navigation
Complicated Women

Complicated Women(2003)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Complicated... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Women Expressing Themselves

    • Norge
    • 5/25/13

    Well-done,interesting,love the clips.Thought Tarzan And His Mate was more likely using a flesh-colored body suit,nothing offensive by today's sandards,but today anything goes.Would love to see all pre-code movies.

  • Not So Complicated

    • Normashearer
    • 5/24/13

    Great to see some shady ladiness. Women could sin onscreen, too. Makes me wonder about what antics went on in town, what with tales and scandals always in LaLaLand. Long before LiLO,too.

  • What's Old is New Again!

    • Paul M
    • 1/24/11

    This was a great documentary! I wish I had looked at my JAN guide to see the listing because I may have seen only half of it! I hope that TCM plays it again.The "PRE-CODE" back in the late 20's and early to mid thirties brought lots of smut to the silver screen. Stuff that by today's standards are nothing to be ashamed of! Norma Shearer, Garbo,Dietrich to name a few are up there in the the clouds laughing, "Gee we did that and we got censored for it!"!I wish I could get a directory of the films mentioned in the doc because I would like to see them and I am sure that RED BOX or on-line movie viewing won't have a vault such as TCM to view them.Enjoy the encore if it shows up on the schedule again!Cheers,Paul M.Las Vegas, NV 1/11

  • Bold & beautiful

    • Rod Patterson
    • 1/24/11

    These movies did two things ,one they shocked the status quo for a place or nitch in which to express thier views of early 20th century standards in a young field of endeavor. But by doing so so boldly it stired up sa hornets nest of the social moral self righteous hipacrites ! Just another example of how even in the day of histoical industrial growth, there were just as today an element of extreme fringe fanatics who take it upon themselves to influence public opinon !! SINCERELY,TCM'S #1 FAN IN THE U.S.A. AND THE #1 HITCHCOCK MOVIE FAN AS WELL !!!

  • superb

    • Tammie
    • 8/13/10

    This era has always been facinating to me. The women are amazing in this era. The actresses made you feel like you could be that person. I believe the pre code era was great for women all over the world. This gave women the power to be sexy and not be ashamed of their feelings. The church in this era should have kept their nose out of hollywood! I would love to see this film put on dvd format to purchase. I collect old movies and Norma Shearer is one of my favorite actresses. Thanks to TCM for showing the greatest movies ever!

  • complicated women

    • brenda
    • 6/18/10

    Excellent docmentary that would have been superb had it been longer (2 hours) and MORE detailed.

  • Complicated Women

    • Wendy Winkler
    • 12/4/06

    This is a very interesting and entertaining documentary.

  • Excellent Pre-Code Documentary.

    • kim
    • 10/11/06

    This TCM documentary about the women of the pre code era of hollywood is excellent. It examines in depth the female sexual revolution of the early 20th century. Women were stepping out of thier shells and showing no remorse for their right to sexual freedom and independence. Themes such as Adultery, promisutiy, women in the work place and prostitution in movies of the pre code threatened, in the eyes of a male catholic dominated society, to demoralize the nation. SO once again women were forced to feel ashamed of their bodies and their sexuality and forced once again to be a stay at home mom in the movies. Greatly affecting the soul of the female consciousness that still radiates today. Of course the great films after the code were the ones that stretched the limits of the code. Those were the ones that won awards and affected the consciousness of the public. This is an important documentary for womens studies and a great insite into the psychology of the 20th century. Well done.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.